We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“place with potential falls through many cracks”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fredericksburg Bed and Brew
Ranked #56 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
SF, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“place with potential falls through many cracks”
Reviewed 8 November 2006

The rooms, themed like an old brothel, hunting lodge, etc, lacked certain amenities like decent lighting, propper drainage in shower, and phones. Plus the room we stayed in had such terrible water damage to the outer wall and ceiling that it should never have been available to the public. Being in Fredericksburg for a wedding, we needed to use an ironing board and hairdryer, neither of which the hotel could offer us when asked.
Beyond that we had great difficulty getting refunded for a night - their policy is to prepay for your stay, but we left after one night.
Saying all this, the place has potential but probably needs new management and alot of physical work.

  • Disliked — trouble refunding money, poor lighting.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank evalu8er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    17
    9
    14
    9
See reviews for
3
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 November 2005

We stayed two nights recently at the Bed & Brew in Fredericksburg. It's a fun concept -- combining an inn with a microbrewery. But.....beware, the noise from the brewery/restaurant below does NOT end at "closing time", as we'd been assured. Perhaps because the downstairs area appeared to stay open past the stated closing hour. Or perhaps because of the after-hour clean-up crew. Either way, it was noisy. As for the room? Not bad, but nothing special. In our room there were only two flimsy (likely from a dry cleaner) hangers and no dressers (clothing had to remain in the suitcase as there was nowhere else to store it). And the bathroom was something else......the shower head was mounted really low on the wall and, since we're both rather tall, required the skill of a contortionist in order to bathe. Conversely, the bathroom sink was mounted REALLY high up -- I can only assume that plumbers of two different heights were involved. At least the furnishings in our room were fairly tasteful -- we saw photos of some of the other rooms, and they seemed the stuff of nightmares..... One apparently has huge, garish red horses painted on the wall.....can't imagine waking up each morning to that! The best I can say about this inn is that it's conveniently-located, assuming you can find a close parking spot (which wasn't easy -- would've been nice if they'd had private parking for hotel guests). You can easily walk the "strip" and not have to drive anywhere if you don't want.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fredericksburg hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 February 2005

My wife and I have stayed here before with another couple. When we go we either stay on the main street or far out in the country. This place is pretty good. Our room was comfortable, but the room our friends stayed in was decorated with stuffed trophy animals(deer, fox, etc...). Needless to say she didn't sleep the whole night b/c she felt the animals were watching her. The rooms are good size, have comfortable beds, no noise, also no TV. When the bar is going you can hear the music from below but they close early (around 10 pm) if I remember right. People were very friendly and nice to deal with.

Food at the bar is good, beer is better. Overall I give it a 4 out of 5.
Location is great.
Parking is abundant.
Rooms are good.
Food is good.
Nightlife....well it is Fredericksburg so after 10p.m. it is pretty dead.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2004

My wife and I stayed in the Bed and Brew last year on a visit to Fredericksburg. We love going to the hill country and were excited about staying in the B&B right on Main Street. The room was OK, not overly lavish, but not that bad. The lighting was very dim even in the bathroom and our window looked out over the roof and into the airconditioner unit. That night my wife and I had a nice dinner nearby and walked around town until about 9:00. We went back to our room to take a shower and we didn't have any hot water. Not only did we not have hot water, but when I turned on the hot vavle, you could hear a sucking sound. I held a cup of water to the faucet and opend the hot vavle and the water was sucked out of the cup. We went to bed, only to awake to the sound of men working with sheet metal right outside our window. 7:30am on a Saturday and they had men working on the roof and the cover over the airconditioner right outside our room. Not ten feet from the window with a reciprocating saw on metal panels and the men shouting to each other over the noise. That was enough noise to wake the dead. And we still didn't have hot water. No phones in the room meant no phone numbers to contact anyone in the event of a problem. The men worked on the roof until about 9:00am and at about 10:00am we had hotwater again. When we checked out there were no apologies or even an explanation. I don't know if turning off the hot water is a regular practice, but I don't plan on finding out.
A very miserable conclusion to what promised to be a very nice night.

Helpful?
8 Thank TexasGeodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2004

My boyfriend and I stayed for Valentine's 2004. We had a great time. The Bed and Brew had a rose and chocolates on the bed along with an ice bucket with a bottle of champagne and two champagne glasses with the logo and date. It was a very pleasant surprise. The room was very nicely decorated and quiet. We had dinner at the brewpub and was able to take our beer back to our room afterwards. We are going back in October. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThreesAFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.2 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
#15 of 25 in Fredericksburg
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 80 in Fredericksburg
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fredericksburg Bed and Brew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fredericksburg Bed and Brew

Property: Fredericksburg Bed and Brew
Address: 243 E. Main St., Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4114
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fredericksburg Bed & Brew offers twelve total rooms, eleven rooms above the Fredericksburg Brewing Company and one room located on ground level (handicap accessible) are available for you to choose. All parking for the Bed & Brew is located on Main Street. With this location you can park for the weekend and walk to any destination! Each room is unique in its styling but all have private baths, queen beds, central air with individual controls and all are non-smoking. Each guest is entitled to a free pint of our beer for each night's stay (hence the "brew" part in bed & brew.) The main stairway is located on Main Street, just next to the restaurant entrance. The entrance door, the staircase, and handrail, are constructed of old, long leaf yellow pine, the same as used throughout this great restored 1890s building. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fredericksburg Bed And Brew Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing