We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big city hip retro meets Hill Country”
Review of The Roadrunner Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Roadrunner Inn
Ranked #29 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Big city hip retro meets Hill Country”
Reviewed 3 May 2011

What an absolute find. We were ready to move in the moment we entered. We stayed in the largest of the rooms with our 12 year old daughter on a roll out bed and we were all incredibly comfortable. Beautifully furnished with amazing retro furniture mixed with gorgeous artworks. Owners obviously have taken a lot of time and effort to make this property a work of art in itself. We wanted to own nearly everything in our room. Loved the thick, fluffy towels. Wonderful amenities. We almost didn't want to leave the room to explore Frederickburg and the surrounding towns. The vouchers for breakfast are a great idea and were perfect for our needs. We ate in both nights - take away food - as we loved the room so much. We had been a little concerned at the reviews suggesting the room was noisy because of the beer garden/restaurant next door. Yes, we could still hear some noise from some fairly woeful country music and voices at around 12 midnight on one evening, but the windows and doors are well sealed/double glazed and the noise was muffled and wasn't a problem for us. I can imagine it might be noisier on a weekend night but again, I think the double glazing would deaden the noise enough. Don't let it put you off as this is one of the most comfortable and appealing places I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a side room away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyofthreeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

The room was wonderful: hip, mid-century modern, spacious and clean. However, the building sits next to a beer garden and cafe. Music played and voices were heard until 2 a.m. every night until the owner fired up his Harley Davidson and thundered off into the night.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllisSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

I love RoadRunner Inn! We have stayed here twice and will return soon. We first came to Fredericksburg for a wedding and stayed here. There are only 3 rooms above some cute little shops on Main St. All the rooms are clean and well furnished -Decorated in very retro "Austin" eclectic in turquoise, yellows, oranges, browns. The rooms have high ceilings and are spacious. The whirlpool bath tubs are perfect after a full day of shopping.

There are two rooms on the side of the beer garden where there is live music until late at night, but if you go down and enjoy the festivities, you will be fine! If you do not want to be above the noise, make sure to ask for the only room not on that side.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexi3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

This unique, funky 50's meets modern B&B room was superb! The large, airy suite was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed, even a huge basket of paperbacks at the top of the stairs. The incredibly high ceilings and tall windows in this loft above a store on the main street were awesome. The bed was comfortable, the huge bath had whirlpool tub, the efficiency kitchen and sitting area were very well appointed. And the room was across the alley from the Silverlake restaurant, so as we drifted off to sleep, we could hear the soft strains of local musicians playing in the patio below. Everything was within walking distance, and our breakfast vouchers gave us a choice of three delicious neighborhood cafes. Not for people who can't climb stairs.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WineNDineMeSweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CynthiaRocketScience
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2011

This is a beautiful space with great decorating. But, and it is a big but, there is a beer garden next door. Since there is no staff onsite at the Roadrunner and they use a reservation service, I didn't have anyone to call about moving to the room on the other side of the building. I did email the reservation person at about 11:00 the first night, but never heard back. The second night was fine, the bar was closed for spring cleaning. And the bartender was very nice, eventually I just called him and asked him to turn it down. While it turned out OK, I felt we should have had fair warning about the noise. Or some way to reach a human to move us. It wouldn't have been a hassle for them to put us in the quiet room to begin with since we were the only ones there the two nights we stayed.

There was also a crowing rooster, but far enough away, he was sort of charming. I don't think he's loud enough to wake anyone up.

Stayed February 2011
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaRocketScience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Since our recent stay, we have referred the Roadrunner Inn to three other couples who have all taken our advice. Why? Because there was nothing not to like about the Roadrunner Inn. Located just 1/2 block from Lincoln Street Wine Bar and all the shops and restaurants on Main Street, the location can't be beat. To call it a "room" doesn't do it justice because it is really a loft style suite. Think studio apartment. Suite 1 has a private balcony and although the view is not impressive, the live music playing next door makes it a nice place to enjoy some wine. The chic, retro decor fills the suite with personality. We will try to stay at the Roadrunner Inn every time we visit Fredericksburg.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweet_Ginger_Ale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

The Roadrunner Inn was probably my favorite hotel stay ever. The Inn is right on the main street, next door to all of the shops and restaurants. The rooms are decorated with the most beautiful vintage pieces for an awesome eclectic look. The room is huge, and has a small kitchen, which would be great if you were staying several days. The bathroom was also huge, and had a jetted tub and a rain style showerhead. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in, and they had lovely organic toiletries. Plus it was affordable!

The only thing I missed was some free WiFi. But that's a small price to pay for such an amazing room.

Please stay here! It's wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoBuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.2 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
#15 of 25 in Fredericksburg
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blacksmith Quarters on Baron's Creek
Blacksmith Quarters on Baron's C...
#11 of 28 in Fredericksburg
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Fredericksburg
Super 8 Fredericksburg
#21 of 25 in Fredericksburg
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roadrunner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roadrunner Inn

Property: The Roadrunner Inn
Address: 306 E Main St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4612
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 37

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing