We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Country Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Province of Terni, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Fredericksburg, TX is a small town with a number of motel style accomodations. This business located just outside town was a nice location and a GREAT price for a weekend of Hill Country Octoberfest activities.

For a few hints: The double room #120 was bigger than my friends King size room #116, however room 120 is the last room in the line and is closest to Hwy 290 and had traffic noise (and I mean 18-wheelers picking up speed). The hvac unit blew enough white noise to cover it up, but if you're booking, you may ask to have a lower room number and it'll be further in off the highway property line.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    162
    39
    12
    15
See reviews for
233
368
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was our 5th time to stay at the cottages and it was perfect, again. I have stayed many places in the Fredericksgurg area and this far surpasses all other places! The peace and quiet, the wildlife and the service are second to none. This is the one place that the pictures and online descriptions just do not do justice - the cottages are rustic and lovely and have all the "extra touches" that make it elegant as well. The porches at the cottages in the early morning are my favorite place on earth! Thank you Jeff and Amy for creating the perfect Hill Country experience!

Room Tip: The stand alone cottages are a must! Buy some firewood in town for your fire pit and fireplace to ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmwchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My husband and best friends decided to get away for the weekend. It wasn't as close to downtown Fredericksburg as I thought but it still was close enough. We'll worth the very short drive. It was nice to be close to nature and not that far from the city. A very clean place. Quiet and relaxing. Never been any where before where you sit on your porch and watch deer eating. Very nice! Never expected it to be so relaxing.

Room Tip: I prefer the cottages. It was great. The bathroom was a nice size. It was perfect for just the 4 of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My husband booked a romantic weekend trip from Friday evening to Monday morning. We arrived to the cottages around evening. I was irritated with the drive to Fredericksburg because we ran into so much traffic. We arrived about 2 hours late, but all the frustration went away once we entered the gates and saw so much deer as we were driving up. The surroundings immediately make you forget everything back at home and you are immersed in wildlife. Within 15 minutes of being there, we saw deer, elk, skunks, and bats. Later during our stay, we saw turkeys, squirrels, a peacock, and many farm animals in the surrounding areas.

My husband came for a work trip and loved it so much, he booked our weekend trip. I was ecstatic to find out that the cottages accept dogs. We brought our two dogs, a Standard Poodle and Havanese. If you plan on bringing your pet, please read their pet policy very carefully. I’m always happy whenever a business accepts pets and would like it to stay that way. Our dogs are crate trained and do not have separation anxiety, so they did great during our stay. When we left the dogs behind, they were crated and slept in their crates at night. Luckily, our dogs do not shed, but with all the grass and dirt, they can get pretty dirty and do not want them messing up the furniture. Keep in mind that there is deer poop everywhere so be careful if you wear flip flops. One of our dogs has extremely long hair and the only annoying thing was that he picked up every burr and stick out on the property, so bring a brush and comb if your dog has long hair. Also bring a flashlight so you can see at night if you need to take your dog out.

The beds were very comfortable and I loved how there was no carpet inside the cottage. It was easier to keep everything clean. We lit a fire one night and enjoyed it sitting outside on the porch. It would be a great way to make smores! We bought items to make smores but it had rained one day and the sticks were too wet to start a fire. We thoroughly enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub. The cottages were very quaint yet private. We were only about 10-12 minute drive into town. Far enough to enjoy the countryside, yet close enough to enjoy the city. We enjoyed many restaurants in town, shopping, and the Mesquite Wood Festival. We also visited the Pacific War Museum. We went hiking with our dogs at Enchanted Rock which was a blast. We will be returning for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tokipoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We had our reunion in Fredericksburg and when we booked our cottage we thought we were within walking distance of Main Street. At first we were mad, but after we drove out to our cottage we were very impressed with the our cottage and loved the location. There are fire pits, a swimming pool, and hot tubs that you can relax and enjoy the scenery. We loved seeing all the deer, elk, and birds every day!! The rooms were very nice and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms have a rustic charm that we loved! We would definitely stay there again if we visit Fredericksburg again! Also they are Pet Friendly and we took our English Bulldog "Gunner" &he loved it too! We give the Country Inn & Cottages an A+++.

Room Tip: Definitely stay out on the ranch in one of the adorable cottages!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denison, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at the motel part of Country Inn & Cottages on the highway west of Fredericksburg. The rooms were small, you nearly needed to back into the restroom to use it. Your could sit on the commode and brush your teeth at the same time. The shower was tiny, had no light and the hot and cold water was difficult to adjust. I would not recommend this location unless you only needed a bed and stayed only one night. Pictures and information on the web-site are misleading.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just a beautiful place to stay. First thing we heard was the bugle of an Elk. The rooms were extra nice and clean, and the service before, during, & after was excellant. The countryside and cottages were typically hillcountry. Especially beautiful at night with the deer herds grazing up by the cottages.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
4.1 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
830 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
425 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#8 of 80 in Fredericksburg
432 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 80 in Fredericksburg
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Cottages

Property: Country Inn & Cottages
Address: 1644 W US Highway 290, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-6636
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel located 1 mile from downtown, cottages 4.3 miles from downtown, pet friendly, pool, jacuzzi tubs, motel offers 21 units, cottages offer 22 units, group rates, weddings and reunions, cottages on 200 acre ranch w/ wildlife including elk, deer, turkey and peacock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Cottages Hotel Fredericksburg
Country Inn And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing