We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unhappy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Fredericksburg
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Unhappy”
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I planned a weekend Christmas trip for my parents to Fredericksburg. I reserved 4 rooms (2 night stay) about a month prior to our visit. After receiving the confirmation numbers for each room and giving them my credit card number to hold the 4 rooms, I thought all was good. When we arrived there, we were told that we no longer had rooms because someone had tried to call to make sure we were still coming but could not reach me. The person who I had spoken to when making the reservations apparently wrote my phone number incorrectly.
I asked why checking was even necessary if they had my credit card number and I had their confirmation numbers for the room. Wouldn't they had billed me for the room if I had been a no show? The manager had no response to that.
He say that he would call the Motel 6 in Kerrville to check for room availability! Yes, Kerrville.
When I told him that it wasn't acceptable, he told me that he would call motels in Fredericksburg to check if anybody had 4 rooms available since the mistake was his. The first one he called, Quality Inn Fredericksburg, had rooms available.
We had other couple traveling with us who had booked their room separately. When told if they could opt out of their room to remain with our group, they were told that they would be charged with a one night stay.
This is a Motel 6 I will stay away from!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    30
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
33
25
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Recently we were travelling in Texas and needed a place to stay in the town of Fredericksburg. Other motels were full by the time we arrived in the evening and we were referred to the Motel 6 on South Washington Street. What a great place to stay. The outside was well maintained with roses growing and the parking lot was well lit at night. Inside the motel was very clean and bright throughout. Our room was large and contained a small fridge which was really handy. The owners were on site and were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the town and motel so much we stayed a second night. Yes, the price was excellent as well and the location very close to the shops and restuarants. As a retired health department inspector I have no hesitation recommending this motel.

Room Tip: We liked the 2nd floor as there no one above us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim3301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

If you recognize that Motel 6 is designed to be a "budget" alternative, you will not be disappointed with this property. Visited Fredericksburg during an especially busy weekend, & none of our regular choices were available. So we grabbed Motel 6 specifically because of the positive reviews on Trip Advisor & we were not disappointed. It is a newer property & management keeps it spotless & in good condition. In fact, it was much cleaner & in better condition than some of the other far more expensive chain hotel choices we have stayed at in town. We prefer a little more upscale offereing, but would not hesitate to pick this Motel 6 again, if the need arose.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smvhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is the nicest Motel 6 I have stayed in. Everything was clean and well kept. It has indoor cooridoors and an elevator, which were helpful to my aging parents. No frills, but quiet and close to Main Street. The only cons were smoky hallways (not the rooms) and really tacky bedspreads. We will stay here again when we are on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasBeachgoer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Family went out of their way to please. Sorry, that internet service wasn't great, but they certainly tried. Room very clean and nice. The location was very convenient and it was quiet and restful after strolling around town all day.

Room Tip: Second floor was great although we have difficulties with stairs. Elevator very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leora Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My husband and I had to stay here because our normal hotel was booked. This motel is supposedly new but it already looks pretty worn - paint chipped on the walls and stains. The worst thing was the pungent body-odor smell in the room. My husband said the bed was hard but the bed seemed clean and okay to me. Other reports say that the staff was rude but they seemed okay to me as we'll. I'll book my other hotel early next time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dddddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We had a very nice stay at this motel 6. Our room was spotless and very comfortable.I always wear socks or something on my feet while in hotels and some places my socks look dirty but this time my socks were still white and clean. I was relieved because I can not stand filthy places.The staff was friendly and the pet area was well maintained.The prices were very reasonable and I have zero complaints about my stay here.I saw alot of other hotels that had nice patios and pools etc but I would prefer to stay somewhere nice and clean and not spend an arm and a leg and put that saved money to better use like shopping or dining on Main St!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljohnson19781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 25 in Fredericksburg
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
#7 of 25 in Fredericksburg
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
2.0 mi away
Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel
Fredericksburg Hill Country Hote...
#19 of 25 in Fredericksburg
129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Fredericksburg

Property: Motel 6 Fredericksburg
Address: 705 S Washington Street, IH-10 Exit 508 (Hwy 16), Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Fredericksburg 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Motel 6 Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing