We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WINE THIEF was just perfect. Except the part that was fabulous !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
All Seasons Downtown Retreat
Ranked #19 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My friend and I stayed two idyllic nights here. After a super easy check in we spent the first evening enjoying hours on the front sipping exquisite Texas wine and mating away the real world in the hot tub. It was so nice that we didn't even leave for dinner. We had pizza delivered right to the hot tub! After retiring inside we enjoyed the posh comfort of the luxury bedding and gazed at the hypnotic fire that erupted at the flick of a switch. Morning greeted us with fresh ground coffee, locally baked coffee cake, as well as fresh fruit and juice. The fridge was stocked with everything we needed right down to cream for our coffee and my fav brand of yogurt. They even anticipated my Diet Coke addiction! These cottages are an exceptional value and I can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharieWithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for All Seasons Downtown Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Three girlfriends stayed here for a weekend of wine tasting. The house is charming and well equipped, but don't plan on cooking a full meal. The hot tub and fire pit made it a perfect place to unwind after a hard day of wine tasting, shopping, and meals along main street. We loved it and would stay here again! Tip on wine tasting: there are $20 shuttles by the visitor's center. Excellent service.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ella's cottage.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed for two nights and loved every second. It is steps away from the heart of downtown's Main St. but completely quiet on site. Immaculate grounds, pool/hot tub, and room. We had suite 5 and the bedding was absolutely as advertised "Dream". Joe was friendly, helpful and easy to work with. I am fussy about details and tend towards high end accommodations...Downtown Retreat did not fall short.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mobock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I were terribly disappointed by our stay at Downtown Retreat. Our main concern was the electric current that was running through our water supply (no, I am not joking) and the fact that we did not receive any compensation or so much as an apology for the situation despite all trouble and stress it caused.

Here's what happened:
The evening we arrived we used the kitchen sink to fill some containers with water, and found that whenever we touched the water or faucet, we received a sharp shock. For fear that we would be electrocuted when trying to use the shower the next morning, we went ahead an called the emergency maintenance line. This apparently is a direct line to the property manager, Joe Cloud. We explained the situation to him and he continually said that it must be static electricity and he couldn't think of any way that we could have an electric current running through our water. He said he would not be able to do anything about it that night, but reluctantly said he could come over and check it out if we needed him to. We asked that he just send an electrician out to check it the next morning. He did not apologize or express concern.

He did send an electrician out the next morning as promised, and came himself in advance of that appointment. At this point we had also received shocks, though milder ones, from the bathroom faucet and the shower (we eventually figured out that the reason we were getting shocked some of the time but not others was dependent on whether we were wearing shoes--if barefoot, you got shocked; if shoes were worn then the current was blocked). When he arrived he tested out the sink himself and found that there was indeed a strong electric current running through it. We left to do some wine tasting as the electrician was arriving.

When we returned that evening, there was a note by the sink that said "All fixed". That was it. However, now our hot water wasn't working. We called Joe again, and he explained that they had installed a new hot water heater in the building a few days beforehand following a breakdown of the original one that flooded two of the units, including ours (he hadn't mentioned that before, certainly not when he was arguing that there was "no way" there could be any electric issues with the unit....). It had apparently not been grounded correctly or something of that nature, which is what caused the current to be running through our water system. He said they had replaced the hot water heater again that day, and we would just have to keep our taps open for a while before it kicked in again. We kept them running for about 10 minutes and it eventually worked again.

Throughout this entire process we did not receive a single apology (Joe may have said "sorry about this" or something like that off-hand the morning they came to fix it but certainly nothing more than that) or any acknowledgement of the inconvenience and potential danger that this had subjected us to on what was supposed to be a nice, relaxing vacation. In our experience, businesses generally wait to compensate their clients for mistakes until after everything is resolved; assuming this would be the case, we waited until the end of our stay (we were only there 2 nights) to see if Joe or anyone from All Seasons would follow-up to check-in, apologize, and/or offer some sort of compensation. They did nothing. We received no follow-up or correspondence after the call about the hot water. I double checked my bank account to see if they had charged us at a discounted rate and just forgotten to mention it, but they did not--we were charged full price.

To me, this is unacceptable. I understand that issues can occur that aren't necessarily anyone's fault, but regardless of the circumstance, profuse apologies should always be given by the person or company responsible and for something like this I think compensation is more than in order. If a discount wasn't doable or warranted in their eyes, then even just paying for us to go to a nice dinner or supplying us with a wine basket would have been fine--anything to show that they cared at all.

Even without these issues we would not have been particularly impressed. Per my more detailed ratings, the accommodations themselves were about average. The "breakfast" is from a grocery store and was fine but nothing special; it did not include any protein. The hot tub was fine and it wasn't crowded, which was nice.

Joe also mentioned that there were several other strange "issues" happening with that and/or other All Seasons properties that weekend that he was having to deal with. So, if you want to take a risk then feel free to stay here--just hope that nothing goes wrong because, if it does, you'll be S.O.L.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Courtney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcloud2, General Manager at All Seasons Downtown Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

I am so glad we were able to connect today to resolve this issue. Unfortunately, I could have handled the situation better and I want to acknowledge that up front. Due to a change in credit card processing companies the credit to your account was in limbo and we missed it. It was an unfortunate series of events. The problem with the water was a new hot water heater with a bad element. As soon as we were able to get maintenance and electricians on site Saturday morning, we replaced it, resolving the issue. We should have communicated our intent to credit your account for the problems and the fact that the repairs were made.
I hope that your will give All Seasons another opportunity to welcome you back!
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I managed to get a room thanks to a last minute cancellation. We were so impressed, they thought of everything. We were in town for Oktoberfest, our room was a mere 2 streets away. We already booked our room for next year! Thanks for helping to make our weekend perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Joshcarrolltx1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcloud2, General Manager at All Seasons Downtown Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Oktoberfest is an amazing time of year to be here. I'm so glad you enjoyed Downtown Retreat and I look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I'm a returning guest to this charming location - I was impressed the first time and wasn't disappointed the second. Joe is a terrific host, providing everything you could possibly need, including home baked pastries in the morning and answer to every question about the area and interests. The pool and hot tub in the evening is a perfect way to end the day. You can be sure I'll be a three-time visitor!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcloud2, General Manager at All Seasons Downtown Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

Thanks so much for the review Ian. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us and I hope you will come back and see us again soon in Fredericksburg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A couple and their dog ~ we all enjoyed our one-night stay at the Downtown Retreat. We were looking for a comfortable, clean, accommodating getaway for an afternoon/evening and that's what we found there. Easy check-in once we picked up the key at the office. Walking distance to Main Street/shops. Comfortable size bed, kitchen and living areas. Great breakfast items stocked in the room. Accommodating for our small dog. Pool/jacuzzi was excellent. A little confusion on how to check out, but this was minor. We give it a 10!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maile E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcloud2, Owner at All Seasons Downtown Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you guys can get back to see us again soon.
joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
865 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
845 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#9 of 82 in Fredericksburg
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to All Seasons Downtown Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about All Seasons Downtown Retreat

Address: 110 West Schubert, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-3801
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: £88 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at The Downtown Retreat, a group of six gorgeous suites in Fredericksburg, Texas. Here you will experience the fabulous amenities of an upscale hotel in the intimate setting of a small community – right in the heart of downtown Fredericksburg’s Historic District! Nestled away on a quiet street, you’re close to all of the action, but you miss all the noise of the main streets – it’s a perfect retreat. A light, unhosted breakfast is included in your stay. An inviting alternative to local hotels, our newly remodeled accommodations consist of five modern suites and one studio. All suites include a king-size bed draped in luxurious linens, a flatscreen television with satellite, and a kitchenette. Our studio offers a double bed draped in those same luxurious linens at a fabulous price. Bathrooms include a walk-in shower, large vanity area, and bath amenities. All in all, this group of six suites (each of which is also available to be rented individually - call Vacasa for more details) can sleep a total of 12 guests. Two unique features of Downtown Retreat are our large pool and hot tub located in the beautifully landscaped garden. Spend your days lying by the pool and as the sun sets, enjoy the warm evening while grilling your dinner on the large gas grill located on the patio. If you feel like exploring downtown Fredericksburg, leave the car behind and walk to the top-rated restaurants, shopping, and tourist attractions, all within a couple blocks. Marktplatz, where Fredericksburg’s many festivals are held throughout the year, is only one block away! Escape to Downtown Retreat and have the best of both worlds by staying in the lap of luxury, while being just a stone's throw from all the excitement in Fredericksburg! Please note that this home does have an unmonitored swimming pool; as an extra safety precaution, this home is not recommended for guests traveling with children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your All Seasons Downtown Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Downtown Retreat Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing