We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing place we found!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Road Ranch Resort
Ranked #42 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an amazing place we found!”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

This place is awesome! We're a family ages 22-60 and stayed one night there and it felt like we got away for much longer! How the ranch is set up is like heaven....so creative, full of life (animals and generations past) ...the ranch was very inspiring to me. I am just in awe of how cool it is....like another reviewer I don't want to reveal what staying there is entirely like because the surprises and details were so amazing to find out. Start to finish it was fun for everyone. Not just a cool b&b.....5 minutes from main street, worlds away from anywhere else. Smitty also has so many plans for the future of the ranch and I have no doubt that anything he does will be amazing and true to the land. Also only about 20 minutes from Enchanted Rock.

Room Tip: Rates very reasonable; owners very accomodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slumpnbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    5
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
13
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The River Road Ranch was one of the highlights of our Texas driving vacation ! We traveled from Houston , through San Antonio to Fredericksburg based on advise from Trip Advisor. We had our 3 boys, ages 16 - 10 with us. The River Road Ranch was a fantastic destination ! Smitty , the proprietor was extremely hospitable and generous. He greeted us with a big smile and let the boys enjoy the four runners, we played in the river and kayaked; the whole while we were befriended by "Boots" the friendliest labrador in Texas. The sheep, turkey and goats were all a new adventure for us. Our son even found an abandoned baby goat in a bucket and Smitty rescued him and let our son name him "Bucket" . After attending a very funny show at the "Rockbox" in town, we returned and Smitty had a fire going for us to make smores. It was wonderful and we recommend the River Road Ranch very highly.

Room Tip: The Silo is a unique experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dckarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

From the moment we drove up the long winding driveway we loved this place. We went for the Easter weekend with our two kids (ages 8 and 5) and their grandma, who was visiting from the UK. We all absolutely loved it - for the peace, the wildlife, the amazing welcome, the incredible attention to detail, the unique accommodation, the fishing, the baby goat, the laid back atmosphere, the retired rodeo horses, the giant fire pit... the list goes on and on and on. But part of the joy was we felt we'd found a fantastic secret hideaway, full of surprises that were way beyond our expectations. And I don't want to spoil that sense of surprise for anyone else by telling you everything. So just go and then you'll know what a uniquely wonderful place this is.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2adults2kids1dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Hill, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2011

If you want down to earth, peaceful, interesting and owners that are willing to visit with you, then look no further than this place!! The owners of this ranch are definitely having some fun. Still a work in progress, but you can't beat the hospitality. My husband and I were there in March for our anniversary and we enjoyed it so much, we plan on visiting again and again. We visit Fredericksburg often and usually look to stay somewhere we haven't before, but I don't think we'll be doing a lot of that from here on out. The last evening we were there, a cold front blew in and while we were away at dinner, the owners started a fire for us. You cannot beat the hospitality of this place. The farm animals are a treat, just don't leave your door open. If you do, you will soon realize the animals have no problem inviting themselves in!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgoodwin06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Smitty and Natalie welcomed us the moment we arrived with a warm fire already going in the Feed Mill. We stayed there and felt so comfortable, secure, and relaxed. This place is amazing!!! Took the tour with them and fed the animals, played fetch with Boots, and toured the rest of the facilities. We will be back with our children within a few weeks. This place is like taking a step back to the 1800's with jacuzzi tubs and microwaves. Almost didn't want to write this because we will have a hard time getting into their place in the future as it will always be full.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffB185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We stayed in the silo the first night and then moved to the bunk house. Both accmodations were fantastic but would highly enjoyed the bunk house. The ground were amazing and all the animals were friendly. The owners were very friendly and hands on. We brought our small dog and she was able to run free and made friends with the ranch dog, boots. Can't wait to come back and plan a family reunion.

Linda & Paul, Clearwater FL

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

5 women stayed at the River Road Ranch (Dec 2010). I dont know where to begin...the grounds are amazing, animals (goats, turkeys, lama, boots the dog, etc.), I would describe it as "rustic luxury." We stayed in the Bunkhouse. Each bedroom had its own jetted spa tub, fireplace, flat screen. We were treated like royalty in every way. I am already planning a spring visit. I highly recomend River Road Ranch for a couples get away, girls weekend, wedding, family reunion.
Wonderful people and accomodations!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodeogb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
2.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
10.7 mi away
Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast
Cat's Meow Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 80 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Vineyard Trail Cottages
Vineyard Trail Cottages
#10 of 26 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
4.4 mi away
Southern Charm Bed and Breakfast
Southern Charm Bed and Breakfast
#26 of 80 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
7.7 mi away
Full Moon Inn
Full Moon Inn
#14 of 80 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Road Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Road Ranch Resort

Property: River Road Ranch Resort
Address: 160 Glad Heart Trl, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-5351
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your River Road Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Road Ranch Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing