We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Road Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hangar Hotel(Fredericksburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites(Fredericksburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Fredericksburg(Fredericksburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Frederick Motel(Fredericksburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windcrest Inn & Suites(Fredericksburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Inn & Suites(Fredericksburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Fredericksburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
31
5
4
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
5
4
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Staying here is not inexpensive, but for the spaciousness and quality of the accommodations, I had few complaints. We stayed with friends in the Bunk House. There were two large bedrooms and bathrooms with every amenity one would expect of a fine resort villa. One major difference is the freedom of the ranch's resident animals, who will probably stop by for a visit (be sure to say "hi!" to Duke, the donkey). They're all friendly, however, and guests can almost always count on a few fresh eggs from the ranch's turkeys to make some Texas-sized omelettes in the morning.

There is plenty to do both on the ranch and in downtown Fredericksburg. Even though the two families included a total of four boys ranging in age from 6 to 12, not one of them reached for a Nintendo or iPad during our stay.

My family and I really enjoyed ourselves here, and we'll gladly return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MI_TravelFreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My Girlfriend and I stayed at The SIlo in River Road Ranch the weekend of September 28th. We were impressed with the care that went into the renovation and decoration of the Silo. The interior was spotless throughout. It was roomy and romantic with a large jacuzzi. It felt very private. We enjoyed taking early morning walks around the ranch and meeting the animals. A dog and cat escorted us. We met a pack of turkeys, an alpaca, a pair of llamas, many sheep and goats, some chickens , a donkey, and three longhorns. All of the animals were free range and tame. The Silo worked as a great home base to explore the many vineyards in the Hill Country. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The SIlo has a spiral staircase to a loft bedroom. It would not be a good choice for people who find it challenging to climb stairs.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aswitzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My husband and I chose this place for our anniversary, WOW! We loved it from the moment we drove into the property... the antiques, the humor, and the hospitality. Smitty really knows how to make you feel right at home, oh and Bootsie the Wonder Dog makes you fit right in too. Smitty even took the time to teach us a thing or two about some of the tools and machines onsite, pretty cool. We also loved that even though you felt like you just walked into an old western town you still have all the comforts of home. We can't wait to go back, thank you again Smitty for really making us feel welcome!!!! : )

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TLC8084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This place was an excellent play to stay. We stayed in the Feed Mill, and the accommodations were very nice and clean with a separate bath, bedroom and living/kitchen area.

We loved exploring the ranch by foot and 4-wheeler. We loved seeing how the animals just roamed free and interacted with each other - living in the city, one does not get to experience sheep, goats, turkeys, llamas, etc. It was very interesting! When the owner fed the animals - it was one of my favorite times of the day! The animals are very tame and people friendly.

The owners were very nice and accommodating and treated you like family.

This is a great place to be outside and experience something different and fun than a traditional motel/hotel or B&B.

We highly recommend and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHLandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This lodging is good for kids, they can play with roaming animals which makes for a unique experience. The owner is accommodating, kind and sincere, and really tries to make your stay fun. (owners live on property, so if you want privacy...might not be the place for you) The homes are large and nice with everything you need for a stay, but their occupancy charges make for an expensive stay. I am concerned with the cleanliness/sterilization of the units after each visit. The breakfast includes store bought cinnamon rolls, bread, misc boxes of cereals and whatever else the previous guest left in the fridge.. The reservation service is horrible and has a completely unacceptable cancellation policy unless you cough up extra cash to buy their "insurance". The ranch has a lot to offer and the owner is so kind, but if they are going to charge up to $300/night they need to refine just a few things.

Room Tip: Don't tell the reservation service the actual number of guests that will be staying, this way if you need to cancel they won't stick you with the fully loaded room! Even if you show up and part of your party did not make it the reservation service refuses to refund you the $30 extra per person they initially charged you.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rainforestrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews