We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine, Widows to Football and one WOW House!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rock House Hideaway
Ranked #56 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 January 2012

One weekend a bunch of my friends who were widowed because of a football game that weekend, stayed at the Rock House Hideaway. We opted for the Grand House/Main House and were not disappointed. When we walked in, it was if we were transported to a movie set for Laura Ingalls Wilder with modern amenities. The beds were comfy, the double porches were perfect for coffee with the sunrise and wine with the sunset. Our check in and check out was easy breezy and the location was far enough away from the main strip that we felt like we were the only people within a hundred miles, but close enough that if we wanted to see the town, it took us five minutes. The one and only downside was the little gravel road that leads to the house is kind of hard to spot at night. Thank goodness for Google Maps! We would definitely recommend this location to anyone whether a couples vacation, families looking to get away, or girls in need of some quality time together.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahKM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2012

I booked this amazing house for a girls' weekend away for 9 of us. Everyone was so impressed with how darling it was. The house was impeccable, decorated with such rich hill country flare and was easy to settle in and feel right at home. My constant thought was, 'If this is what their vacation property looks like, imagine what their permanent home must be..." . The beds were extremely comfortable and there was so much closet space for luggage. Full amenities were provided, much more relaxed than a hotel. The group was shocked to learn how reasonable the pricing was and each person asked for contact information so they could book their own future events. I am already trying to concoct another reason to visit and stay at the Rockhouse.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Spacious and super-clean, I loved the attention to detail and comfort. The views are lovely, the location convenient, and it is very private. Thank you Ben and Lena!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Arlyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Our family group of 10 spent Oktoberfest weekend at Rock House Hideaway in 2011. We've made this an annual trip for many years and stayed at other properties in Fredericksburg. Everyone of our group LOVED this place. The location was great, the layout of the house was great, the decor and amenities of the house far exceeded our expectations. The owner was more that helpful in answering questions prior to arrival. Check in and out was flawless and super easy. There wasn't one thing we would change about this property! My husband is so in love with the place - he's interested in offering to buy it! The website is very good, but the photos and description don't come close to depicting how wonderful this place is. If it's available on the dates you need......BOOK IT!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pboedeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

What a great place for 6 friends to get together, relax, shop, eat and enjoy the beautiful Texas Hill Country. The Hideaway is a beautiful home with ALL of the amenities. Plenty of sleeping quarters, fabulous kitchen, porches to sit on, large gathering and dining areas, bathroom space, washer and dryer if needed; everything we were looking for and more. Sitting on beautiful acreage just a few minutes drive from Fredericksburg, we could get to town easily and to a few other places we had on our agenda; the Hill Top Cafe is a must and only about 7 minutes from the Hideaway, as well as wineries headed in that same direction. We had a wonderful 5 days and plan to do the same trip again in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasCAOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Loved the authenticity of BB. Absolutely we'll stay here again. Great location. It felt like we were away for the weekend, but still close enough to downtown Fredricksberg.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAGiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

My husband and I stayed in the rockhouse hideaway guest house and absolutely loved it. We enjoyed a wine and cheese snack on the back porch and watched the wildlife for an entire afternoon. Loved everything about it and we are planning a return during the spring to stay in the main house with friends/family. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladyg001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Southern Charm Bed and Breakfast
Southern Charm Bed and Breakfast
#23 of 82 in Fredericksburg
19 reviews
0 mi away
Rocking Ox Gastehaus
Rocking Ox Gastehaus
#55 of 82 in Fredericksburg
6 reviews
1.5 mi away
All Seasons Tanglewood Farms
All Seasons Tanglewood Farms
#41 of 82 in Fredericksburg
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Messina Hof Hill Country Manor Haus B&B
Messina Hof Hill Country Manor H...
#50 of 82 in Fredericksburg
13 reviews
2 mi away
Austin Street Retreat
Austin Street Retreat
#26 of 82 in Fredericksburg
39 reviews
5.9 mi away
River Road Ranch Resort
River Road Ranch Resort
#48 of 82 in Fredericksburg
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock House Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House Hideaway

Address: 197 Rock House Drive, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: £125 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rock House Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rockhouse Hideaway sits on 20 emerald acres. You will feel as if you are secluded deep in the Hill Country, when in fact, you are only a two-minute drive to all the downtown action. The home offers two suites, the Guest House (a perfect romantic getaway for two) or the main house (a three-bedroom, two-story unit complete with full kitchen, private balconies, HD satellite TV and more). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rock House Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing