We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B, wonderful hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our final 2 nights in Texas were made all the more enjoyable because of Becky & Sam and their wonderful B&B. We stayed in the Mustang Bunkhouse and were treated to a beautiful room, bathroom & delightfully comfy (huge) bed. The home cooked breakfast was different each morning and was divine. But best of all was meeting Sam & Becky - such a lovely couple, so friendly and helpful (great advice to have dinner at Cabernet Grill down the road - they even booked us a table!) and genuine characters. We really enjoyed having breakfast with them and other guests each morning and hearing their tales. Such a shame London is so far away from Chuckwagon Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSambrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

We chose this place based on Trip Advisor reviews and the cast iron skillet of biscuits picture on their website. What a great choice! Upon arriving, we received a warm welcome and recommendations for restaurants and activities. The room was clean and met every expectation. We especially enjoyed the fireplace as it was unseasonably cold! The country breakfasts were homemade by Sam and Becky made sure we had everything we needed. We really enjoyed visiting with our hosts and the other guests. Sam and Becky were gracious hosts and entertaining as well! We felt like we were part of their family. I'm already planning a return trip! Thanks for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Beautiful location just outside Fredericksberg. Excellent views over open countryside. Quirky and original room in Larry's Chuckwagon with private deck at back, this was immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. Owners Sam and Becky were friendly and helpful, we really enjoyed sitting and chatting with them. Very nice breakfast in the dining room of the main house, which dates from the 1850's and is beautifully restored by the owners. We cannot recommend this place highly enough and when you stay, take Sam's recommendation and make sure you eat at the Cabernet Grill.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

When we arrived at the Chuckwagon Inn B&B, we knew right away this was a special place. Sam and Becky made us feel like we were family. Becky is such a gracious and lovely lady. We enjoyed every story Sam told and believe me, he has some stories to tell. It was so much fun joining Sam at the Cantina every afternoon at 5pm. He had us laughing and we all need a good laugh from time to time. Sam can cook up some fine breakfast meals. Every morning while I was sitting in the swing on the front porch of the Bolinger Cabin, I could smell breakfast cooking and it made my mouth water. I was early going to the dining table because I just could not wait to eat. My husband and I have stayed in a lot of B&B's but this is unique. The food is "real" breakfast food that you just don't find at many B&B's. I have this thing about cleanliness and our cabin was as clean as a whistle. The bed was so inviting and comfortable and we slept like a log. We recommend the Chuckwagon Inn B&B to anyone. It is fabulous!

Room Tip: If you want your own front porch swing choose the Bolinger Cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our stay at the Chuckwagon Inn while visiting the Hill Country last weekend was wonderful. The entire weekend was great, and staying at the Chuckwagon Inn was a real treat. Becky and Sam know the meaning of the word "hospitality", and the cabin we stayed in was not only very comfortable (the best sleep I've had in a long time), but was also decorated in a genuine Texas way. The full breakfast was worth the trip - I'll be heading back for some of Sam's biscuits, sausage, and gravy in the near future. Many years ago when I travelled quite a bit overseas, I frequently stayed at the Savoy Hotel in London - known as the best hotel in the world. I'm happy to say that the Chuckwagon Inn under Becky and Sam's ownership can easily be called the "Savoy of Hill Country B&B's". Andy Hewes, Houston, Texas

Room Tip: Any room/cabin would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

As all the reviews say, you will not be dissappointed with your stay here. My husband and I stayed in the "Pear Tree" room. The room was comfortable with a nice bed, sitting area, fireplace, and huge whirlpool shower/tub. It is wonderful to stay at this bed and breakfast because not only do you have rooms with character, but you have privacy (I dislike staying under the same roof as someone as other accomidations have). Sam gave us a dinner recommendation for a steakhouse that was fabulous (trust the man)! Breakfast was really good. You will not want to miss it. The owners Sam and Becky were so sweet and made us feel as their personal welcomed guest. Go here, relax, and enjoy fredricksburg...we sure did.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuishaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife and I could not have had a better experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our two-night stay in Miss Becky's Kitchen. The accommodations were nicely appointed, very comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts each morning were hearty and exceptionally well done in the Texas Hill Country tradition. Sam and Becky are delightful and very attentive to the needs of each guest. The stories and the conversation were most entertaining and an unexpected bonus. This is the kind of place that you'll want to come back to time and time again. I know we'll definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
853 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 82 in Fredericksburg
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#8 of 82 in Fredericksburg
440 reviews
8.9 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#11 of 82 in Fredericksburg
59 reviews
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Cottages
Country Inn & Cottages
#4 of 82 in Fredericksburg
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1156 Fm 2093, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-7147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chuckwagon Inn is an historic property on 5 1/2 acres only 2 miles from downtown Main St. The inn has 5 separate guest quarters including an 1850's log cabin, all of which have been beautifuly restored. Our rooms feature fireplaces, king beds and whirlpool tubs with showers and we serve a made from scratch full country breakfast each morning in the dining room of our 1854 stone house which is across the drive from the cottages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing