We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out in the west...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aarberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Out in the west...”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at the Chuckwagon Inn B&B this July as a family of 4. Very much enjoyed Becky & Sam's hospitality and breakfast with their famous bacon wrapped chillies - make sure you do not miss them out :-)

The B&B has some lovely made cabins with a looooot of attention to all those western details. Rented "Larry Bill's Chuckwagon" and "Miss Betty's Kitchen" which were perfect for us. The yard is very nicely kept with a lot of flowers. The kids even found a real living armadillo in the backyard. Sam did take good care of catching it and releasing it down at the river so he would not mess up the lovely flower beds around the house.

Check it out!

Room Tip: Check out "Cabernet Grill" right next to the Chuckwagon Inn for dinner if you feel like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Txjackrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
437
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Comfortable bed...great breakfasts...friendly hosts...lovely decor...convenient to all area attractions...love that there is a nice sized refrigerator and a microwave in the cabin.

Attention to detail...we will be back!!

Room Tip: The cabin is so charming!! Wi-fi sometimes weak...we had our own hot spot that we used at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We loved everything about the Chuckwagon Inn B&B! We stayed for 2 nights in the Mustang Bunkhouse. The location was less than 5 minutes to main street and convenient to the wineries as well. Sam & Becky were great hosts and gave us recommendations for places to eat & wineries to visit which were all fantastic. The breakfast eat morning was great! Our cabin was clean & nicely decorated. We can't wait to come back & try another one of the cabins!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We cannot even keep track of how many visits we have had to the Chuckwagon Inn. Over 10 and counting. The grounds are beautiful. Blooming flowers and perfectly maintained. We have stayed in every guest house and each one has been creatively and beautifully decorated. Our favorite is the Mustang Bunkhouse. When we walked in to the Mustang this visit - it was as if we were the first guests that have ever stayed. Spotless, smelling perfectly fresh and clean. I am known for not walking barefoot in 5 star hotels but I actually did in the Mustang and that says it all. The custom made comforter and pillows, padded and spotless bathroom rugs, quiet and cold brand new a/c, and pillow top luscious bed EARN the Chuckwagon Inn their #1 rating with TripAdvisor. The breakfasts are thoughtfully planned and delicious from scratch! Sam and Becky have become special friends and we will continue to recommend the Chuckwagon Inn as the ONLY place to stay in Fredericksburg.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is my second time back, we're from Huntington Beach California. We enjoyed it so much the first time I had to have my family from Houston meet us here at the Chuckwagon Inn wee stayed a few nights enjoyed the country while enjoying the town only a few miles away. The rooms are decorated beautiful with everything needed. The best part was the gourmet breakfast, best tasting coffee and wonderful company of the owners and guest. Very nice way to start off your day. My family from Houston is ready to go back again in the fall! Thank you Becky & Sam for making our stay enjoyable and memorable for us. We will see you again soon ;)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leander, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We loved every bit of our stay at the Chuckwagon Inn! Sam & Becky are amazing & made a great experience there completely out of this world! The food was phenomenal. The Pear Tree Cottage was very comfortable. We really enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evenings. We cannot say enough good things about it & we will be back soon!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kgardiner2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our first B&B stay and only as the result of a direct recommendation from friends. Being just outside the town was a blessing. The tiny airport was not an issue - three take-offs/landings over four days while we were there. Hosts were fantastic and engaging; also very up-front (and spot-on) regarding area restaurant recommendations. Met another couple building in the area that will only stay here during their trips back to monitor progress on the house. Had an issue with the shower that was resolved before we returned at the end of the day. Sam & Becky have likely set the bar pretty high for any future B&B stays we have anywhere else. Next time we are in Fredericksburg, we will be at the Chuckwagon.

Room Tip: Plenty of photos on their web site. All the rooms are good. More about choosing a decor than a locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cary_reams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
2.9 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
2.9 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 80 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#7 of 80 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Cottages
Country Inn & Cottages
#5 of 80 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chuckwagon Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1156 Fm 2093, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-7147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chuckwagon Inn is an historic property on 5 1/2 acres only 2 miles from downtown Main St. The inn has 5 separate guest quarters including an 1850's log cabin, all of which have been beautifuly restored. Our rooms feature fireplaces, king beds and whirlpool tubs with showers and we serve a made from scratch full country breakfast each morning in the dining room of our 1854 stone house which is across the drive from the cottages. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing