We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victorian Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #55 of 81 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
1 review
“We'll be back!”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This was our 5th stay at an absolute charm bed & breakfast. We are repeat customers for a reason. The rooms are always 5 star. Victorian Mansion had a huge shower, plush canopy bed, a spiral staircase leading up to a loft, a jetted tub under a stained glass window, and a private garage. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dc1162675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

To be fair, let me start with the positives. We stayed in the Master Suite, which was very nice. The room was very spacious and clean, and the bed....oh my. The bed was absolutely amazing. Hands down, THE MOST comfortable bed I have ever slept in.

My first issue with this B&B is that it's missing the second "B" - there's no breakfast! Instead, you get a voucher for $12 (per couple, so $6 per person) which you can use toward breakfast at one of five local restaurants. A few problems with this:
1. Every restaurant on the list was closed on either Saturday or Sunday. A little strange, since aren't most people coming for a weekend getaway? No big deal, just a little tricky when trying to strategically plan.
2. $12 was enough to cover about half the cost of the meal, when you include tax and gratuity. It just seems a little stingy. Still, not a big deal, just something we found a little inconvenient.

Also, there weren't any sort of snacks or refreshments provided in the room. Not even a bottle of water. Granted, I haven't stayed at many B&B's, so maybe this is the norm. We just expected maybe there would be SOME kind of something upon arrival...like maybe some fruit or juice or a granola bar.

The next issue we found was with the jacuzzi. It was absolutely wonderful to enjoy the enormous, spa-like, relaxing whirlpool bath....until we turned the jets off. Obviously, the tub had not been used or cleaned in a long while because there were hundreds of particles of dirt and even a few dead bugs floating around with us in the water. Romantic. We exited promptly.

For our last and most awkward complaint, on Saturday night at about 9:30pm, one of the maintenance people tried to WALK INTO our room....without knocking, unannounced. All of the sudden we heard someone fiddling with the doorknob, like they were trying to pick the lock or find the right key. It's important to know that the entrance to the Master Suite is through the garage....where our car was parked. So obviously, we were in the room. My husband inquired through the [closed] door, who was there and what did they want. He replied that he was supposed to fix the hot water heater - we did not even have a hot water heater in our room! It was extremely rude and inconvenient, and downright disturbing that he would have just walked right in without knocking.

When my husband informed the front desk upon checkout, they could not explain why he had been there and did not act like they cared too much about the inconvenience.

All in all, not a terrible experience and it did have some positives....but we won't be back, as there are so many other options around town.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bradierenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Carriage House and it is absolutely amazing! We really enjoyed the private courtyard with the hot tub. We were always out there drinking coffee, soaking up some sun on the reclining chairs, and at night relaxing in the hot tub. The other thing we really loved was that it was a couple blocks off of Main St. where we did a lot of shopping and dining.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshandJen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The Fountain View room was more than I expected. So spacious and warm and the decorations are beautiful. The bed is heaven to sleep on. I have stayed in Fredericksburg every spring for the last 4 years and this is by far my favorite place to stay. The fountain in the front drive is beautiful and soothing. I enjoyed the hot tub both nights I stayed, so nice to soak after a day of hiking.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayla77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2011

My husband and I spent our 12th Anniversary at The Victorian Mansion in the Master Suite. We could not have asked for a more relaxing weekend. We will definately be back again next year. Definately recommend the Ultimate Pampering Package! To walk in our room and have Champagne and Chocolate covered strawberries waiting there for us was really romantic, not to mention the couples massage, and last but definately not least the horse carraige ride through Fredericksburg. Absolute Charm made everything so easy, this was our first time at a B&B and we will definately be back! Don't forget the Rockbox Theatre as well, we also got the Music Lover's Package and the show was awesome! THANK YOU ABSOLUTE CHARM FOR MAKING OUR 12TH ANNIVERSARY A MEMORABLE ONE!

Paul and Amy Dennis

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulandAmy0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Master Suite for 2 nights. It was very nice to have the garage access right outside our door. It was in a great location and very close to shops and restuarants. The suite was huge, the neighborhood was quite and the bed was very comfortable. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammypta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baytown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2010

The house was clean, plenty of room and a big screen tv to end the day .

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JimBaytown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
851 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
3.1 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#6 of 81 in Fredericksburg
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southern Charm Bed and Breakfast
Southern Charm Bed and Breakfast
#29 of 81 in Fredericksburg
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 81 in Fredericksburg
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Austin Street Retreat
Austin Street Retreat
#25 of 81 in Fredericksburg
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Victorian Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 302 W Travis St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-3855
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victorian Mansion Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Mansion in Fredericksburg's historic district offers 4 private enormous suites in the main house plus a private cottage on the grounds. All suites offer luxurious decor, cable TV, wi-fi, microfiber robes, hot tubs and more! Don't miss your chance to stay in this elegant, historic Fredericksburg landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Victorian Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Mansion Hotel Fredericksburg
Victorian Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing