We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Porch in time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Across the Way - Front & Back Porch
Ranked #45 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Fort Worth TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Back Porch in time”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We liked the Back Porch but it wouldn't be in our top 5 Bed & Breakfast stays. The property was very clean and very well decorated. It was also easily accessible and close enough to the action. The owner was very cordial and professional. Personally I didn't care for the tub with a hand-held shower wand but some might like the retro feeling. The hot tub was outside in a separate very well decorated room which we didn't use it but it would be awkward in cold weather. The wooden floors are a nice retro touch but with neighbors on the other half of the house walking around loudly it can be disturbing. The actual screened in back porch would be great in warm or hot weather but not so much in cold weather. The TV was an old tube type which is rare to see anymore in hotels or bed and breakfast locations but the owner might have considered it part of the retro look. It didn't matter to us but some might not care for it so much. We did have problem with the Wi-Fi internet dropping out a lot. So if you plan on using it you might take that into consideration. In general we thought it was very good property but for us not an excellent one.

Room Tip: Go in warm or hot weather to take full advantage of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JebTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    3
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Front porch-We are very disappointed with this room. Definitely NOT worth money. No standing shower....had to sit in tub with handheld shower. Couldnt use outside hottub....too dirty with leaves and flower pollin. Outside patio chairs and tables were very dirty. No logs for outside fireplace. No extra hangers inside to hang clothes. Just very disappointed. Wont be back! Pictures are deceiving!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beadlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Cons: Its a full 2 city blocks to Main Street and then 2 blocks down Main street to the shops. The hot tub was in a separate area - you had to walk out into the front yard and around to the side of the house. The wine corkscrew was broken and since we didn't bring our own, it made drinking wine the first night a little difficult. Finally, there wasn't a shower.

Pros: Bed was comfortable and the bathtub was very nice. Very private.

All in all, a little more expensive than it was worth and we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firecracker78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

The room was nice and clean but it was an awkward space. The hot tub was good but there was no ventilation in the small hot tub room and there was nowhere to Put the hot tub lid. Positive side- clean and so close to shopping!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomandsteph2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Park, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I took my bride back to Fredericksburg for her birthday and she loved the Front Porch. We had lots of room, a wonderful bed and a great jacuzzi in the room. It was too cold to get in the hot tub though.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaplainkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

a cozy little cottage. and a great location. no shower, just a bath. for some that's romantic, but trying to get ready was a little awkward. but that aside the cottage was great. meal vouchers didn't get you much but every little bit helps. we'd go back next weekend if we could!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckeezie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I absolutely love this place. The bathroom is very cozy and romantic. The bed is awesome. I slept like a baby. The Front Porch has been very clean each time I have stayed. The location is great. Just Wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.9 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
0.2 mi away
Austin Street Retreat
Austin Street Retreat
#22 of 80 in Fredericksburg
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Charm Bed and Breakfast
Southern Charm Bed and Breakfast
#26 of 80 in Fredericksburg
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Across the Way - Front & Back Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Across the Way - Front & Back Porch

Property: Across the Way - Front & Back Porch
Address: 211 W Travis St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-3852
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the Way is a darling duplex in the historic district offering two separate suites, named for where you enter them....the Front Porch and the Back Porch. Each suite offers a king bed with beautiful linens, a comfortable den, and a private bath with jacuzzi tub. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing