We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of 202 and Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
202 and Cottage
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our party of 3 ladies had a wonderful stay at the cosy Cottage recently. Everything was spot on for our needs. We really appreciated having the 3 twin beds (having had to share beds in other accommodation - twin beds seem to be much more uncommon in the States than in Europe). There was more than enough floorspace for our luggage and the open plan space also included a sitting area with a sofa and a round dining table. The bathroom was stocked with heaps of towels - in fact, more than I've seen provided in many hotels!

The kitchenette was a bonus - well stocked with crockery, cutlery, a fridge/freezer, microwave, toaster - also some complimentary sweet treats which were very welcome! The yard between the Cottage and the main house had many chairs and a small bench for lounging around, and there is plenty of (free) street parking available right outside the house (plus one off-street parking space on the drive). There is free WiFi and (very efficient!) aircon, with an additional standalone portable aircon unit.

We had a warm welcome from Bobbie - in fact, when we arrived, the family was in force preparing both the cottage, main house and the yard for the next round of guests. We were given a tour of the main house, which was incredibly beautiful with some period features and a huge kitchen. As other reviewers have already noted, the location is fantastic - within easy walking distance of the shops and restaurants.

Thoroughly recommended - it's easy to see why there are repeat guests! Thanks again to Bobbie and family for a very comfortable stay :)

Please take a moment to rate if you found this review useful :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

There were 3 of us here for a girls weekend and the cottage was wonderful. Very cute and quaint. It has 3 twin beds with a sitting area and then a bathroom with a shower. Perfect for us. The beds were so comfy. It rained on Sunday morning and listening to the rain on the roof was so relaxing. The location couldn't be more perfect. Located right off Main within walking distance to everything. We parked the car and walked everywhere. We were basically behind Crossroads about a block away from the Catholic Church. If you have a larger group rent the main house. We sat outside of our cabin visiting and enjoyed the perfect weather we had. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: A lot of light comes in the stained glass window so it is bright in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank cvw74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We've recently enjoyed our second stay here at 202 & Cottage, and we're already Jonesing for our next visit. We simply cherish the main home but this time we decided to try the cozier Cottage and we're glad we did so. It is very simple and easy, with everything virtually in a studio environment, but tinged with the traditional Texan flair and down-home feel.

The main house, though, is still just as beautiful as we remembered it (we asked to take a peek) and not only did it bring back memories, but a touch of hope for future visits, too. We also enjoy it here this much not just because of the B&B, but everything about the area is fantastic. Fredericksburg is a wonderful town, the region offers a lot in terms of attractions and natural beauty, and hey, this is Texas.

Overall, we don't know what else to say in order to give this place proper credit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but the main home offers more space and amenities than the smaller cottage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have been returning to the 202 house for several years now. It always feels like coming home. The house is comfortable and clean. The owners have thought of everything.We are a large group of ladies and the house works well for all eight of us. The kitchen is awesome and huge. The living room is a great gathering spot for all of us as well. We love that we can walk to town. You could not ask for more. The only thing we hate is that we have to leave. If you are looking for a homey place to stay, this is it!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Wow - we were so impressed with the house and all of the decor! The website does not give it justice.... although it was nice leaving a little to the imagination. This was our 2nd annual girls trip and we are all in our late twenties/early thirties and we had a great time in Fredericksberg. The owners were welcoming and even had a little treat for us when we went in to the house. The beds were so comfortable - although we spent most of our time in the living room, kitchen and dining room. Everything was easy to find - just in case we forgot anything! It was so close to downtown shopping and tasting rooms, the location can't be beat. We had a great time on a very low key girls trip. We hope to be back in a few years.

Room Tip: ... bring an eyemask as the rooms are bright and cheery! ... Kitsy Fay and Verna Mae are the large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarabeth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
202andCottage, Manager at 202 and Cottage, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Thank you .. and can't wait to see you again... Glad you enjoyed your stay with the girls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The 202 cottage was a wonderful place to stay in Fredericksburg for the weekend. The house was very warm and inviting and had all the amenenties you need. The beds were very comfortable, it had a large kitchen and lving/dining room space. You can bring your own food to cook at the house as the kitchen had all the utensils,pots and pans you will need and a large refrigerator. I would recommend staying here when you visit as it is just one block off Main St. which makes it very easy to get to all the shops and restaurants. I have booked the house again in May for a girl's weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
202andCottage, Front Office Manager at 202 and Cottage, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you Katie. We have tried to add and have available those things to make it feel like home. When we would travel with the family and kids/grandkids we would take everything but the kitchen sink with us to a travel location. So when we did the Main House as a whole house for reservations we wanted to have it where someone could come in and make breakfast/lunch/dinner for the complete group and only have to bring or shop at the local grocery store for items to cook and not have to bring all the cooking utensils, etc.
We have lots of memories around the kitchen island while cooking, snacking, and chatting in the mornings.
Again, Thank you and we will see you in May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I took my mom for her 60th Birthday, and it was a surprise trip. We could not have been more excited about how beautiful and perfect this place was. The location is absolutely perfect, and the main house and cottage are absolutely charming. The kitchen was a total gathering place!! They had all the extras you could possibly need! The owners went above and beyond with every step of the reservation. The are the most kind ladies, and were ready to do anything to make our stay perfect!! I want to plan a million tripsback there!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystallite13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
202andCottage, Front Office Manager at 202 and Cottage, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank You Crystal for the kind words. We loved having your family and friends stay with us at 202 and Cottage. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
851 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 202 and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 202 and Cottage

Property: 202 and Cottage
Address: 202 S Crockett St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-3737
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
202 and the Cottage at 202 are located just one block from Main Street in the heart of downtown. Built in the 1930’s, this house has been of that vintage design. The front porch is small, yet ample for enjoying our crisp morning air. Inside the living room is spacious and offers an elegant simplicity. Whether relaxing or visiting you will find warmth and coziness in this room. Guests will enjoy the many special finds your hostess and her family have found over the years. A spacious dining room with exquisite antiques is open to the living room. There are three bedrooms (2-8 people w/3 Queens & 1 King) in the main house and a Cottage (1-3 people w/3 Twin beds) behind the house. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing