We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We WILL be back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Walnut Canyon Guest Cabins
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“We WILL be back!”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I'm very picky when it comes to hotels, cabins, etc.. We usually vacation in our RV, but we decided to leave it at home and try something different. Our cabin (Tree House) was wonderful! It was very clean, cozy, and had a beautiful view. The open night sky was perfect for the meteor shower!
The owners were extremely friendly and even let our kids help feed the chickens one morning. The kids (8 & 5) fell in love with the animals and did NOT want to leave. Needless to say, we WILL be back!

*IF you have children or other guests with you, you might want to pack extra linens. We had taken an inflatable twin for our daughter, and our son slept on the futon. There was one extra fitted sheet and one extra blanket. We probably could've asked for more linens but didn't feel the need to bother. I had taken two extra blankets.

Room Tip: The Tree House had a lovely view, but the power lines were kind of in the way. Maybe the other cab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SugarLandExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, Owner at Walnut Canyon Guest Cabins, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you so much! I'm glad y'all enjoyed your stay here, and your children too. Kids love hanging out at the barn. Glad you decided not to bring the RV! David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

After a weekend in this heavenly place, I realized why I prefer vacations spent in cabins to the ones in resorts. The simplicity of life in a cabin, the rustic charm, the craftmanship, plus the rugged comfort (not so rugged: the place had a dvd player and 20 family-friendly dvds, complimentary pantry items including eggs and orange juice for breakfast, a washer/ dryer, and comfy beds) left me feeling content. The proximity to Enchanted Rock State Park (1hr away) and Fredericksburg (20 min) makes it very convenient. The place was perfectly clean and comfortable, and so cute! The farm eggs were delicious! And the view from the cabin (we rented the Woods) breathtaking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 3 days, we stayed in the cabin called the woods. The pictures of the cabin don't say enough about them, they are super clean. It is very quiet and very peaceful. David and Laurie are friendly but don't really see them much while you are there. I will recommend this place to anyone if you want a relaxing getaway . We will be going back for sure but booking a longer stay next time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drhifxvbhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
901 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Our family booked cabins for a two night stay and David was so pleasant and accommodating to our needs as well as helpful. The cabins are spaced nicely apart for privacy but close enough to walk to and from. All are meticulous with detailed craftsmanship. Perfect if you want secluded peace and quite. First morning there were about 8 deer just off the balcony to watch. Resident animals are adorable miniature horses, a mule, chickens and a rooster. The refrigerator is stocked nicely with breakfast items if you want a small or large breakfast. The cabins are so clean and cozy. We stayed in The Woods and Rocky Top and they were a perfect fit for our family gathering. David checked us in and checked on us the next day as well. The road to get here is windy and it is in the country with wonderful views. Trip into Fredericksburg, the nearest town, is about 15 min. There is a restaurant just down the road know for it's burgers (separate review) and the Old Tunnel State Park is really close. I could go on and on but suffice it to say, if you want solitude and a cozy/clean cabin with Texas hospitality then you need to stay here. Thank you David for a memorable stay:)

Room Tip: The Woods Cabin has a bit more open space but the Rocky Top has very comfy love seats in center room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2013

If you are looking for a quite peaceful hilltop retreat far out in the country near Fredericksburg, the Walnut Canyon Guest Cabins would be hard to beat. The only sounds you hear are Mourning Doves calling to each other and the breeze moaning in the trees. Clean comfortable cabins on a hilltop with panoramic views. A small miniature donkey with a really funny attitude greeted us when we arrived. He likes to be scratched behind the ears. Drive slowly on the country roads especially early morning and late evening because deer are everywhere.

Room Tip: All four cabins have nice views and are clean and comfortable. The Rocky top cabin has two separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby,Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My husband and I like to take a week once a year to do a motorcyle vacation. If we are staying in Canada, we take our own Harley. If we are heading stateside and only have a week, we rent one near the ultimate riding destination. In April of 2013 we flew to Houston and picked up a bike then headed for Hill Country, Texas. We spent the week touring around and staying in different cabins each night. We have done this every year for the past few years, as we love the bike and love doing a week where we stay at a different place each night, having a relaxed schedule to see whatever sights we want, eat at whatever looks like a cool place and just generally enjoy the sights and sounds of every new town we visit. We always rent cabins when we do these bike trips and have so far, toured Route 66 through Arizona to the Grand Canyon, The Florida Keys, Northern Georgia and Death Valley/Palm Springs. I can honestly say that the best accomodations that we have come across thus far is the Walnut Canyon Cabins. We had only allotted one night in Fredericksburg and it was our last. If we had of stayed there earlier in the week - we would have stayed for another 2 or 3 days. When you are on a bike, you have limited packing space. So little things like linens and towels are not only appreciated but necessary. Coming to a place like WCC is a biker's ideal way of travelling. Once we checked in with Laurie and David - both amazing people, we unpacked then did the quick drive back to downtown Fredericksburg for some steaks, some wine and a handful of basic groceries to make dinner that night.
As previously mentioned on this website - breakfast is provided SO nicely - you don't have to worry about buying a lot of stuff that you would just have to throw out the next day - because it's already there. The kitchen is your regular kitchen at home - everything you need and more. The bathroom is just like home, with extra towels, soap, shampoo, hair dryer and i even noticed a drawer full of the "just in case" stuff that a female might need....which again, i think is extremely thoughtful!!!!
The cabins are quite new and REALLY nice. Wood floors, wood furntiure and trim - nice furniture, not 1970's rec room furniture that they found in a garage sale. This is the kind of cabin/cottage that you would build for yourself at the lake. There are also a ton of movies so you can watch them if your husband has a few drinks after a long day of riding and falls asleep by 10:00!! He is also a fussy sleeper and stated the beds and linens were more comfortable than ours at home.....nice.
We got back from town - showered and then had our wine sitting on the back porch in the comfy and beautiful adirondack style chairs, just soaking up the atmosphere. Then out to the front to light the charcoal grill and get the steaks going. While they were slowly cooking, we grabbed our glasses of wine and went to pet the donkey, the miniature horses and hang out with Zeke and Mr. Bojangles, the dogs. Chickens and roosters were walking over to our table by the BBQ to check out the grass. The cottages are all quite private, quite separate from Laurie and David's home and secluded by the trees. Just a picturesque place and a glorious place to feel comfortable and relax after a day of riding. If you are looking for bars and nightlife - Fredericksburg has a lot of cool brewery style pubs/German food. We hung out on the patio for lunch one day - but you could easily go into town for nightlife and cab it back if that is what you wanted. If you are a "biker dude" and are looking for neon and crowds and loud music - this may not be your place. But if you are "biker enthusiast" or a couple who just wants to tour during the day and relax at night with each other or even the folks in neighbouring cabins - this is absolutely the place for you. That being said, there is a bar and restaurant just around the corner from WCC at a designated lookout spot - so you can still get your feel of some nightlife. Or if you go with a crowd, this would be close enough to eat out, have a few drinks and not worry about drinking and driving the bike back. I would like to write WCC up in all of the Motorcyle magazines to let people know about this haven for two-wheeled travellers.
David and Laurie are fabulous people - they have thought of everything and are incredibly hospitable. We visited with them for about an hour in their house when we checked out and they are the kind of people you would want to have dinner and drinks with and just chat for hours about anything and everything. We were a tad concerned that we might not be the right guests for this resort, as when I first found the website, the Religious references on the site made me think this might not be the place for us. I GUARANTEE you that regardless of your faith (or lack of) - David and Laurie will make you feel like family and you might even find yourself sitting on the back porch with your wine, looking at the beauty around you and think.....hmmm...maybe they're onto something!!! I wish them all the success in the world and we definitely plan to be back. I hope the bikers of the world find out about Walnut Canyon Cabins - as it is made for that style of travel - luxury with limited packing space!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lookout and it was terrific - but I can't imagine the others would be too diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vodkatonic16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

(And I Love Bread) Truly a Slice of Heaven.
Visit this part of the Hill Country frequently,,,,,,,,,,, never stay anywhere else. If you are desiring peace and tranquility, Walnut Canyon Cabins is where you want to be.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaTxan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
12.5 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
836 reviews
12.4 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
455 reviews
12.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
4.2 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#11 of 81 in Fredericksburg
57 reviews
11.6 mi away
Barons CreekSide
Barons CreekSide
#1 of 28 in Fredericksburg
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Canyon Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Canyon Guest Cabins

Property: Walnut Canyon Guest Cabins
Address: 503 Deer Road, Fredericksburg, TX
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded, fully furnished guest cabins with a magnificent hilltop view. All the peace and quiet you can stand. Totally self contained. You won't want to leave!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing