We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but a bit pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice, but a bit pricey”
Reviewed 2 October 2007

Dropped in here without a reservation. Building is fairly new construction and everything is still nice. Room was clean and well-appointed, even a coffeemaker and free WiFi. It's right off I-10, so easy access there. Shell station just up the street and a restaurant across the street. Staff was helpful in pointing out things to see nearby. My main beef is that is was $99/night. There was nothing wrong with the room at all, but would have felt better about $70/night.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott-from-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    41
    40
    12
    21
See reviews for
35
54
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lsp38
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2007

I checked online first and then called to make reservations. I requested 2 roooms together that is what I had the room was clean. It had a country feel to the room the bed was comfortable. I did not eat the breakfast so I don't know how that is. It was busy at check in time but the staff was courteous.
I was satisfied with the service and room.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank lsp38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2007

Stayed here for one night in May 2007. I am a frequent guest of Holiday Inn Express. This was my first stay at this property.
Lobby with handcut stone and wood floors is nicer than most Expresses. Room itself was typical for holiday inn express. Clean and maintained. No desk provided, only a smal round table. I've never had problems with noise in a Holiday Inn Express before. However, I found the traffic noise from the highway out front to be distracting. I could also hear conversations and TVs from adjacent rooms. I regretted not packing ear plugs. Complimentary breakfast did not have any pre-cooked items like eggs, sausage, biscuits, gravy, etc. Otherwise pretty standard continental breakfast fair.

  • Liked — Lobby Decor
  • Disliked — Lack of response to repair request. (light out in bathoom)
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pangaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fredericksburg hotels

Baytown, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2005

I thought the hotel was very clean and neat. The room we received was spacious with a king size bed. On the negative side, there was some outside noise that could be heard from our room. You could hear cars passing on the adjacent road and people speaking in the hall. Nevertheless, I wouldn't mind staying there again. The employees are very nice. The hotel is about two miles from the main strip of town.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank InfrequentTraveler#1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 July 2004

Very pleasant and relaxing place. It brought back fond memories of another era, as I sat peacefully out on thier western-style porch in thier old-fashioned rocking chairs, and reminisced of another time when life was less hectic. The German food restaurant across the street was a pleasant surprise, as well. Peaceful, relaxing, and quite reasonable. No problem recommending to others.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2004

We stayed for 1 night on our way back home. This is one of the nicest motor-lodge type of properties I've ever stayed in. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is good. The decor is quaint and attractive (country style with a large porch and rocking chairs!). The pool is small (it's a lap pool), but it is clean and refreshing.
The only drawbacks are:
1) It is a little bit away from the heart of Fredericksburg (its' on the North end of town, but you're only a mile or two from the heart of the shops, dining, and attractions).
2) The road noise is noticeable when the Semi-trucks roll by on the 87.

Overall it's a nice place to stay and a good value. We'd stay here again.

Helpful?
5 Thank grram1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
255 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 25 in Fredericksburg
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
806 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
453 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
#15 of 25 in Fredericksburg
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel

Property: Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel
Address: 1220 N US Highway 87, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-3090 (Formerly Howard Johnson Fredericksburg-Hill Country)
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing