We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleep in your car.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Flint, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sleep in your car.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Well after a long hard day we showed up at this place and boy we have been taken for sure. The room is very large but very old and outdated. The bathrrom leaves a great deal to be desired. The customer service is very good but this is not worth $150.00 a night. We stay in the hill country all the time and this is the worst place we haved stayed at. Thank God we only booked one night.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarksLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    40
    39
    11
    21
See reviews for
33
52
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

This hotel is ok, service was good. We booked 2 rooms through a booking service because their website showed no rooms available, when in fact there were many! When I checked in, I was told that had I called, I would've gotten my AAA rate at 10% off what we paid. I didn't call because their website said they didn't have rooms that night! I mentioned this, and the desk clerk told me it was because there was an ongoing "issue" with this property and the chain it is supposed to be part of. I don't think this was fair, and felt I was overcharged. That aside, the wallpaper was peeling in the bathrooms of both the rooms we stayed in. My friend said it had been stapled back to the wall in her room! The beds were comfortable. The location isn't all that great. There is highway noise on one entire side of the hotel, and it's too far to walk to the shops and restaurants on the east side of Main Street where we always dine and shop. The breakfast was a joke, don't even bother. There are too many great restaurants in Fredericksburg to go for breakfast anyway!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the highway, unless you're a heavy sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mombatDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed here during spring break. If you ask for a fridge and microwave they can accomodate. Free hot breakfast is okay. Sheets had a burn from the dryer which we thought was dirt. Large room. Wish it had a ceiling fan in the room. Lighting in the room is poor. Front desk staff will try to accomodat and is friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfcengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We got a very good deal on this hotel through Hotwire and stayed for 3 nights. It is a good basic hotel - not fancy, but clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was decent and the staff was friendly. It was very quiet and we were satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariagloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Our family travels to Fredericksburg every Thanksgiving weekend. We have stayed at this hotel before, but this year the counter staff was not as friendly. The room clocks had not been set to Daylight Savings time (a point to attention to detail). The beds were in need of replacement, our mattress was so old it tilted to one side. WiFi was "up" but had no internet connection for anyone in our 3-room group. Our reservations had to be corrected, but the staff did make the corrections. An average stay in an average hotel. We will look for another hotel next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbfeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

The Staff Was Friendly, And Helpful. The Rooms Were Spacious Enough, And Clean. There Was A Hot Breakfast . Which Was Better Than Having Just Pastries And Coffee You Only Get At Most Hotels. I Would Stay Here Again For BUSINESS, PERSONEL OR WHATEVER MIHT BE THE REASON FOR ME TO COME BACK TO FRDERICKSBURG. THANK YOU

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papadock33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Effective May 1, 2011 Breakfast has been enhanced to a Full Hot American Breakfast Buffet Bistro. Due to brand new management, we have improved in guest relations, customer relations, and other related fields to maximize guest satisfaction. We like to extend our thanks once again for your continued loyal support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

I checked in here before reading Trip A reviews---luckily, as it's fine! I got 30% off for three nights stay, WIFI, hot breakfast, clean, nice room, and friendly staff. I also physically visited/checked out several of the top 10 listings on TA before coming here and I am totally stunned that people rate them higher than this hotels. It all makes me wonder about TA ratings' accuracy or value! I mean really, one was an old 50s motel, no WIFi, no breakfast and far more expensive?????

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
We recommend to read this positive review for a 2nd time and also wish to request the same for Trip Advisor Management to fully understand that our hotel deserves a higher placement.

Effective May 1, 2011 Breakfast has been enhanced to a Full Hot American Breakfast Buffet Bistro. Due to brand new management, we have improved in guest relations, customer relations, and other related fields to maximize guest satisfaction. We like to extend our thanks once again for your continued loyal support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
1.7 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
#15 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel

Property: Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel
Address: 1220 North US Highway 87, Fredericksburg, TX 78624 (Formerly Howard Johnson Fredericksburg-Hill Country)
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing