We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average Hotel”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Spent one night there with very little sleep. The bed was very comforatable and the room was very clean but you could not turn on the bathroom light without a very noisy exhaust fan coming on as well. Evidently the room next to us decided to leave their light on all night and I could hear the very loud noise in my room as well all night. Friendly front staff and typical breakfast offering.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrynG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    43
    41
    13
    21
See reviews for
35
56
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Overpriced...I've stayed at better hotels for less money. The breakfast was ok, but they close it right on the dot even if you are still eating. Front desk staff was pretty friendly and helpful. I can see why it was the only hotel that wasn't booked. It was just ok. Not overly impressed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fredericksburg hotels

Houston
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I'd give it 2-1/2 stars if I could. For the price of $75/night it was worth it, but you shouldn't pay more. The smoke detector was hanging out of the ceiling which was concerning, but the a/c worked fine and the room was basically clean (or clean enough to tolerate anyway). Breakfast was ok and it was close to Main St., but not really close enough to walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tx_sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Hotel was clean. There were stains on carpet and one of our rooms smelled musty but staff was very friendly!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dedear06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flint, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Well after a long hard day we showed up at this place and boy we have been taken for sure. The room is very large but very old and outdated. The bathrrom leaves a great deal to be desired. The customer service is very good but this is not worth $150.00 a night. We stay in the hill country all the time and this is the worst place we haved stayed at. Thank God we only booked one night.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarksLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This hotel is ok, service was good. We booked 2 rooms through a booking service because their website showed no rooms available, when in fact there were many! When I checked in, I was told that had I called, I would've gotten my AAA rate at 10% off what we paid. I didn't call because their website said they didn't have rooms that night! I mentioned this, and the desk clerk told me it was because there was an ongoing "issue" with this property and the chain it is supposed to be part of. I don't think this was fair, and felt I was overcharged. That aside, the wallpaper was peeling in the bathrooms of both the rooms we stayed in. My friend said it had been stapled back to the wall in her room! The beds were comfortable. The location isn't all that great. There is highway noise on one entire side of the hotel, and it's too far to walk to the shops and restaurants on the east side of Main Street where we always dine and shop. The breakfast was a joke, don't even bother. There are too many great restaurants in Fredericksburg to go for breakfast anyway!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the highway, unless you're a heavy sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mombatDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed here during spring break. If you ask for a fridge and microwave they can accomodate. Free hot breakfast is okay. Sheets had a burn from the dryer which we thought was dirt. Large room. Wish it had a ceiling fan in the room. Lighting in the room is poor. Front desk staff will try to accomodat and is friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfcengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
261 reviews
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 25 in Fredericksburg
189 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
457 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
#15 of 25 in Fredericksburg
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel

Property: Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel
Address: 1220 N US Highway 87, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-3090 (Formerly Howard Johnson Fredericksburg-Hill Country)
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing