We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Dump!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I arrived to find no ice in the hotel. No phone at all. It had been removed because it didn't work. Not even a clock. My handicapped son asked for another pillow and he was told they don't have any extras. I will NEVER stay at this old run down dump again. Did I mention the toilet is so loose it may fall over at anytime?

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Buffie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ameriksuites M, Manager at Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Making our guests stay as pleasant as possible is our goal, therefore we strive for excellence.For years now we have catered many satisfied guests. While many have had a good experience, we are sorry that your stay with us was not as pleasant as you expected. Your comments are not taken for granted, we will surely look into the areas that you mentioned need our attention. Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    43
    40
    13
    21
See reviews for
35
56
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DALLAS, TX
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My family really enjoyed this hotel. It isn't fancy so don't go there expecting anything fancy. It is an older hotel, but what do you expect for the great price. I paid half of what some of the other hotels were charging and they really didn't seem any better on the outside then this place. I do have to mention that it is right next to a cemetery which might creep some people out. The celings were high which made the rooms seem bigger. The beds were ok, cable TV was good, and the sheets were clean. The breakfast was better than I expected. It included a variety of things such as waffles, biscuits and gravy, and bagels, etc..... The front desk employees were very nice./ I think the people giving bad reviews need to stop comparing this place to the Ritz and review it based on what it is, a small hometown inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spookyDallas_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Manager at Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for providing us wit your valued feedback. We are happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one. We will take action to focus on areas mentioned that require our attention, so that your next stay can be more rewarding. Thank you once more for your comments and looking forward to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel needs your money for urgent repairs and improvements. Trash and weeds greet you at the entrance. The hallways need vacuuming. The carpets and curtains throughout are very dated and old, dark and shabby. In our room the wallpaper was stapled up, the carpets were stained, the towels were grungy and abrasive. At breakfast the coffee was cold and there was no creamer. I hope our $140 for the night helps them change at least one spot for the better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fredericksburg hotels

Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The room was filthy due to stains on the furniture and floor. There was no soap provided in our room. There was no phone provided in our room due to a glitch from installing the security system. The a/c unit did not work therefore we were baking in our sleep. The "manager" was extremely ill-mannered when informed of the above listed issues. She informed my family there was nothing she could do because we had already been charged for the room and because the woman covering the front desk never left her a note of problems for her review. This place is revolting and they blamed in on new management.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a room in town, this is not the place to go. The hotel is under new managemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keo121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Manager at Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback for this enables us to place our attention to areas of the hotel that might need special attention. We appreciate your support as a valued guest. We apologize for not making your stay as pleasant as you expected it to be. Be sure that your comments will be heard and action will be taken to better the service provided to, you, our valued guests. Thank you once more for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sour Lake, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This place was great for the money.It was clean,well located to Main street, & the staff were nice.For the price,you can't beat it.If you want the Ritz,go somewhere else.The breakfast was so-so,but I'm not very big on breakfast anyway.I would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seaark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

While this hotel looked lovely online, our experience has been a nightmare. Upon arrival, we were charged a $50/day fee for our service animals. I have NEVER been charged for my service animals, and tried to explain by providing their crudentials and badges. The lady at the desk charged our credit card, and refused to contact the manager for us. She finally gave us his number,but told us we would have to use our own phone. We then decided not to stay at this hotel and ask for a refund, which she refused. We called the manager, the desk attendent refused to speak with him. We ultimately left and contacted our credit card company directly. We were forced to find a new hotel at 9pm, after a long day of travel already. We tried to contact the manager several times for several days and was given multiple times, " I'll get back with you." We also contacted Howard Johnson's upper management because on our credit card statement it showed that this was a Howard Johnson Hotel. We were surprised to find that just days before our scheduled stay, this hotel was no longer affiliated with this hotel chain. I would be very careful when making reservations at this establishment. It has been almost a month and still we have no resolution.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmm48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Overall we had a nice stay. I did find it odd that the front-desk person charged my credit card up front rather than at check-out, which caused some issues since I was going to be splitting the room with someone. She told me they were under new management, and it seems they're trying to get a handle on things. The rooms could use some updating and maintenance, but it was quiet and the bed was comfortable enough. I stayed in a much nice room in New Braunfels for the same price, so I probably would not stay here again unless I just could not find anything nicer for the same price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
259 reviews
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 25 in Fredericksburg
184 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
455 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
2.3 mi away
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
#15 of 25 in Fredericksburg
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel

Property: Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel
Address: 1220 N US Highway 87, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-3090 (Formerly Howard Johnson Fredericksburg-Hill Country)
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing