We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for Business Traveler” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
texas
1 review
“Not for Business Traveler”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

I got room 230.
Now don't get me wrong, big room nice bed, but I am in sales and seeing there was just this little 3' round table to work on, I had to ask for one with a desk. I was told all rooms are decorated the same.
The wireless internet is weak and slow. I used my aircard instead,
If you were here for pleasure, I could recommend it however.
The wallpaper is peeling as stated in other reviews, but nothing I'm not used to in this level of accommodation.
One snack machine, out of order drink machine and ice machine only on the 1st floor.
Price was reasonable in January, $89.00+. Cheap for Fredericksburg..

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toolpeddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Effective May 1, 2011 Breakfast has been enhanced to a Full Hot American Breakfast Buffet Bistro. Due to brand new management, we have improved in guest relations, customer relations, and other related fields to maximize guest satisfaction. We like to extend our thanks once again for your continued loyal support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    40
    39
    11
    19
See reviews for
31
51
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. Hotel is very close to the highway, so if you are on the highway side, it is noisy. Also, the hotel rooms are in need of updating. The wallpaper was curling away from the walls at the seams. The bathroom sink drain was rusted around the drain. The hotel was very overpriced ($132 night) for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank TexasFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Effective May 1, 2011 Breakfast has been enhanced to a Full Hot American Breakfast Buffet Bistro. Due to brand new management, we have improved in guest relations, customer relations, and other related fields to maximize guest satisfaction. We like to extend our thanks once again for your continued loyal support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fredericksburg hotels

Lubbock, TX
Level Contributor
176 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

Like other reviewers have stated this Holiday Inn Express does not match the high quality that you usually find with HIE.
1. The mattress was cheap and worn, and you would roll into the middle. I'm not sure there was a box springs.
2. The front desk staff was playing country music through the sound system LOUD at 6:30 a.m.
3. The breakfast buffet was skimpy and cold, no gravy.
4. Our room was hot, and it took most of the night for the window unit to cool it off.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wtxtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Effective May 1, 2011 Breakfast has been enhanced to a Full Hot American Breakfast Buffet Bistro. Due to brand new management, we have improved in guest relations, customer relations, and other related fields to maximize guest satisfaction. We like to extend our thanks once again for your continued loyal support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
International
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

Located at the very edge of d/t Fredricksburg, right on edge of highway, as mentioned by other posters we asked and receievd a room away from the highway so it was very quiet - it faces a very sleepy section of Fredricksburg (see pic). It seemed promising the day we checked in. The interiors seemed freshened up, nice reception desk, warm recptionist offering tips for dining, nice little breakfast area until we got into the rooms. It's a 3 dressed up as a 9. The furniture was old, beds were old, they've done work in the bathrooms but sloppily, sinks were new but wallpaper was removed halfway and peeling around the tub area etc. Breakfast was decent and the staff were friendly enough - when you could find them. The last straw was when we came home late (11-ish) and found all the ground floor room windows opened, no one at the front desk and fans all along the corridor of the main floor. We go up to the second floor where the smell of smoke hits us - so we rush down to the reception to raise the alarm but there is no one there. This service man in overalls appears from one of the rooms downstairs when he hears us calling and tells us that there was a fire that afternoon in one of the ground floor rooms. There was no note in our room informing us of what happened, no apologies the next day. We slept in a smoky room that night and checked out the next day.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfonashelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Effective May 1, 2011 Breakfast has been enhanced to a Full Hot American Breakfast Buffet Bistro. Due to brand new management, we have improved in guest relations, customer relations, and other related fields to maximize guest satisfaction. We like to extend our thanks once again for your continued loyal support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

Stayed here during a recent Bluebonnet Trip. No bluebonnets....but our stay in Fredericksburg at the H I ExP was a good choice. It feels like a new motel, located at the road 87 splits west of Fredericksburg.

Clean rooms...comfortable beds, good breakfast. Only problem was the room next to us had their TV on so loud we couldn't sleep. Have to give front desk credit...they tried to call and knocked on the room door, twice...but no one was awaken, They told us the door was bolted with the security. Probably in a stupor...until 2a.

Photos showing beds with navy foot blankets, and bath with black marble was exactly like the rooms we received. We were on the back side, and not on the Highway side. We'd go back again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

Good friendly, service. Nice, clean rooms.
I stay at Holiday Inn Express often as I can depend on them!
One warning. The hotel is laid out parallel to U.S. Highway 87,
so I strongly suggest requesting a room AWAY from the highway
(even numbered rooms).
Also, there are no ice or vending machines on the 2nd floor.
But, the room was well equipped, had a flat panel TV and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishTeacher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Effective May 1, 2011 Breakfast has been enhanced to a Full Hot American Breakfast Buffet Bistro. Due to brand new management, we have improved in guest relations, customer relations, and other related fields to maximize guest satisfaction. We like to extend our thanks once again for your continued loyal support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2008

I arrived in Fredericksburg at 4 am and the motel I wanted to stay at was, of course, closed. Thank goodness the Holiday Inn Express was open! The front desk was very friendly and helpful-- she even gave us a goodie bag with water and snacks! We asked if we could check in later than the standard 12 pm, and she let us stay until 2 pm (and the front desk person the next day knew about it-- I had an experience at another hotel where the night person didn't let the day time person didn't know and was knocking on the door at noon). The next day, the front desk person was very helpful and pointed out some places of interest, gave us tips on places to eat, etc-- she even had menus from the restaurants for us to look over before committing to a place to eat!

The only thing that is keeping me from giving it an "excellent" rating is that the elevator smelled really funky. Kind of like a public bathroom...

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank lulumoomoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Effective May 1, 2011 Breakfast has been enhanced to a Full Hot American Breakfast Buffet Bistro. Due to brand new management, we have improved in guest relations, customer relations, and other related fields to maximize guest satisfaction. We like to extend our thanks once again for your continued loyal support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.8 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
#15 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel

Property: Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel
Address: 1220 North US Highway 87, Fredericksburg, TX 78624 (Formerly Howard Johnson Fredericksburg-Hill Country)
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing