We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of someone in town. The room was clean and it was quieter than staying on the main street. Laundry facility was available which was nice. The free hot breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnD920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    78
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
96
129
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stopped at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the pretty town of Fredericksburg on our way to Big Bend. The hotel is a three minutes drive from the main attractions but tucked away enough to be fairly quiet. The view from the rooms is not particularly startling, unless you look over the pretty swimming pool. The hotel has been in operation for just over six months. It is clean and comfortable. The rooms are fairly standard, with two double beds, lots of cushions, tv, desk and many come with a lovely balcony. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The hotel lobby is airy and clean. Complimentary breakfast is served everyday. On offer are cereals, muffins, donoughts, yoghurt and pancakes. They have a rather fascinating pancake machine which produces decent pancakes. my children were amazed that you push a button and out of a rectangular metal box comes a nice pancake! It is a comfortable base from which to explore Fredericksburg and that bit of the Hill Country. I will be back when I am up there again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iside26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The absolute highlight of this hotel, and the premier reason for choosing this hotel, would be the outside, unheated pool. For families with children, in warm/hot weather, I can't imagine a better place to stay. I could see that staying here with children, at any time other than outdoor, unheated-pool swimming weather would invite a lot of yearning and frustration.

The pool is designed for play, not swimming, with an inclined entry, lots of curves, slides, waterfalls. There's also a hot tub, which had good visibility down to the bottom.

The HI Expresss is an 8-10 minute walk along Washington St through a mixed residential/business neighborhood to the main shopping street of Fredericksburg. There is not a dedicated sidewalk for much of the walk (at least on the westside of the street), so it might be a little bit more stressful with a stroller, young children, wheelchair, etc. Very gentle up-hill slope from Main St back to the hotel.

The hotel is new, and our room was very clean and in very good condition. The window doesn't open at all. Rooms with balconies face the pool, rooms without balconies face the parking lot. Based on the fire-exit map, rooms 331,333, 335,337, 339 looked extra large.

The room (we had a double queen, facing the parking lot) is lovely for its width- not long and narrow. Plenty of floor space. Lots of flat, granite counter area in the room, and not overly cluttered. Simple retro-mod design, sophisticated and unfussy.

Pillowcases are labeled "firm" and "soft", but there wasn't that much difference between them. The sheets are of good-enough quality and thickness, but the raised ribbing on them made them feel rough on my skin, as if they were pilled (they aren't). One shared, large bedside lamp between the two beds, so that reading in bed without lighting up the other bed really isn't an option.

In the bathroom, no Q-tips, no shower cap. At times, we could hear muffled voices through the ceiling vent in the bathroom, even though we were on the top floor. Good-enough towels, and enough for four people. No night light in bathroom.

To make up for the lack of a bathroom nightlight, the too-much space (1/2'') under the entry door sheds enough light into the room to make it easy to find the bathroom in the night. For people who want a pitch-black room, one would need to put a towel across the threshold. Folks bothered by hallway noises would also want to lay down a towel. Noises from the hallway carried much too easily into our room, and the doors (metal) slam shut. We could also easily hear noises from other rooms spilling into the hallway. Twice I heard vigorous nose-blowing from the adjoining room.

Light sleepers would not like this hotel. Light sleepers with kids who love pools should bring earplugs and stay here anyway.

No robes, but real, removable wood hangers, mini-fridge, coffee maker, microwave and tiny bar sink. In a different hotel stay, I might have complained that having the mini-fridge encased in a cabinet (because it's an effort to open the cabinet door to get to the fridge), but after a night of listening to the motor turn off and on during the night, I'm ready to embrace enclosed mini-fridges.

Thank you for an easy-to-use alarm clock and an easy-to-use thermostat. The TV remote is not the seamless kind than can easily be wiped clean. There is triple-sheeting on the bed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 133travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Great, new facility! The grounds and facilities are beautiful! It would be great to just vacation in the hotel! The only problem was the lack of Internet. This was an ongoing problem and they need to get it figured out. No one was able to help and the frustration with that overshadowed some of the other positives.

Room Tip: Upstairs balcony rooms are great! Wonderful balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schirms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

If you havent been to Fredericksburg since last spring, you must give this place a try. It's imaculate and the staff is wonderfull. The rooms were exactly what I had asked for when I made the reservations and the breakfast was hot, filling and full of protien. Everything was working properly and a burnt out lightbulb was replaced imediatly. This was the most perfect stay that we have ever had.

Room Tip: The suits are roomy and comfortable, if you need the extraroom but the regular rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garygorsich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This brand new Holiday Inn Express was a breath of fresh air. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The interior of the hotel was beautifully decorated, the breakfast was great. So many choices...and all were delicious. There is a pool to die for. The only problem was that it was January and we couldn't take advantage of it. The landscaping was beautiful...waterfalls, slides, fire pits, islands and hot tubs. This was more like a mini resort than just a hotel in a small town. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and the rooms were really beautiful. I also appreciated being recognized as a Priority Club member.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a balcony room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junusebopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This place is a surprise, from the staff to the room and amenities. Our spacious room with balcony overlooked the large pool, although all we did is look, since it was early December. Breakfast is criticized by some reviewers, but you won't get a complaint from us. One caution: While the hotel is an easy short drive from Main Street, with all its shops and hell-bent traffic, it is not in our opinion a short walk -- and we're walkers. Busy highway and no sidewalks most of the way; still, we heard no noise in our room.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkhill24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
851 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
841 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Address: 500 S Washington St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing