We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and pool, BUT....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice room and pool, BUT....”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We just stayed and the Holiday Inn in Fredericksburg this weekend for the first time. Normally we stay in B&Bs around town but we changed it up.

Funny, I was saying that I was pleasantly surprised by the spacious room, the awesome pool area and the tasty breakfast, and 10 minutes later I swore this hotel off vowing never to stay again.

Our room was booked by a third party company and when we initially checked in, the front desk person seemed confused and said it wasn't prepaid. After a few minutes back and forth she said she figured it out and that she needed a credit card for incidentals.

Sure enough there was a pending charge for $180 on the card (which is an outrageous price and why I am rating the value poor). We swung by the front desk to ask and the lady there started helping us. THEN entered Linda stage left.

I'm going to spare you the majority of the exchage, but net of it she was rude, abrassive and not helpful. But she was sure to say "I understand" after being all of those things. Luckily she butted out of it and the originial person figured it out.

After the rude person and their attempt to charge my credit card for the room without telling me, I can guarantee I will not stay here again. Experience what Fredericksburg is about and call First Class B&B instead.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
I am sorry that you felt that the staff was rude, your comments indicate how much you loved the hotel and in the next breath you talk about not returning , I don't believe your comments are fair or warranted, the reason you became upset was not the hotel's fault we could not get approval on the 3rd parties credit card, this was not the hotel's fault , when told that we were sorry but if we couldn't get approval we would have to bill your credit card ,your response was then I will dispute the charges. Is this fair to the hotel? When one stays at a hotel they are expected to pay . The credit card issue was not the hotels fault we had been trying continually to get approval on the card and apologized to you over and over again and explained that we would keep trying. You made no effort to contact the 3rd party and just said you would dispute the charges. You indicate that you loved the hotel but then basically were not going to pay for your stay , is that fair to the hotel . Especially when we apologized over and over again , but your response is that we were the ones that were rude. I think that telling us that you were not going to pay for your room saids it all.

Linda Gutierrez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    77
    29
    7
    5
See reviews for
89
124
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

WE have the top rating from Holiday inn express, but that did not help. We ask for a quite room and we had one with traffic noise, we could not sleep. When we told the front desk, they said they where sorry.. We had called and ask for a quite room and where assured room 309 was quite, not so. Also the cost was close to $200.00, not a good value.

Room Tip: If you have kids, this might be the place. The Pool is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 92ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thanks you for your comments regarding your stay . It is very important to us that everyone enjoys their time with us . I want to apologize for the problem with the noise levels. We can't control noise from the street , but it sounds like we dropped the ball regarding the location of your room . There are a lot of facts that play into assigning rooms and we almost never have
complaints about noise from the street , but everyone is different and what my bother you may not be a issue for another guest. ln any case I am very sorry that it was a issue for you .Please give us the opportunity to be your hotel of choice again during your next trip to Fredricksburg we would like to make it up to you.

Linda Gutierrez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

When arriving to the hotel we were greeted by the front desk with a smile and such a warm welcome. Not only did Michael know where to eat and what to do in Fredericksburg. He also took each guest to the side and helped explain what to do and where to go along main and explained that we should ask where to eat and go since all places are not opend late and some are closed. As I had read on the Holiday Inn Express site Michael is an assest I would agree with that statment. What this hotel also had was a great pool. Loved at night how one could sit outside and sit by the fire pits. The staff was wonderful. But the one that stood out the most was Michael when we return my family and myslef can hardly wait to be greetted by such a person that you can only seem to find in your 5 star hotels. Keep up the good work Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms that face pool are great. Also ask Michael where to go and what to do he will be willing ot he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinwchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Yes Michael is great her clearly loves what he does and loves working at the Hotel , he indeed does stand out . The entire stay is very happy with your comments and we do hope that we see you and your family again soon. Thank you so much for staying with us and thanks again for your comments .

Linda Gutierrez
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We liked everything! I guess the only complaint would be about the breakfast. But it was your typical fair for hotels. Nothing to write home about. The rooms were clean and the bedding was nice. The pool looked like a lot of fun! We did bring our suits, but it was a nice place to sit and relax by. The balcony was enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okie-Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
I am sorry that the breakfast was a disappointment to you , but I am very happy that you enjoyed the other specifics of your stay . Please remember when you return again to bring your swim suites so that you can enjoy that great pool. Thanks so much for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Linda Gutierrez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The pool was great with waterfalls and hottub, lit up beautiful at night. The balcony was relaxing, looking down on the glow of firepits at night. LOVED IT. Perfect weekend get away.Close to downtown and there is a great resteraunt right across the street with Saturday night buy 1 get 1 free! and Friday night all you can eat seafood. We needed rest and relaxation...we got it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
We are so happy that you loved your stay with us . It is a very special hotel and we try very hard
to make sure that the level of service matches the beauty of the hotel . It is a great place we
really appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.

thanks again
Linda Gutierrez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

From arrival to departure we could not have been made more welcome here. Huge suite over looking a superb pool area. This is beautifully lit up on an evening with two large fire pits. One of the best hotels we've stayed in

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArizonaSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thanks you so much for your wonderful comments, about our hotel. We do love it when our
guests leave happy campers. That's our mission to make sure that our guests are happy.
The hotel is great we are very proud of it and hope that you will come see us again soon .

Linda Gutierrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very nice and clean. Perfect location to Main Street. Great pool. Nice rooms with balconies.We stayed Labor Day weekend and it was extremely hot. No problems with the air conditioning staying cool. The only complaint I had was they put us right next to a room with very little children. There were a lot of kids so if you have children it is very kid friendly..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeann857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday E, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We love hearing how much our guests enjoyed their stay with us . It is our job to make our guests happy and it makes us feel very very happy to hear that we did our jobs. Thanks again and we do hope that we will have the opportunity very soon to serve your hotel needs while you are in the Fredericksburg ,Texas area again .

Linda Gutierrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.3 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Address: 500 S Washington St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing