We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel...lousy Hotels.com”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Midlothian
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice hotel...lousy Hotels.com”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

prepaid thru Hotels.Com for three nights, could not arrive on first night, but, did arrive next day.
Was told no room available until 3:00.
Had ugly scene with desk clerk about prepaying for a room, the sold my room to someone else even though I paid for it.
Hotel and accomodations were great, clean with nice breakfast, would stay again.
I took it up with Hotels.Com and they said the hotel can sell you room, even if you had prepaid for it.
So what's the point in booking thru Hotels.Com? No where on my reservations docs does it say your room can be sold out from under you
Will never book with Hotels.Com again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocHolliday2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    78
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
92
126
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had two rooms at this hotel with family between 4/29 and 5/1 as part of a mini vacation to Fredericksburg. Service was friendly and attentive. They were not busy during our midweek stay, and it was blissfully quiet. Here's what you should know...

PROS
* New hotel -- clean, modern and comfortable.
* Great location, a short walk to Main St. shopping and eateries.
* GREAT pool and jacuzzi. Most other hotels will have "pool envy" (regardless of price). It's really that good.
* Free breakfast with a very good selection of items.

CONS
* Breakfast is free, but beware the pre-made cheese omelets -- they were...um...well...horrible.
* Looking to get buff in the fitness room? Look elsewhere -- it's small and equipment is minimal. To be fair, the property doesn't even advertise that they have a fitness room, so unlike other hotels, they're not trying to bill it as something it's not.
* Pool area is situated close to a major road, so a fair amount of noise from passing commercial trucks can be heard.

???
* Too bad the pool isn't heated. I was there in late April, and while the weather was warm, the main pool was still a bit too cold for comfortable use (jacuzzi was fine though!). It's clearly the centerpiece of the hotel, and having it heated would allow it to be used earlier in the Spring and later in the Fall.

Bottom line: Terrific hotel overall, and a great value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent two nights there and enjoyed the experience. Hotel is clean and new. Staff was accommodating. Breakfast, the usual suspect, no taste bacon and eggs, but that's to be expected. However, great location to see Fredericksburg.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan, TX
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our first stay here, we have tried several hotels over the years when we visit Fredericksburg. We have found a new place to stay in the future. Service was excellent, the rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, CT
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We picked this one because we thought our kids would like the pool. Although it was chilly the day we stayed there they used it anyway. The hotel is new and our room was very large and clean with a separate seating area. Free breakfast in the morning was good . Would pick this again if in the area.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 712christineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during an overnight motorcycle ride from our home city. The hotel is brand-new and very comfortable. Enjoyed the stay here and the only drawback it's a little ways off Main Street. They only require one night stay on weekends where most hotels in Fredericksburg require a two night stay. We will definitely stay here again on future trips to Fredericksburg.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Progolfer3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Nice facility, well located a few blocks from the main downtown area. Our King Leisure room was clean and in very good condition. The bed seemed firm at first, but slept very well. They have a large pool area with a man-made waterfall and two good-sized fire pits (which were lit in the evening, in early April). Very good stay, we will plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigTXN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
834 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
837 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.5 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
455 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Address: 500 S Washington St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4557
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing