We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay In Fredericksburg”
Review of Hangar Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hangar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We spent two nights at the Hangar Hotel this week and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were large with a king size bed and two large, comfortable chairs. The bathroom had a throwback decor that was nice. There are also porches where you can sit outside when the weather is nice and watch the planes take off and land. We were there in the middle of the week so the Officer's Club and the Diner were closed. The hotel and the airport are on the southwest side of Fredericksburg on Highway 16. It is not a long drive into town where most of the museums, shops and restaurants are located.The good news is that the hotel is right across the highway from The Cabernet Grill which is the best restaurant in town. The only thing I found wanting at the hotel was that there were no coffee makers in the rooms. Other than that the Hangar Hotel is a great place to stay in Fredericksburg. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Don't plan on sleeping late when there are quite a few planes around. They start taking off ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frogman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

Another great special hotel. First class in a rustic way, which I prefer over all the fancy "elegant" city hotels. This one takes you back in time to WWII with many vintage decorations. An observation deck allowed us to watch an after-dark approaching lightning storm . The officers club had a great piano player and put on an entertaining show saturday night. Unfortunately, the ambiance was hurt by a couple of pool players who kept cracking balls during the performance. The rooms was large, beautifully decorated and the bed was comfortable. Across from the hotel was the Airport Diner , another retro masterpiece who served great lunches and breakfast. For a special place to stay , it's a must. Oooops , I forgot the shower curtain was not "belled " out as normal and the lightweight curtain was sucked in by the shower and you had to fight to keep it away! Other than that and the pool players, the stay was perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank semmes1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Not only is a stay at the Hangar Hotel a unique experience, it gives you a small history lesson on 1940's décor and accommodations with all the modern conveniences slipped right in each room. I loved the old switchboard & grandfather clock in the lobby as well as the charming handset phones and clock that looked like grandma's wind up clock. (Minus the tick-tocks)
Having a family of aviator's, we were advised not to miss a stay here while in Fredericksburg and are so glad we heeded the advice. My husband explored around the airport and we had a great breakfast at the hotel diner. (However, I think its only open on weekends) Very quiet, comfortable and just a little more interesting than the chain hotels. My son often flies in when traveling across west Texas so it's a perfect stopover for him.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant available during the week, but it's very close to town if you have a car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2GWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our room was well appointed, quite and clean. The location at the airport provides an unusual interesting opportunity. We will return. The light breakfast was great. The person at the front desk was very helpful about things to do in Fredericksburn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H-CHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My wife and I tried this for our last anniversary and had a great time. I love the military feel of the hotel and the service is good but the hotel is small. Don't expect someone to always be available to take care of you (especially during the week). We drove in so no issues with running into Fredericksburg for dinner (although I would recommend reservations at any of their up-scale restaurants).

The dinner was great for breakfast and the pilot talk was nice. We also sat on the porch and watched planes takeoff and land.

On the downside, it would be nice if they had more amenities especially WIFI.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I had reserved 2 rooms for 2 nights and upon check-in, they only had one room reserved. Luckily, we were there on a Tuesday night and our travel companions were able to get a room, as the hotel was empty. The beds were firm & comfortable, but there were only 6 tv stations to choose from on a small set, no coffeemakers in the room, and no refrigerators either. Unfortunately, I also killed a roach in the bathroom that first night. The officer's club was closed, which was a big disappointment, and there was no breakfast in the morning, just coffee, fruit & dry, dry scones...We will not be coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 1945_1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

From the outside, the Hangar Hotel looks just like an airplane hangar. But once inside, it is more like a nicely appointed 1940's hotel. There are old-fashioned hard-side suitcases stacked in the lobby and sepia photos of old cameras, radios and other 1940's memorabilia. The front desk staff is extremely helpful. Many restaurants are not open on Mondays. But Carol had a list readily at hand of those that were. She even made a few calls for us to confirm their hours. While the Officer's Club was not open while we were there, it is worth a peek. If you did not know better, you would think you were on a military base. The militaria is wonderful.

My room was beautifully done in dark woods. There was just enough furniture to be comfortable without being crowded. The room was spotless. The halls were spotless. There is a viewing balcony along one end of the building where you can sit and watch the small planes fly in and out of the airport. The breeze is lovely and it is a good place to relax and have a drink if you wish. There are rockers on the ground floor facing the runway as well. We stayed three days and wished we could have stayed much longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NCTraveler107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
2.8 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
853 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
892 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
#7 of 25 in Fredericksburg
600 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hangar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hangar Hotel

Address: 155 Airport Rd, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-7673
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range: £90 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hangar Hotel was uniquely designed with an exterior appearance of a WWII hangar of the romantic 1940s. The Airport Conference Center, Airport Diner and Officers' Club also reflect the style of the era and offer a great space for hosting events or simply for a weekend get-away. This 50 room boutique hotel offers a stylish adult environment featuring airplane memorabilia, USO history and the romance of the 1940s. Relax amidst the aviation-themed backdrop and experience the Hangar Hotel’s service and attention to detail, steeped in the excitement of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hangar Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing