We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to finish wine country tour”

Cabernet Grill Texas Wine Country Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great way to finish wine country tour”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Fredricksburg was our home base for a tour of local wineries. Some of the best of those Texas wines are available at this restaurant. I had the mixed grill which included jalapeno quail, venison sausage and tenderloin. Delicious! Would make the trip with or without the wine tour.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mreichr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,192
    263
    81
    51
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland TX
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Making reservations online was so easy. The appetizer was delicious! The steak may have been the best I've ever had. We got our desserts to go and they were heavenly. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling to Fredericksburg.

Helpful?
Thank emmarker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Not much more to add for this great restaurant. A marvelous setting, great atmosphere, outstanding service and the food is to really live for. I believe something would have to really go wrong for a bad experience at this establishment.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank out4goodtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marquette, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfection!!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Where to start...we were able to make online reservations the day-of (how convenient is that?!) Though we chose indoor seating when making the reservation, the outdoor ambiance was so lovely we asked, and were able, to be seated outdoors when we arrived.
Our waiter was knowledgeable, helpful and attentive with both the drink & dinner menus. Though it's basically a "wine" restaurant, 3 people in our party are beer drinkers and the menu nicely accommodated their preferences, as well. Our meals were nothing short of FABULOUS. We all ordered different entrees and all were delicious.
Loved everything about this restaurant, highly recommend, and would definitely go back!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshineallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife and i ate dinner here on out last night in Fredericksburg. We really liked this restaurant and it was the best meal we had on our vacation. Be sure to make reservations even if it's the middle of the week. We went on a Wednesday night and it was very busy.

I guess you could say Cabernet's interior is decorated in a cross between a wine cellar and a barn. The atmosphere is cozy, but can be romantic. Diners are dressed in all types of attire. However, the guy wearing shorts with flip flops was trashy looking. At least take off your camo hat when you're eating. Geez!

The steaks were very good. I had the strip steak topped with gorgonzola cheese in a excellent sauce. It came with wild rice and veggies. It was very good and I highly recommend it if you like goronzola cheese (tart cheese similar to blue cheese). My wife had the tenderloin medallions with the the same sides. Hers was good as well. The medallions were marinated and were very tender. Service was excellent the entire evening. When we come back to Fredericksburg, we will definitely eat here again.

Here's a tip on it's location. Cabernet Grill is located a short drive south of Fredericksburg off of Hwy. 16. It's best to turn left (coming from Fredericksburg) on the street before you get to the restaurant. The street is Fair Drive/Boos Lane. The restaurant's parking lot entrance is off of Boos Lane. If you go pass this street, you can just cut across after you pass Cabernet Grill.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cabernet Grill Texas Wine Country Restaurant also viewed

Fredericksburg, TX
Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Cabernet Grill Texas Wine Country Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing