We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Front desk help could be improved” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on Barons Creek

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Inn on Barons Creek
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Smithville, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Front desk help could be improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We picked this particular place to stay because it stated on the web site that they had a spa facility. When we got to the hotel they do not have a spa inside the hotel you have to walk outside, down a pathway, around the corner, down a gravel path and into the spa next door. If it's cold, or raining you are going to get wet. Also, during our stay, twice we needed something from the front desk and there was no one available to help us and we had to wait at least 10 minutes for someone to come back from where ever they were. One guest even called the front desk as he was standing waiting to see what kind of response he would get and a recording came on stating "they would be right back". They also only have 2 baggage carts for everyone to use which was a real problem when you have guests coming and going. All told the hotel was very clean and we enjoyed our stay, but I think they need more staff and make the walkway more accessible for guests to use the spa.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanagIll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    213
    88
    27
    26
See reviews for
173
309
10
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Glad we read the previous review to treat ourselves to the 2 person jetted jacuzzi and king sized bed with living area! Our suit was huge, emaculate, soft cozy beds, decorated classy with rich taste, vaulted ceilings, and everything large and comfortable for my 6'6 tall husband. The tile floors were clean around the baseboards and corners in bathrooms. No long black hairs in the tub like most hotels like to greet you with. The front desk was very helpful! The breakfast was completely wonderful!!! The view from breakfast area was gorgeous! Hotel is very clean. I guess they hired better housekeepers since earlier reviews. We stayed Feb. 2013.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jettafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. Let me also say that you have made the Housekeeping Departments day,week, and year. I am very blessed to have such a wonderful team and they work very hard to make sure each guests has a great experience. Hopefully we will see you again soon and maybe then you experience a massage or facial in our full service Spa.

Sincerely,
Kammie Robertson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for a romantic birthday getaway. The lobby was warm and inviting, the check in process was quick and easy, and the desk attendant was very fiendly and helpful. We booked the king jacuzzi suite and were very pleasantly surprised when we walked in and saw how huge it was. There was a gigantic bathroom with the tub, a lovely and comfortable sitting room with a desk and TV, and then a separate sleeping area. The room was very clean and well maintained. The only negative I can say is that the bed was extremely firm, but I feel that way in most hotels. Inn on Barons Creek is located just off of Main street and it could not have been more convenient to restaurants, museums, and shopping. There was also a great continental breakfast with more than just muffins and cereal, so that was a nice way to start each morning. While we were there we experienced an issue with the jacuzzi tub, and the staff bent over backwards to resolve the issue. In the end their attention to our needs solidified that they will be our go to place to stay in Fredricksburg. We just really enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back. If you like a cozy, clean hotel with friendly staff that's close to everything in Fredricksburg this place is for you!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are so glad that you had an almost perfect experience. The staff read our reviews everyday and are always happy to hear when they have met and especially exceeded expectations. We hope you can come back soon and experience a jacuzzi suite that is in working order.

Sincerely,
Kammie Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We took this room because it has a built-in spa and assumed the 3rd floor would be quiet. But there is something loose that made a vibrating, hammering noisein this particular room when the wind blew hard. It was continuous for a while, and then would stop. Hotel staff were quite willing to move us, but it was really too late by then. Also there currently (Feb 2013) is a lot of heavy and early traffic on Hwy 87 just below.

Staff were kind and understanding, I must say, and the rooms away from the street and cottages may be just fine. Overall, I would say the accommodations are average, but I would be sure to specify staying away from the East end of the main building.

Room Tip: Stay in the West end of the building, away from HWY 87.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandTour48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. I am so sorry to hear about the noise distraction you experienced. I know we have had several days with extreme high winds here lately. We are looking into a way to secure what might be causing the problem. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Kammie Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Just got home from a quick overnight get-away in Fredericksburg, Tx
Clean rooms with a very good breakfast. I'd recommend this place to most everyone. The mattress was alittle hard but otherwise, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robbie1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thanking you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed it. Hopefully the next time you visit you can fit a massage or pedicure at our wonderful Spa into your plans. Look forward to seeing you again soon when you come back to Fredericksburg.

Kammie Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

I had a bad experience last year. My wife and I decided to try again. The place was great. We had no issues whatsoever. The place was clean and the service was excellent. I would highly recommend. I'm glad we decided to give it another shot!
Within walking distance to Main St.
Great breakfast too.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Silas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you so much for sharing yur experience and giving us another try. We look forward to seeing you again in teh future.

Sincerely,
Kammie Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We have stayed at this fine facility many times, but never in the Presidential Suite - WOW!!!! Impressive and massive. The staff is always great and super helpful. I have already booked for Thanksgiving. So convenient to Main Street and some of our fav restaurants.

Thanks IOBC!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. The entire staf love to hear when our guests are happy. I was actually the one that booked your Thanksgiving reservation for you. We look forward to seeing you then if not sooner.

Sincerely,
Kammie Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
0.1 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Barons Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Barons Creek

Property: Inn on Barons Creek
Address: 308 South Washington Street, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
#4 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Barons Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn on Barons Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Barons Creek Hotel Fredericksburg
Hotel On Barons Creek
On Barons Creek Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing