We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would consider staying again why not?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn on Barons Creek
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“I would consider staying again why not?”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This hotel has a nice charm about it. There are few things that need to be improved like the breakfast and the gym for example.
Overall the experience was a positive one. The rooms are nice, very spacious, clean and very comfortable. A/c unit is a bit loud. I had a luxury suite with king size bed and living room. Two tv screens, microwave, no refrigerator whatsoever. The shower curtain in the bathroom needed a serious replacement. That was probably my only complaint. Cable options are diverse and wifi is available.
I stayed for three nights and never experienced anything negative like noise or poor service. I would say that the staff are helpful but they can be a lot friendlier.
Breakfast was always the same, fake eggs and sausage. The gym barely has equipment, and quite honest I don't think more than two people can work out at the same time.

Location is great, two blocks away from Main Street. Walking distance to HEB (supermarket). The hotel sells drinks and beverage but they do not have a bar. The outdoor areas are great with a creek view and a heated pool.
You are few minutes from the wine country.
I will come back...

Room Tip: The rooms facing south have a view to the parking lot. The rooms facing north have a view to the Cre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotel_aficionado2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for posting a review about your stay with us while in Fredericksburg. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back.

Sincerely,
Kammie Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    222
    93
    28
    27
See reviews for
177
327
12
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked two rooms here based on reviews on trip advisor.

Outside of property is very nice and in a good location and well kept.

Entry/lobby area very nice and a pleasant area.

We arrived two hours early and were advised by a less than happy young lady that "Check In was in two hours and hopefully our rooms would be ready then!"?? We gave her our cell number and asked to be called when the were ready and left chastised!

When we did finally check in (same unhappy staff) we asked for quiet rooms as we found there was a lot of car and truck traffic on the road in front of the inn we were advised all they had were in the front of the property. Our rooms ended up right in the middle front of the property at the arrival area and we also found out that the Inn has a very large bright sign and lighting on the front of the building! Quiet was not a possibility and light was very much an issue even with the drapes drawn and towels around the edges it was still bright in our room. Traffic noise and cars/pickup trucks/motorcycles checking in were also an issue!

Rooms have the potential to be great except they are in need of a major updating of the decor and furniture with the sofa being torn and very used and the bed needing some updating and the chair somewhat used.

The bath area is great with lots of space and the amenities are very nice and shower pressure great.

The rear of the property has a fenced pool & hot tub, upholstered sofa seating area, treed seating area and a very pleasant feel.

Unfortunately the sofa seating area which is very comfortable has 4 air conditioners around it that are VERY noisy and the treed seating area was in disarray. These areas alone would be worth coming here for if they were quiet and in better shape.

This is an Inn and Spa so we were very surprised to find that the Hot Tub not working and luke warm, towels were in a jumble in a Rubbermaid storage tub by the pool with no place to put the used towels and when we advised the front desk we were told that it was just a quote "Tub of warm water and not a Hot Tub!!"??? What does that mean??? We advised him that the pump room (not locked and wide open) definitely had the pumps for the hot tub but the switch seemed to be broken he just shrugged. We advised the male at the desk that evening we were NOT HAPPY with the listing advising there was a Hot Tub and there wasn't and we would like to complain about it to management and he said we should quote "write it up on trip advisor if we were not happy!" Again WHAT???

When we checked out the next day we advised the front desk staff (a new person with great personality and seemed to care about what we we saying) about our experience with the previous days staff and hot tub issues she advised she would tell the manager about the problems. To date we have had no contact or any compensation for our terrible stay!

We will be back to this area but we will never stay here again until staff and condition issues are addressed and we will tour the property before we take a room and make sure of the room location.

Hopefully the issues will be addressed as the potential for greatness is here but in reading the reviews I think people tend to rate on the overall experience of the area of Fredricksburg and tend to overlook issues due to having a good time.

We are new to Trip Advisor but we travel a lot and base our reviews on facts and rate the place only not the overall experience of the area we are in.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the property to avoid noise and walk the property before taking your room. Sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TangoForFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
First let me thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us while visiting Fredericksburg. I would like to apologize that you felt that our staff were not friendly or accommodating. I would like to mention that we do try to allow early check ins but sometiimes based on the occupancy the night before and the room type chosen we may not always be able to do this. Our hotel layout has the King rooms on the front of the building, I was a little confused about the "bright sign". We do not have a lighted sign on the front of our building. I do apologize that light did sneak in your room and that there was road noise. I also want to apologize about the hot tub, our maintenance engineer was working on it the week you were here installing a new heat exchange to prepare for cooler weather. I always advise the staff to ask people to post on trip advisor I think there may have been confusion here, again I am sorry that we were unable to please you during your stay.

Thank you,
Kammie Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harker Heights, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2013

What a perfect location for a short holiday. The rooms were excellent for the price. Sergio, from the kitchen staff did an outstanding job waiting on us at breakfast each morning. Close to shopping and dinning. Highly recommend this hotel..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benfogle01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed it. Sergio is great I am glad you were able to meet him. We look forward to seeing you if your travels bring you back to Fredericksburg.

Sincerely,
Kammie Robertson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Girls trip; Inn on Barons Creek was perfect. We stayed in one of the cottages overlooking the Creek. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet, the pool and the location, which was perfect for walking to town. This was my second stay at Inn on Barons Creek and I would stay there again. The Inn is clean, and staff are friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LolaBeach2524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We would like to thank you for posting a review about your stay. We are happy to hear that the girls had a great time! We hope we can see you again when you are in town again.

Sincerely,
Kammie Robertson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We arrived in Fredericksburg without a hotel reservation and this was the first hotel we tried because of its location, I am glad we did.
The rooms are a good size as is the bathroom.
The breakfast is very good with all items being kept topped up and fresh.
Just 5 minutes walk to main street Fredericksburg.
Ample free parking
Nice gardens leading down to the creek.
Comparable price with the other local chain hotels
Friendly efficient front desk staff
Nice pool area.
We would recommend this hotel if you are visiting the lovely town of Fredericksburg

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. We are so happy that you walked in and gave us a chance. We look forward to seeing you again in the future when your travels bring you back to Fredericksburg.

Sincerely,
Kammie Robertson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

On behalf of myself and my entire Travel Club we would like to thank your staff for a wonderful weekend! The Food & Wine Festival was great but our Hotel stay was even better. Our hotel stay at the Inn On Baron's Creek was wonderful and everyone loved the:
• Clean and spacious rooms
• Hot and Fresh Breakfast (Clean dining room and someone to asssit at all times
* Loved the early breakfast time and that it did not end till 10:00am!
• The lovely décor in the hotel
• That our room cards were ready upon arrival (Quick and easy check in)
• That we arrived early and our rooms were ready

A special thanks for the hospitality that the "entire staff" extended to us during the time of waiting for our bus that broke down. Gary you and your Staff should be commended for the awesome job and the professionalism that you all showed "before" and "during" our stay!

Thanks again and we will return, you guys have stomped out your competitor


Warm Regards,

Angelia Hart
(Houston, TX)

Room Tip: The hotel staff knows what it takes to please thier guests, trust me our Travel Group has stayed wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie4Harts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Angelia,

I want to thank you for such a wonderful review. Everyone had a wondeful time taking care of your group and we cant wait for you to return next year .

Sincerely,
Kammie Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Inn provided everything we wanted for our stay in Fredericksburg. The staff was helpful and friendly, the property was clean and well-kept, the location was a very short walk to town and the pool was a welcome surprise after a long day. Totally recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy53Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KammieR, General Manager at Inn on Barons Creek, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review we are so happy to hear that we were able to provide everything that you wanted.We hope that we get to see you again when your travels bring you back to Fredericksburg.

Sincerely,
Kammie Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
0.1 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
834 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
259 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Barons Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Barons Creek

Property: Inn on Barons Creek
Address: 308 S Washington St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
#4 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on Barons Creek 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn on Barons Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Barons Creek Hotel Fredericksburg
Hotel On Barons Creek
On Barons Creek Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing