We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, wine, service”
Review of Navajo Grill

Navajo Grill
Ranked #37 of 142 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$75
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: NAVAJO GRILL We are a unique dinning establishment nestled deep in the heart of historic Fredericksburg, Texas. Our unusual blend of Hill Country craftsman-style architecture, modern finished and Southwest inspired design is only the beginning. Every detail blends to create an unforgettable dining experience. Whether you prefer the more formal dining inside or the casual atmosphere of our rustic limestone patio bar, you'll enjoy Southern cuisine that has been perfected with an old and new Mexican influence with a touch of New Orleans & Caribbean flavors.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very good food, wine, service”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We're always looking for a good wine by the glass menu since my husband and I differ sharply in our tastes, and this place had it! The crab cakes were some of the best ever, tasty but plated with unique and wonderful accompaniments: capers, shallots, remoulade, and more. Their house salad was basic but very fresh field greens and a delicious house viniagrette. Our chili almond crusted shrimp were large, perfectly fried and served with crisp tender green beans. A side of lemon garlic kale was cooked just enough to soften it but not enough to give it that strong unpleasant taste - delicious!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    108
    64
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome meal in fun shopping town”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

After spending the morning shopping in this great small town full of exciting stores offering one-of-a-kind gifts, my friends and I hiked the Enchanted Rock nearby, then came back to town for dinner. We at at Navajo Grill and had a wonderful low key dinner. The waiter was awesome and gave us time to chill out, didn't push us through their wonderful menu. The meal was terrific, and I highly recommend their fried shrimp - just enough flavor and cooked to perfection. The atmosphere was great - we were not dressed to kill, but didn't feel underdressed at all. Highly recommend this restaurant - make reservations in advance!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorkingTooHard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hill Country Favorite”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The food at this beautiful restaurant is very good, but the prices are just too high for us to return. It is a good choice for a special occasion or celebration if you are willing to pay the high price for an above average meal. The outdoor are is beautiful, as well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank truetexangurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I visited this restaurant on the recommendation of the gentleman who owned the bed and breakfast we stayed at. We were somewhat disappointed with the restaurant. We expected to pay top dollar,and while the service and restaurant in general was pleasant, the food was not what I would expect for a high end restaurant. We had the bone-in rib eye steak special (medium rare) for $45, which according to the card on the table had been aged for 45 days. Well, they might have needed to age it another 21 days because the meat was tough and half the steak was basically just fat. Again, I expected to pay top dollar but I also expected to receive a product worthy of the cost.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimC2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleson
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious Dining Experience”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant for a nice meal, and we were not disappointed. There were six women in our party, and everyone was extremely pleased with their meal selections. The steaks, pork chops and shrimp were perfectly prepared. The salads and sides were nicely seasoned and complimented the entrees. There was a nice wine selection. Desserts were heavenly and perfect with the delicious coffee. The wait staff was knowledgeable, and the service was good. I would definitely come back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAR_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Navajo Grill also viewed

Fredericksburg, TX
 

Been to Navajo Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing