We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice little motel - rooms very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunset Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Pflugerville TX
Level Contributor
216 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very nice little motel - rooms very comfortable”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This little motel on Hwy 16 was very comfortable. The room inside was comfortable with very soft comfy bed with comfy bedcovers. It is economical and has a cafe that is rated very highly as a part of the motel. We will stay there again. Fredricksburg was hopping this weekend and was totally beautifully decorated with Christimas cheer! I hope to go back before the holiday season is over.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimRinger111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    47
    27
    5
    4
See reviews for
30
78
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Nice motel, very friendly staff.

A/C unit blew very cold air.

Great price as compared to other hotels.

No issues whatsoever.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sausheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, Tx
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This place is NOT the best, nor is it the worst. Try staying at the Hampton and see what you pay. You may get a supposedly complimentary breakfast at the Hampton, but believe me, you pay for it on your bill. It is an older establishment, but economical.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelrnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Plusses: Comfortable beds. Rooms have refrigerators, microwaves and coffee makers in the room. The owners/managers are very nice and they let pets stay if needed. Also the location is convenient and the restaurant next door is very good.

Minuses: For the most part it is very well maintained and clean, but at times the bathroom and bathroom floors could need a bit more attention to detail.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovethesouthwest25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

and I mean low budget. The decor is very depressing and retro. Bathroom is very outdated and could have been cleaner. The bed spread looked like something my grandmother would choose. I will say the bed was comfortable but the air conditioning unit made so much noise you couldn't sleep.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hopefloats2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We stayed here two days, and here are the positives: First, yes, the beds are very comfortable, as are the pillows. They get an A+ for that. The owner is also very nice. Another A+. It's right next to the Sunset Grill, which has excellent breakfast. Another A+. And finally, the price was great in the winter. We stayed two days.

But there was ONE huge negative as a guest in your motel room: the appearance of poor cleaning of the sink area, and especially the middle faucet handle. It all looked like a cursory cleaning. I took a Kleenex and made the drain look FAR shinier. And when I looked down at the middle faucet handle, it was NOT clean enough. The back was disgusting. TO THE OWNER OF THIS MOTEL: either you or the maid you hire need to do a MUCH better job! It makes a huge difference. Same with the bathtub drain area.

Also: we never got lotion. Just a tiny bottle of shampoo. Is that standard? Honestly, if this motel's staff would do just a few little things, like include lotion, perhaps a candy on the pillow, better quality bedspreads...AND MAKE THE SINK SHINE AND HANDLE CLEANER...it would get five stars as a motel from me.

Otherwise, it was okay, the winter price was very good, and I underscore the positives.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nancyadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copperas cove texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2011

first of all this place is way overpriced for the money,it cost me 192.00 for 2 nights for a room that was no better than a motel 6,i could have stayed at the hampton for that much and got a free full breakfast,when i tred to take a bath in the tub it rand out of hot water,after getting about 3 inches of water in the tub,next day i ran out of hot water after about 3 min in the shower.every time i went to flush the toilit it was very weak and i thought it was going to stop up every time.live and learn,next year ill stay at the hampton inn.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkerandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn & Suites

Property: Sunset Inn & Suites
Address: 900 S Adams St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Hill Country, surrounded by wineries, the Sunset Inn & Suites is a true hometown original. The owners take pride in the rich Texas heritage that has long been a part of this small town. Clean, comfy and cozy, our quaintly decorated rooms are just what one needs for a great night's rest. Tim and Donna, our General Managers, take pride and care in operating this property and give great attention to detail. We are a pet friendly facility with a small fee. Our on-site laundry room is clean and convenient. Another plus - you can park right in front of your room! So please, stop in, say hello and take a peek at our rooms and relax in on our patio. You won't be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Sunset Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Inn Motel And Restaurant Hotel Fredericksburg
Sunset Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing