We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What Internet Pictures Showed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

First time in Fredericksburg, TX and wanted a basic motel for a couple nights. The pictures advertised were definitely not what we got and I was not pleased with the shabbiness of the bathroom area specifically. Needs updating soon. The parking lot has been black-topped crazily with a large incline nearly impossible to drive over and around. Not sure I'd stay there again. When I asked the owner for a good breakfast restaurant, I was directed to another one away from their own restaurant. That spoke volumes!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

A great, clean, place to stay that is not overpriced at all!!! About a mile from Main Street. Wife and I make a couple of trips a year to Fredericksburg and we have decided it will be the place to stay. Nothing fancy or over the top, but if you want a quiet place, friendly place; this is the one!! The Sunset Grill next to the Motel has Awesome breakfast!!!! A definite hidden gem in Fredericksburg. If I was to say anything negative, wife and I will bring our pillows from home next time as the pillows are great but are sooo soft, it was almost like not having one. But, if you like your pillow like that, then you are good to go!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JF76033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just a few blocks off of main street on HW 16.it was a nice location away from main street noise. Our room was just as other reviews have stated in every way, and a nice way to save some money to spend on the wines in the area ( the reason for our trip ). We came in on a Tues. evening and the older nice man at the front desk needs to learn more about the local restaurants, because when we asked him about a good Bar-b- q place he dident know of any, ( of which there are several ) so we just found a place to eat that night that was just okey. I do want to strongly recommend the Cabernet Grill On HW 16. One of the best dinners we have had in a long time. We learned of it from one of the wine pours at the wine tastings. Go, Go.. Also the breakfast at the Sunset Inn is very very good ( note, it is closed on Weds. ) Hope this helps, yes we would stay there again....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KEG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Most of the lodgings in Fredericksburg are pricey. This place is a great alternative. It's laid out like an old-style motor court where all rooms are on a single floor and face out into the parking lot... Benches to sit outside the rooms.. Rooms are clean, simple - nothing fancy! But quite comfortable. The motel is just a few blocks from downtown, so it's easy to get to anything you might want in Fredericksburg. Being a little bit "off main" has a real advantage in terms of quiet.

The walls are a little thin, so you might want to turn on the window unit fan or bring a white noise generator. Occupants of both my neighboring sides were quiet, but that's luck of the draw. In the morning, a gentleman sat outside on the bench for a phone conversation.. if I were not already awake it might have pulled me out of a sound sleep.

The Sunset Grill is attached and has an excellent breakfast.

I would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
6  Thank ZenMind58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Clean, quiet, affordable, cable TV with flat screen, close to everything, highly recommend. We were looking for a decent place to stay in Fredericksburg than was not a overpriced tourist trap and we found this little gem. Down home friendly manager and just a normal motel with basic clean accommodations.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Zeke45LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I used it as a base from which to do some riding in the Hill Country Labor Day weekend. Nothing fancy, no amenities to speak of, but reasonably priced, quiet, and away from the more crowded parts of town. Just what I was looking for!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and I came for a 3 day weekend in Fredericksburg. We stayed at the Sunset Inn in Room 106. The town was packed with people and were glad we had planned ahead and reserved a room at the Sunset Inn. The room was delightful and the managers were very helpful in suggesting restaurants. The Sunset has a restaurant that is top notch. We had breakfast there every morning. Also ate at the Pink Pig and went to the Lincoln Street Wine & Cigar Bar for some light blues. The Sunset Inn is perfectly located in Fredericksburg and we will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BillKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
270 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
Hotel Kitsmiller on Main
#14 of 25 in Fredericksburg
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
#6 of 25 in Fredericksburg
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#11 of 25 in Fredericksburg
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
924 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Inn & Suites

Address: 900 S Adams St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fredericksburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range: £44 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Hill Country, surrounded by wineries, the Sunset Inn & Suites is a true hometown original. The owners take pride in the rich Texas heritage that has long been a part of this small town. Clean, comfy and cozy, our quaintly decorated rooms are just what one needs for a great night's rest. Tim and Donna, our General Managers, take pride and care in operating this property and give great attention to detail. Our on-site laundry room is clean and convenient. Another plus - you can park right in front of your room! So please, stop in, say hello and take a peek at our rooms and relax in on our patio. You won't be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sunset Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Inn Motel And Restaurant Hotel Fredericksburg
Sunset Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing