We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Uniquely different accomodations near Main Street...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Fredericksburg, Texas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ruth C
Belton, TX
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Uniquely different accomodations near Main Street action”
Reviewed 22 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Rented this Pullman train car for my husband's 70th birthday. My husband previously worked for the railroad and this was a surprise he didn't see coming. You have to pick up keys about a mile away and check in went smoothly. We got 2 vouchers for 25.00 each to spend at the owners store. One for each night. Train car now has wooden blinds on all windows and different bedding from pictures but otherwise is as pictured. The hallway is narrow, the toilet areas are tiny, the dining area was dark (we didn't use it). The kitchen has a small fridge, microwave and keurig coffee pot and lots of wine glasses and other dishes. The bedroom had the best lighting and a queen size bed. The entire train is filled with memorabilia. We enjoyed it. I gave it 4 stars because of price plus some maintenance issues. However, we reported the issues and a week after our stay we received a big surpise gift in the mail with goodies from their store.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tjackson2...
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A Step Back in Time”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

My wife and I were spending a long weekend in Fredericksburg, but neither of us is fond of bed-and-breakfasts and the chain motels seemed a bit generic. Luckily, we found a train to stay in.

The Pullman sleeper car, decked out in 1880s style, made us feel like we’d stepped back in time to the days when a railway car like this was luxury travel.

The sitting room and bedroom are comfortable. The kitchen is fairly basic: a fridge, a microwave and a Keurig coffee machine are the only appliances, but that was perfect for us since we planned on eating out anyway.

The location is great as well – Main Street’s an easy three-block walk away, but the train car was far enough away to offer a quiet place at the end of the day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert W
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool factor was off the charts”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I reserved this for a surprise weekend for my fiancé. I wouldn't tell her where we were staying despite her asking many times. Then when we drove up she had this strange look on her face like "We are staying on a train?" We then walked in and she just couldn't stop saying how cool this was. It was a very unique experience.
We entered the room to a personal welcome from the owner along with a gift.
There was so much history and nostalgia in the car you could spend a great deal of time just looking at the artifacts as if you were in a museum. It was like sleeping in a museum.
The queen bed was very comfortable.
The butler's kitchen was just right for mixing drinks, making coffee, etc.
This was a very unique and interesting place to stay and I would highly recommend it for anyone looking for something outside the norm. It is an experience we will remember forever.
One note is this property is not handicap-accessible and I would not recommend for such.
Romantic getaway (Very cozy and perfect ambiance for romance)
Culture (Like staying and sleeping in a museum. History was all over this place)
Couple (Perfect accommodations for two. One bed and two bathrooms. Lighting could be better)
Other (I would recommend for history buffs or train fans.)
Activities (Tour the wineries, visit the Nimitz museum, take a cooking class, visit/hike Enchanted Rock, window shop the main street, eat the local cuisine, watch the bats fly out of the cave at Old Tunnel State Park, visit Pedernales State Park.)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TweetyLov...
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sharing History”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Car is full of antiques and Teddy Roosevelt memorabilia. Comfy queen bed.and lounging area. One bathroom has a claw foot tub with hand shower. Other bathroom has medium size shower. Cute dining/game room area - needed better lighting. Stainless steel authentic train galley with dishes, glasses, refrigerator, Keurig and microwave. Breakfast is not included, so stop at the bakery or grocery store and bring breakfast items and enjoy breakfast on the train. In lieu of no breakfast you are given a thirty five dollar voucher for items at a local gourmet food shop. Located about four blocks from town in a light industrial area. Parking on site. Thank you to the venue's owner for preserving a bit of history for all to enjoy! A CD of train "noises" to play would have added to the train experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M
Fort Worth
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“An absolute hoot!”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was looking for something different to celebrate our 42nd anniversary. We travel a good bit in and out of the US, often by train, but had never stayed in a private train car before. We very much enjoyed the experience and won't hesitate to do it again. Private and great for romantic getaways. The 6666 was built for a famous North Texan in 1894 and is full of antiques and Teddy Roosevelt memorabilia from that period. Very comfortable queen bed and lounging area. Everything is a bit tight by modern standards but that's just part of the experience. Huge clawfoot tub in one bathroom and small shower with great water pressure in the other. Tiny galley on the far end with Keurig, microwave and small refrigerator to hold the wine and desserts you'll bring back from Main Street. Located across Barron Creek about 3 or 4 blocks from Main Street in a light industrial area (~7 minute walk). There's also a HEB grocery 2 blocks away for essentials. Big parking area. Some traffic noise but nothing intrusive. By a neat twist of fate, our favorite sauces and condiment maker, Fischer & Wieser, owns the 6666 and it's right by their facility. We had no idea! We also received two large gift certificates to use in their store on Main Street or the Peach Haus and came home with a backseat full of different sauces and such. Very friendly people and we will definitely be back in the next year or two!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tnsn1
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really different”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

For anniversary this was excellent for two people. Of Course small, but great for two people to relax and enjoy the history around them. Did not use the kitchen area, but only because we had too much on our agenda. Certainly will make a return when in the area in year of two if available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: unique housing
Liked least: rather small in some areas but expected
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing