We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughter's Wedding Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 81 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
FRISCO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Daughter's Wedding Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our daughter chose Fredericksburg for her destination wedding at the Becker Vineyard. My husband and I chose Magnolia House for our relatives to stay. (Great Choice) We had stayed there before and loved all the wonderful details that Claude & Lisa do. I was a little stressed about the wedding but as soon as I opened the door and was greeted by them, the stress was gone. I had told everyone about their fabulous breakfast and they did not disappoint us. My only wish was that I wanted to stay longer. We are already looking at our calendars for next year and will definitely book another stay at Magnolia House. I have also made several recipes from their cookbook. Yummy. Thank you Claude & Lisa.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bluebonnet which offered a full refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker. It had a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CONSTANCE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We're so glad we were able to help you relax and enjoy the wedding weekend and festivities. The Magnolia House is a great place for all types of family gatherings. We're glad to hear you're putting the cookbook to good use. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    614
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
444
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Marquez, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in June. We were in the Magnolia Suite, a spacious room with a couch, love seat, fireplace, and private entrance. Claude and Lisa have thought of absolutely everything their guests could need ... flashlight by the bed, OTC medicines, chilled water bottles, warm cookies, wine, coffee, a small library of books and movies, even a rubber ducky in the bathroom! The home is charming, inside and out. We enjoyed sitting on the porch-swing in the evenings, sipping wine and listening to the peaceful sounds of a warm Texas night. If there was one drawback, it was the abundance of white-winged doves in the neighborhood that cooed all night long, but that's not really a bad thing. The service was excellent, the food delicious, the visit too short. We had a wonderful time and plan to return!

Room Tip: The Magnolia Suite is large and roomy, with a spacious sitting area, fireplace, and its own entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Becki, thanks for the great comments on your visit with us. We've asked the doves to quiet down, but they seem to have a mind of their own, LOL! Even though we're located in town, we have plenty of wildlife in our yard, we even have some deer stopping by to enjoy the roses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I spend our anniversary at Magnolia House. Claude was a fantastic host and made our stay very memorable. We were late arriving but Claude meet us and was very cheerful which made for a great start to the weekend. We stayed in the Peach Blossom Room and really enjoyed the accommodations. The Magnolia House has great charm. We were able to sit by the pond or on the front port and enjoy the morning coffee or late night cocktails. Claude made us feel so at home during our stay. The breakfasts were great and we brought home their cookbook.

Room Tip: There is really no bad rooms. The only change for our next visit is to get a room with the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Eric, we're glad you enjoyed your anniversary weekend. It was fun having the four of you stay with us. Thanks for the positive comments and review. Enjoy that cookbook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

My mom and I just spent a wonderful weekend at the Magnolia House and will definitely be going back. We stayed in the Magnolia Suite which was beautifully decorated in a Magnolia theme. Lisa and Claude thought of every detail - from the flashlight next to the bed, to cold water bottles to take to town with us, to the fresh cookies and brownies waiting for us every afternoon - everything was perfect. And don't forget the wonderful gourmet breakfasts each morning!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Emily, it was great having you and your Mom stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed the amenities we provide as will as our gourmet breakfasts. (it is the most important meal of the day!) Thanks for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights upon recommendation from a good friend of mine who said I had to experience true southern hospitality while in America. The place was fantastic - my room was gorgeous (Lili Marleen room), the breakfast was AMAZING and there were plenty of other goodies like homemade biscuits each afternoon, soft drink and wine and plenty of DVDs to watch in your room after hitting Fredericksburg for dinner/shopping - would recommend this to anyone, Claude and Lisa were very gracious hosts.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Claire, It was a pleasure having you stay with us as you began your tour around the US. We enjoyed talking with you and are happy you enjoyed our home while you were here. We hope you had fun on the rest of your visit to the States!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas,TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Look no further. The Magnolia House is one of the classiest, well-run, and most comfortable true B&Bs we have experienced. From the introductory tour of this historic home upon arrival to the personal thank you email after departure, Lisa and Claude's obsessive attention to every detail sets them apart from most run of the mill bed and breakfasts. The home was smartly converted to a B&B in the 1990s and the solid construction makes it virtually impossible to hear any other guests.

The breakfasts are elegant, filling, and delicious with daily nods to Opa's (extraordinary) Smoked Meats in Fredericksburg. (It is important to know that there is only one seating at 9:00am, so don't plan early activities if you are having breakfast the house.)

We stayed in the Magnolia Suite which was amazing. With a separate private entrance, private bath, and tons of space, this suite was a big hit with my wife. The bed was extremely comfortable and sheets so good they can be purchased. Robes, fireplace, iPod docking station, plenty of outlets, access to anything you could possibly need in the kitchen, extensive DVD collection, fresh cookies every afternoon, on and on. I defy you to find a detail they have overlooked.

Hard to say when we will return to Fredericksburg, but I can promise you we will stay at The Magnolia House when we do.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigEye2Kauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you so much for all your kind comments. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and the history of our home. We hope to see you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Well, I felt like a queen staying at the Magnolia House! Lisa and Claude were so hospitable and have set up the lovely B&B so that I wanted for nothing. I spent one night there and it will not be my last. Talk about relaxing--oh my gosh. And the breakfast was so lovely. The bed was a dream with the softest sheets that I have ever slept on. My evening was spent drinking a glass of local wine by the Koi pond out back. Thank you again, Lisa and Claude.

As a bonus, I loved hearing about the history of their lovely home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagHouse, Owner at Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We are happy you got to relax and unwind during your stay. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others. Come see us again when you need a break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#6 of 81 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Lazy T B and B
The Lazy T B and B
#7 of 81 in Fredericksburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Magnolia House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 101 E Hackberry St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-3915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional bed & breakfast known for gracious Southern hospitality and gourmet breakfasts. This elegant historic home features five guest rooms (two are suites with fireplaces) each tastefully decorated with antiques and appointed with guests' comfort in mind. Each guest room has its own private bathroom. Conveniently located just 7 blocks from Main Street in a quiet, relaxing setting. Come and be pampered at the Magnolia House, your home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magnolia House b&b
Magnolia House Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing