We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plantinum service. diamond accomodations”
Review of Hoffman Haus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hoffman Haus
Ranked #8 of 82 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2009

I reserved all 14 rooms here for my daughter's wedding weekend. Courtney Mode worked with me for almost 6 months to assure that everything went smoothly. Many problems arose on my end, yet Courtney managed to fix everything. Current updates and frequent communication made my job as "MOB" much easier.
Since I arrived before the other guests and family members, I checked out all the rooms. Each is decorated in a different , elegant, and simply gorgeous fashion. Little details are often overlooked by many bed and breakfast owners, but not by Leslie. All rooms had luxurious linens and towels, a stocked refrigerator, dvd player, coffee maker, comfy seating , a table and chairs, and either a front or back patio with additional outside chairs.
My husband and I, along with 3 other relatives were quests in the Basse House. An 1871 Stone farm house with 2 separate bedrooms, a full kitchen, and a living room with a leather pull out queen size sofa, was roomy enough for all. The first Bathroom had a wonderful claw foot tub along with a separate shower--how nostalgic for us! Our bathroom included a whirpool and a walk in shower. The one complaint from us and other guests: lack of mirrors. There was only one small mirror above the single sink in the bathroom. A nice chair, plenty of towels, washcloths , wicker baskets, high-end toiletries, all in a wooden armoire, completed the huge bathroom.
Breakfast was brought via basket to each door on Saturday morning. What a delightful surprise: fresh fruit, a crustless ham and spinach quiche, and warm muffins with butter.
Sunday morning was a buffet in the great hall. Waffles with fresh peach compote or syrup, scrambled eggs, bacon, etc.---I do believe that Leslie offers cooking classes and can see why!
The grand hall is exquiste and can occupy the time of any age. A library of ecletic books, games, dvd's is at hand for all. The grand piano was a treat to the 4 grandchildren--all under 6. They were busy, especially when Sam, the child tolerate dog, was lazing around. There is a large TV, plenty of tables, several leather sofas, and plenty of space for the multitude of wedding guests and family.
The Hoffman Haus grounds are well kept and the poi pond is lovely. Waterfalls, nicely trimmed foliage, and several cats welcome all.
Since this was our first visit to a bed and breakfast, we were quite skeptical. Please don't be afraid! This place is first rate from the time you first inquire to the time you check out. And---it's rates are very comparable to the other b&b's in the Texas Hill Country.
I would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmommyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Hoffman Haus
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2009

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend here in the Ivy cottage. Nice, relaxing space with an outdoor patio. Fresh, delicious breakfast delivered to our door each morning. Nice and private, you can get outside and visit with the property pet kitties who are simply adorable. Lots of shopping close by, easy accessibility to local wineries and great restaurants. We look forward to be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2008

Googled accommodation in Fredericksburg and found this gem. Great location, 2 streets from Main and quietly tucked away. Luxury linens and the best pillows ever! Extremely friendly and helpful owners and staff. Delicious breakfast delivered at 9 am each morning. Would also be a delightful place for a wedding.
Looking forward to a return visit either with the girls to shop or just to get away with my husband.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Avrila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

We stayed at the Hoffman Haus this past weekend, in the Indian Paintbrush room for 2 nights. What a wonderful place!

Our room was lovely and nicely appointed - our very comfortable queen bed also had a feather bed, and the room included two chairs and a kitchenette with all of the necessities like mini-fridge, coffee maker, dishes and utensils. There was also a good-sized closet, a tv, and even an iron and ironing board. The door on the far wall led to a wonderful private patio where we sat out in the evenings and had our breakfast in the morning. Everything was very clean, really comfortable, and nicely decorated.

We met Leslie (the owner) the morning after we arrived (we came in late the night before) and she was so warm and personable and gave us great suggestions on wineries and what to do in town.

The breakfasts were so delicious and fresh and we loved that they were delivered to our door at 9:00 AM (no rushing in the morning to make it to breakfast). Really, because the food was so excellent (and my husband and I are foodies), the next time we stay, we would like to take advantage of the cooking classes Leslie offers!

The grounds of the property are beautiful, and only a few blocks from Main Street. Even though there are about 12 rooms in all on the property, it is still very secluded and quiet and so relaxing (and I believe it was full when we were there). There are also a few cats on the property, who are very sweet and friendly and sat with us on the back porch.

We loved our time at the Hoffman Haus and will definitely be back. We cannot recommend this guest house highly enough - we had such an enjoyable experience and could not ask for anything more!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRealMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

This was the first time for us to stay in a B&B and we made a good choice for the most part. The staff was friendly and helpful. The property is near enough to the shops on Main Street to walk to them during the cooler months of the year.

Breakfast was good, it was delivered each morning a little after nine. We are early risers and wished it could have been brought to us a little earlier. We didn't inquire so we don't know it that was possible or not. There was also a couple bottles of fruit juice provided in the refridgerator for us. It would have been nice to have a couple bottles of water there too.

Our room was very clean, much cleaner than any hotel room I have been in. It was a nice size. The bed was not comfortable. Either the mattress, mattress pad or both need to be replaced. We sunk down to the point we felt like we could not move. I know that it was the bed and not us because I laid in the middle of the bed and at the foot and I did not sink in.

Overlooking the mattress issue, we had a nice stay for our first time and would definately consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank fencepost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2008

My boyfriend found the Hoffman Haus through this website and booked it for our 4 year anniversary. We ended up getting engaged the first night we got there on top of Enchanted Rock. The Hoffman Haus was a perfect weekend getaway for us. We stayed in one of the bunkhouse rooms for two nights. The hot breakfast delivered to our door each morning was delicious and very nicely displayed in the picnic basket. The decor and character of the whole place was so cute. We even enjoyed the many friendly cats that live on the property, it made it feel like home to us. It was a very convenient walk to the main strip, and also nice that it wasn't too close. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank slatsyrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Hoffman Haus for a 2 night weekend stay just before Christmas. Hoffman Haus is located up a steep driveway and secluded from the street. It is less than 1/2 mile from the shops and restaurants on Main Street and not too far to walk if you want to avoid parking on the street. There are several different buildings on the property each with a variation of room size and decor. There is a nice courtyard and garden where you can sit outside and relax or enjoy a glass of wine. There is a huge fire bowl, but it did not get cold enough to use it. The main building has several couches and tables where you can sit and visit with other guests. We were greeted right away and everyone was very helpful. Our room was great with a cozy feel and included a tv, dvd player, and hair dryer. A delicious breakfast was delivered to our door each morning in a basket. There was a butler’s pantry in the room with a coffee maker and fridge so we made our own coffee and there were juices left in the fridge to accompany our breakfast. Silverware was also in the butler’s pantry and was not brought with the breakfast. This presented a problem because our room was only supplied with a spoon and knife, no fork. We thought we might receive a couple of forks after our room was cleaned the next day but we still did not have forks with our second day’s breakfast. The first morning we were served quiche, sausage and fruit. The second day we had waffles with peaches and bacon. We have stayed at several Fredericksburg B&Bs and Hoffman Haus is our favorite. We will definitely stay here again even if they don’t give us a fork. :)

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank platinum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.3 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoffman Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoffman Haus

Address: 608 E Creek St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4651
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range: £102 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hoffman Haus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hoffman Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoffman Haus Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing