We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and switch”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Perhaps one of the cheaper alternatives for Fredericksburg, TX. Arriving on a Friday evening we asked the price for 2 adults, one bed and was quoted $79. However, upon returning the room key and picking up the invoice the next morning the price had increased to $99. The reason given was we had stayed for a weekend night. This coming from the same clerk, the owner. Pretty much a chicken poop way to weasel an extra $20 from tourists. The motel facilities and German pastries for breakfast are okay. I resented being taken advantage of by the way they operated increasing the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victor_Charlie082012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed there the other night and I got the best nights sleep. It is a great bargain. The breakfast is the best, those German pastries, Mmmmmm. The room cleanliness was superb and the front desk was more than helpful. Overall my experience at this property was fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CT_Superstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitefbg, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you so much for your positive comments and compliments of our motel. We believe we do have a good and clean bargain for FBG visitors. Come again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Great value for the money. I would recommend this motel for the following reasons: the owner, Donna, is customer service oriented, we had a spacious room WITH the following extras: coffeemaker, microwave, minifridge, extra counter space in the restroom area and a large overstuffed comfortable easy chair. The breakfast was simple, with coffee, juice and pastries. Nice benches outside for visiting with company when the sun is going down. We walked to the Biergarten and Auslander with no problem - we enjoy the mild exercise and being outside strolling around this cute town. The walk was 1.1 miles each way, for those who are curious or physically challenged. I will stay here again because of the extras, the nice room and the friendly staff. (I think her name is Donna)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laffintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitefbg, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

WOW! Thanks so very much for these comments! We try to make our guests feel at home and comfortable during their stay with us. One of the most important things we do is interact and converse with our guests....getting to know people from literally all over the world....and relating to them in a friendly and helpful manner. Please come again!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

Where to begin... Let's see.

Roaches in the shower. Blood and cigarette burns on bed sheets. Paper thin & lumpy mattresses... Yes, worse than summer camp. Quilt-like Air filters on a/c unit look like they haven't been cleaned since the motel opened thirty years ago. Extremely Murky water in pool (could not see first step), green water in hot tub.
Worst of all, terrible service, terrible staff, and wayyyyy overpriced!

This place was completely dilapidated and needs to be shut down by the health department Yesterday!

Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bmayberry04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitefbg, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

This managerial response is long in coming. I was shocked by the comments and simply gauged my response to be professional and qualifying. Please accept my apologies for the conditions in which you found our motel.....the review doesn't even seem to be about the FBG Econo Lodge. I appreciate when guests post reviews on Trip Advisor because our guests are #1 priority and they drive us to strive for better management. Roaches....they are a problem in Texas, especially with outside entrances to every room which are all on the ground level. However, we do have scheduled extermination and our usual bug complaint are about dead bugs! Which is good because it means our extermination is working. Bed sheets......housekeepers are trained to not use any kind of stained linens and they follow this standard. Mattresses....I can't find any in the condition stated in the review. Air-filters.....cleaning A/C's and filters is accomplished regularly. Pool and HotTub....conditions were being addressed but chemicals were responding to a recent rain. As far as our staff, we get great reviews regarding management, reception clerks, and housekeepers. All in all, not excuses, not reasons, and definitely not the current FBG EconoLodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Made our reservation on-line about a month before arriving. Apparently, they had just sprayed for roaches. We had a dead one in the bathroom upon arrival and when we left the next morning there were more dead ones outside our door and live ones crawling all over the wall near the office. Since we left before the office opened, we were not able to tell anyone, although I'm sure that others staying there must have! The room was just so-so, nothing special, but I wish I had paid more to stay some place else. Would not stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AZseniorgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Our recent stay at the Econo Lodge in Fredericksburg was just what we wanted and more. The staff was extremely helpful and understanding when we had to change stay dates with short notice. We received a warm welcome when we arrived and everyone was very kind throughout our stay. Quiet, clean and comfortable room. Although this is not a brand new hotel, we could tell that extra care is given to upkeep and cleanliness. We would definitely stay here again, and would recommend to others, especially those with pets.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sygloeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed at this Econo Lodge during bluebonnett time. Our room was clean, had nice wood furniture and a large comfortable chair. Breakfast was oj, pastries, english muffins, bagels and coffee. Wifi worked great and they have a computer in the lobby for customers to use with a printer that printed.
The front desk people were very nice too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank granbury511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
#5 of 25 in Fredericksburg
608 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fredericksburg Hill Country Hotel
Fredericksburg Hill Country Hote...
#19 of 25 in Fredericksburg
131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
0.7 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 810 S Adams St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4445
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range: £49 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing