We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but...”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Ok, but...”
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We have been to Fredericksburg many times and this is the first stay at the Econo Lodge. Here are the pros and cons.

Pros - Convenient location to town (though not walking distance), courteous and pleasant front desk help, good German pastries and coffee for breakfast.

Cons - Our room (130) appears to have been designed for a suite but instead they just put another bed in the room, so there are 3 beds crammed into this rather oversized room. The room had some very sloppy ceiling repairs that had been done, the decor was very dated and the room had no character at all (desk, 2 chairs, TV cabinet, end table, and that's it). The walls were relatively bare, the carpet was old and unraveling in places, and the lock on the door did not latch unless you gave the door a good tug or two. And finally the price of $120 per night seemed high for a place like this. You can do considerably better.

Bottom line, the management was pleasant and responsive - a good thing for sure, and for that I commend them. However, the place is in need of a good once-over, especially for the price. I would not say, "Never stay here." However, I would not make it my first choice.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexItalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    61
    30
    13
    14
See reviews for
34
79
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
austin
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

I think we were in one of the "doggie rooms", which turned out to be one of the nicest. It was very clean, quiet and with comfortable beds. Upon arrival the AC was already on and the room was cool. Once inside our room we never heard any noise from the other rooms or outside area. We did not go down for breakfast but when checking out the front desk told me to take pastries from a table (I did not ask-she just suggested we take them). They were quite good.
Our friends checked in about 4 hours later than us and their room was closer to the office. They said the AC was not getting the room cold upon arrival, but there were four of them, and they did seem to be going in and out more than us. I think their only complaint was that the room wasn't cool upon arrival.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustinTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We enjoyed staying at this hotel. We weren't looking for anything fancy since we were just staying one night. This was our first trip to Fredericksburg, and won't be our last. The staff was very friendly in helping us find quality/authentic places to eat and shop. We also enjoyed the German Pastries in the morning.

The only suggestion I would make is to have larger orange juice cups. My husband had to walk down to the lobby twice to get me more..

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CenTexGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south texas
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2009

My wife and me agree that after riding our suzuki vl 1500 for 5 hours and walking around fredricksburg down town for four or five more hours that the cool water of the pool was very very very inviting, the rooms a/c was doing itsbest to freeze meat and the ultra comfy bed lets us over sleep.

Thanks Econo Logde
WC and LC

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vl1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We stayed at this hotel in Fredericksburg last week. The hotel is a horseshoe-shaped motor lodge of ground floor rooms. We had one of the larger rooms with 3 queen-sized beds (perfect for larger people or families). The positives: Very efficient air-conditioner and more tv channels than you would expect from such a mid range motel. The negatives: The room had spiders, ants around the AC and a dead wasp in the bathroom on the floor. The beds and shower pressure were adequate. The continental breakfast had German pastries, but they seemed to be doled out by the clerk from a pan behind the main office desk instead of being self-serve, which was odd. We also picked a day when many families with baseball playing children were staying at the hotel, so there was some noise from outside until the families went to bed.

I would recommend this hotel to families who need a one night stay, but I would recommend finding a better hotel or trying a bed & breakfast if you are staying in town longer. The hotel is some distance south of Main street, so you will likely need to use a car to reach the Main street shops.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank madhattertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2008

We paid $50 for one night at the Econco Lodge during February. This is a good valud for the money. The staff was extremely friendly and offered to help us find restarants to go to. The hotel was pet friendly which was a plus for us. The girl at check in even gave us dog biscuits for our two dogs. The room was average size. It did have a refrigerator, coffee maker, and microwave in the room. Everything was very clean. The bathroom could use some updating though. The shower and tub were very old and did not have much water pressure. Overall I would stay there again for about the same amount of money.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank littleone3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2007

Only stayed one night. Stayed in a King Non-Smoking room. Everything was very clean and furniture looked new. The desk clerks were so helpful in picking out restaurants in the area. I only paid $59 for a Sunday night which was less than the other hotels surrounding the EconoLodge. I would definitely stay there again when I go back to Fredericksburg.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank BillKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
833 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
#8 of 25 in Fredericksburg
583 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunday House Inn
Sunday House Inn
#12 of 25 in Fredericksburg
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 810 S Adams St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4445
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing