We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and easy access to downtown.”
Review of Sunday House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunday House Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
143 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location and easy access to downtown.”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is a great location, walking distance to shopping, eating, and sight seeing. The rooms are freshly painted and newly carpeted.

The only negative is the continental breakfast. It is less than desireable. The food appears to be from Sam's or Wal-mart. You warm it up in a microwave. The service is unfriendly and poor for the breakfast.

The only recommendation I have for this motel is for them to discontinue the breakfast and reduce the cost by $10 a night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LWMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSchorr, Director of Sales at Sunday House Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I do not exactly know how to respond as I usually get great remarks
on the staff and the quality of the breakfast. But I am truly sorry if
we failed you in anyway. Customer Service is our MAJOR ONE
priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    151
    75
    25
    32
See reviews for
121
151
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have stayed at the Sunday House Inn in Fredericksburg, TX on numerous ocassions. Each time
we are so happy with our rooms, the staff, (especially Judy!), the price, and the ease of being right on Main Street and walking right out of our room into the midst of entertainment and shopping! Everyone is so very nice to us and Judy always remembers who we are! For our anniversary last year, she gave us a vase of yellow roses....my favorite! This time was a small beautiful carnation arrangement. What a delightful surprise each time! :) Their breakfast room is staffed by two delightfully friendly ladies who keep all the food fresh and well supplied. Our rooms are always freshly cleaned and oh so comfy beds and pillows. The Inn keeps their hotel decorated outside in the Christmas season. It's just a great place to stay because we are treated special and they feel like friends...not staff. The Sunday House Inn is just awesome! It is the only one we choose to stay at now!

Room Tip: If you're bringing a small pet, be certain to ask for the pet room at this establishment. We we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSchorr, Director of Sales at Sunday House Inn, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you so much for the glowing review. It is always such a pleasure to have you
stay with us. It is so like having the family home for a visit.

Please call anytime we are always at your beck and call

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

On a recent trip to Fredericksburg, we stayed at the Sunday House Inn. Loved the location, right on Main Street and close to all the wonderful shops and restaurants. Older facility, not fancy, but comfortable and good value. Staff was helpful and gave excellent dining suggestions.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sygloeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSchorr, Director of Sales at Sunday House Inn, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our hotel
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are so
happy you had a wonderful time in Fredericksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Rarely do we get the chance to enjoy time away and just relax without a stressed pace. We went down during our Labor Vacation and we didnt make plans initially to stay and we arrived in Fredericksburg early. We called around on prices and was deeply surprised for a holiday weekend it was so inexpensive at this hotel. Went over there early and not only did they assist is getting us a fantastic room overlooking the pool and mainstreet but allowed us to check in before 11AM, giving us an extreme packet on all the things to do in the area! Shortly after that we had a knock on our door giving us flowers and later when we returned to the room thenbalcony room was marked reserved and a very kind message was left again by one of the most caring and courteous people I have ever had the chance to meet. THANK YOU JUDY! Only downfall was we didnt stay longer.

Room Tip: The suite we stayed in (270) was the perfect room in value, view and location for the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSchorr, Director of Sales at Sunday House Inn, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review. I know we will remember your visit for a
very long time. You were such a charming couple and the pleasure was
truly ours.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We booked in for one night and ended up staying another, the staff at reception were so welcoming and helpful and could not do enough for us, felt like a family run hotel. It was in a great position just a walk from restaurants and shops which meant we did not have to drive to go out for dinner which was lovely. The rooms were clean and a good size, our only criticism would be the bathroom which was quite old, but the rest we could not fault. Lovely cool outside pool which was a delight in 105F and the breakfasts were the best we have come across in our trip from UK. Good price too, we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSchorr, Director of Sales at Sunday House Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

We are constantly working to make our hotel comfortable
and to make our guests feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We loved that The Sunday House Inn was right on Main St. so we could walk to shops, museums and restaurants. But we were blown away by the hotel's wonderful service. The staff was so friendly and helpful - the place had a small town friendly feeling that you don't get at big chains, and they bent over backwards to make us feel at home. The rooms were spacious, very clean and comfortable; the pool was pristine and the kids really enjoyed it! Because this was our family reunion, we reserved the conference room - it worked perfectly for our group! The whole family is ready to come back again soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSchorr, Director of Sales at Sunday House Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review. We here at the Sunday House truly
value our customers. It is our main goal to make them feel at home and
really want them to be comfortable and looked after.

We are so glad we made you feel this way.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and hope you visit Fredericksburg
again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Checked in very late on a Saturday night, all we needed was a place to sleep because we were leaving very early in the morning. Would have given it 5 stars but the maids had left a wash towell from a previous guest hanging in the shower tub. Other than that, everything was quite satisfactory.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swTXSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSchorr, Director of Sales at Sunday House Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Thank you for your recent stay with us, it was a pleasure to have you. I am glad you
enjoyed your stay, please call us at anytime for either a reservation or any town or event
information you may need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
0.2 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunday House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunday House Inn

Property: Sunday House Inn
Address: 501 E Main St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4615
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunday House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunday House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunday House Inn Hotel Fredericksburg
Sunday Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing