We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Motorcycle Group Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunday House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunday House Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Motorcycle Group Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed here 11/15 & 11/16. Really enjoyed our stay. Will come back and stay again for sure. Be sure to check out the breakfast buffet and sit by the open fire pit by the pool looking out on main street. A great high-lite!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy1of10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    146
    73
    24
    31
See reviews for
116
147
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Visited Fredericksburg on Sept 27 and 28 to attend a high school reunion at the Hampton Inn. Having accumulated some points on one of our credit cards, I booked the Sunday House for two nights for FREE. Now, when you're getting "something for nothing", you don't know what to expect. Might this be a broom closet with a hose and an air mattress?? No way! I got a suite! I was supposed to have a roommate, but she couldn't make it so I was there by myself. I was able to park my car right in front of the elevator to my suite on the second floor. I walked into a very nice "living room" with a desk and a nice big TV. On this desk was a welcome card addressed to me with a little bag of candies. There was a dressing area next with a nice long counter, sink and coffee service. Across from that was a closet area and then a good sized bathroom. Next was the huge bedroom with two queen beds and an even bigger TV and another desk.

Everything was very clean and comfortable. Now, this is an older hotel and definitely isn't the Ritz, but there has been a lot of recent renovation and some still ongoing. It is a great location, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay here again! Thank you Sunday House!

PS: I had stayed here before in 2007 and enjoyed that stay, too. At that time, the airlines had managed to delay one of my suitcases and it had to be delivered to the hotel. They were very kind to accept it for me and even offered to supply anything I might be missing. The staff just goes above and beyond.

Room Tip: A lot of this hotel isn't serviced by elevators, so if you can't handle stairs, request a fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carsicknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giddings, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were "put out in the street" by another hotel (Bed and Brew above the Brewery) because we had 2 kids and they didn't allow kids, something that they didn't tell us when we booked the reservation months in advance. Luckily for us the wonderful people at Sunday House do and were so very friendly over the phone while trying to find a hotel and while were checking in. The woman checking us in even apologized for the behavior of the other hotel because she didn't want us to think that everyone here was so rude. Sunday House is in the process of updating the rooms and we were lucky enough to get an updated one which was great and it was also nice and clean. Sunday House is proof that hospitality and customer service do still exist. I'd absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkalbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last year when we went to Octoberfest in Fredericksburg tx. It's an awesome location and the staff is great, but it's a very old motel and the beds were awful. They were the old "motel mattresses " that were hard as a rock. The room smelled old and musty. It was over priced for the quality but not for the location. It's next to everything.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The room was clean, beds comfortable, there was a good continental breakfast with plenty of choices and the price was right. Betty at the front desk was very helpful. There was a mix up on our reservation, not due to them, but fortunately she was able to accommodate us. The hotel is walking distance to many shops and restaurants on Main Street. We will definitely stay at the Sunday House Inn again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebLynnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSchorr, Manager at Sunday House Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review

We appreciate our guests and always try to put your enjoyment
and comfot first.

Call anytime and happy holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights and this was our first stay in this hotel but not nearly our first visit to Fredericksburg, We had somewhat high expectations for this hotel due to numerous good reviews on Tripadvisor. We were let down by the time we left although it did not have a bearing on our fun in Fredericksburg, We arrived around 3:30 and were given our room number and key card and went across the parking lot to check it out.We got one of the completed rooms that had been renovated on the parking level near the street.We noticed immediately on entering that the king bed had a huge sag in the middle, and sat on it and it felt like they had recycled an old mattress in this room.We needed a firmer mattress so we walked back across the lot to ask the desk clerk if there was another room with a firmer mattress,The clerk gave us another key card to check out another room and this one was much better,with a much firmer mattress, so we accepted this room which was in a much better location anyway, away from the busy street/highway. Shouldn't the clerk assign their better rooms in the same category according to first arrival? I think so! Although the rooms are remodeled, they are still arranged in an older style with very small bathrooms.The one we had came with a loud bathroom fan, on the same switch as the light, that squealed and had to be left off as much as possible.The hotel has a pool on the street with no hot tub.There was a firepit feature which was very nice near the pool and a group of us mingled and sat together beside this until after 10pm on a Friday night after we all returned from dinner. Problem is that on Saturday night we began to gather again around dark and were enjoying visiting when the fire shut down at about 8:30. We asked about getting it turned back on and were told that there was nothing that they could do about it and that it was under corporate control.Really, the hotel doesn't have control of the gas for the firepit whether on or off? What if there is an emergency? We were not being loud at all and were really enjoying meeting new people on a cool night. When I asked if there was not a number where they could get in touch with someone that DID have control, the woman clerk got very rude about it with no apology and basically a tough luck attitude. Another man there tried to ask about the situation and was met with the same attitude. So, the group broke up with it being cold with no longer a fire to sit around.I told her my recourse was to write a review on Tripadvisor, and she said well,go ahead, so I have. We may or may not stay here again, but had their/her attitude been different we probably would just because the location is good, but other than that, there are better hotels in Fredericksburg.With some new staff and a more accomodating attitude,this could be a charming hotel.On a final note, the breakfast room seemed like an after thought with folding card tables and no tables for two or 4 but all for 6 or more.The older woman working in there could not keep up but she surely did the best she could, drink pitchers were empty and coffee not filled.There were pastries and waffle maker, etc.Enough to hold you over until you could get to some great food in town right down the street. Oh, and there is no ice machine.They will sell you some for 2.00 a bag though!

Room Tip: make sure you get a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chext57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSchorr, Manager at Sunday House Inn, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
We certainly try to please everyone of our guests. The rooms
Are assigned at the time the reservation is being made. This
Is always the time for any special requests to be presented to
The clerk.
I am sorry that the mattress in the first room was not to your
liking but I am very glad that upon trying another room you found
one that was firmer.
As for the matter of the Firepit I have discussed it with
Upper management and have been assured that the cut off
Time is to be 10 pm this is set up on automatic timers that
Are not controlled by any front desk staff There was a
Malfunction in the control and this situation has been addressed.
I am very sorry if any staff member came across rudely to you
It is and always has been very important to us to treat our guests
With the utmost respect.
I am also sorry that you missed the ice machine if you stayed
In the back section you drove right by it, it is in the Tunnel
Leading to that section. We only sell ice for Anyone needing a
cooler filled up, such as ones visiting Enchanted Rock, or just
for the trip home. Once again I am sorry you were disappointed
and we only wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Judy and her staff made certain that we had everything we needed for our vintage car rally. Rooms are fairly priced, clean and beds felt new and most comfortable. We had a good conference space for our communal gatherings, but mostly congregated around the fire pit in the evenings. All in all, a very pleasant place for our event--already planning to do it again! Thanks, Judy, for helping to make our event a success. Our drivers truly appreciated your hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSchorr, Manager at Sunday House Inn, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review

We truly appreciate our guests and only want them to have a
wonderful time when they visit Fredericksburg.

Please call me anytime and we will get you set up for another
terrific weekend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
0.2 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#2 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fredericksburg
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fredericksburg
#8 of 25 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunday House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunday House Inn

Property: Sunday House Inn
Address: 501 E Main St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunday House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunday House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunday House Inn Hotel Fredericksburg
Sunday Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing