We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel & updated.”
Review of Sunday House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunday House Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We wanted a place just for two nights and didn't want to pay nearly $200 a night that LaQuinta wanted. We found this nice, Mom & Pop place that has been recently updated. It's not fancy but it's clean, updated and great for a weekend trip.

It is a motel so we did have to drive to a spot close to our room, park and walk upstairs, luggage in tow. But it was worth the savings.

There is a continental breakfast. Again, you do have to go outside and it's located near the front of the motel. It was comparable to most continental breakfast.

Also would have liked to see bottled water in the vending machines - all they had was soda.

I think the only thing that bugged us were the motorcycles - they liked to rev their motors! But motorcyclists are pretty common in Fredericksburg no matter where you are. Just wish they could have been a little more respectful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room downstairs and in the rear of the property.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DbeJeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
There are newer reviews for Sunday House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights. Room was clean, modern, and comfortable. Bed was comfortable with pillows marked firm and soft. We asked for extra bath towels, and received them with a smile. Desk staff was very friendly and informative. Room had a flat screen tv, refrigerator and microwave. Inn is located on the main drag, but did not have any road noise. (Rm#122) Perfect spot to walk to galleries, restaurants, museums and shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed one Saturday night in March and was extremely satisfied. Rooms were immaculate, nicely renovated, and even the parking area looked like it had been re-done. Hotel is located at the end of the main shopping street, so you can park here to check in and then walk everywhere. The office staff was helpful and efficient. We didn't have breakfast there but I understand it's free. A coffee maker and Hair dryer are provided. The fire pit by the pool is a nice evening gathering place. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with the renovated room, which was clean and comfortable. In addition, the property is in the downtown area, making it easy to walk to dinner and entertainment. It a motel, with outside entrance and parking, but the rate was better than most places we checked, so overall we liked it. This is the place we will probably return to whenever we are in Fredericksburg. Looks like they are continuing to update with a new pool as well. Free breakfast is standard, but nice to have available. B&L J

Room Tip: If you can't climb stairs, ask for a first floor room.(Not sure if there is an elevator or not...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is an older motel that has been updated very nicely. The biggest plus was the room. It was very clean, modern and spacious. The flat screen TV had a very good selection of channels. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The air conditioner/heater maintained a comfortable room temperature. All lamps had electrical plugs for laptops and cell phones. The Wi-Fi was free and quite adequate. The location was within walking distance of all of the main street shops. We did not use the pool, but it looked nice enough. The complimentary breakfast was merely average. Hard boiled eggs were the only protein available. The Hampton Inn next door is much nicer and newer, but if you'd like to save a few dollars, the Sunday House Inn is a very good choice for accomodations. We will stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms are upstairs and downstairs. I didn't see an elevator, but do inquire, if stairs are a pr...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rocky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had a very nice relaxing stay for the Valentine's day weekend. Thanks to the staff for the great service, welcoming sweets, and a clean relaxing place to stay. Enjoyed the campfires next to the pool in the evening. With living in a major city the light and nearby Main street was

Room Tip: Definitely worth the extra cost for the larger and better placed executive or deluxe rooms.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank d1txfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Check in was nice and quick. Room was nice but not great. Curtains were not hooked had to jam furniture against wall to block light.
Breakfast was included and was ok but nothing to write home about. Lady staffing the room sat their soliciting tips with sad looks and tales.
Hotel is on the Eastern edge of the shopping district so it is a bit of a walk to see the whole area.
WiFi is included but was very spotty/in and out, very frustrating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
865 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
845 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#13 of 25 in Fredericksburg
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
Best Western Plus Fredericksburg
#6 of 25 in Fredericksburg
593 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunday House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunday House Inn

Address: 501 E Main St, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-4615
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range: £90 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunday House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunday House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunday House Inn Hotel Fredericksburg
Sunday Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing