We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice hospitality and good food.”
Review of Full Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Full Moon Inn
Ranked #14 of 80 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good location, nice hospitality and good food.”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Our hosts were very helpful getting us headed in the right direction, for things to do in Fredericksburg. The pancakes were great, French toast was soso. Our room had its own bathroom and was very private. We had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob_Davidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    10
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
17
86
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed at the Full Moon Inn during our honeymoon. Matt and Jenny do a wonderful job. We stayed i the Cypress Room that had a jacuzzi and a fireplace. the porch attached to our room is fabulous. We were surrounded by the treetops and hill country vista. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The porch located off the cypress room is a beautiful view. Make u go to breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I guess I should start with what went right at the Full Moon Inn. The breakfast is extremely good and the location, if you're going to Lukenbach is ideal. Other than that, I feel we were totally robbed.

Upon arrival, we were ushered into the main house, cluttered with baby toys and sundry other things through the living room to a small hallway type office in the back. After the check-in process was completed we were shown to our room, the Coral Room. It is very dated and lacks the amenities that a $175 a night room should have. Simple things like a shower, working fireplace, working light bulbs and toilet seat. The bathtub (jacuzzi) is in the bedroom with a shower handle hanging over the side of the tub. There are hooks attached to the ceiling for some unknown reason. After getting a full briefing on the operations of the fireplace, Matt left. We went to dinner and came "home" to find the pilot light had gone out. So I followed Matt's instructions to the "T" with no luck. So, at 9:30 in the evening, I called to have him come out to assist in lighting the fireplace. He was very short on the phone and then when he arrived we could tell he was just a little bit upset with having to come out to help us. He banged away at the fireplace and got it lit and then stormed out without even a "good night". Fine customer service. Well, about 3 minutes after he left the fireplace went out, completely on it's own. I figured it was just easier to live without it than make THAT call again and risk the wrath of Matt. So the next morning, I advised him of the issue, after breakfast. He was much more pleasant and advised he would work on it. We left for the day and enjoyed our time in and around Fredericksburg.

Upon returning to the room in the evening to freshen up and get ready for dinner, we found that not only were the above mentioned items missing, but there was NO MAID SERVICE. Really??? For $175 a night, no maid service??? I highly recommend you try another place out, for the price these people are charging. There are literally a hundred better places than the Full Moon Inn.

Room Tip: Choose one at a different B & B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank plinebaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper2205, Owner at Full Moon Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
We are happy to provide a response:
#1 The Coral Room is not dated. All of our rooms' decor is updated frequently. Our amenities are listed on our website, so every guest is aware of the amenities and the price before booking the room.

#2 The Shower in the Coral Room is located in the Jacuzzi tub. Guests are aware of this before booking our Jacuzzi rooms.

#3 After reading this review, the Coral Room was inspected for burned out light bulbs, and there were none. This is a false statement.

#4 All of our rooms have toilet seats. This is a false statement.

#5 The hooks attached to the ceiling were used for a canopy over the bed that has now been removed. The hooks were also removed.

#6 Maid service: The Full Moon Inn does not offer maid service. We do not enter our guest's rooms at any time after the check in process. If a guest needs any extra towels, soap, etc, we are happy to provide for those needs.

#7 Now I would like to address the fireplace issue. Sometimes the safety feature, called a thermocouple, will fail. The thermocouple has been replaced, but on Saturday morning we were unable to "order" and have the new part shipped until after the weekend.

Matt was not "short" with the guests. When they called at 930pm Matt was WHISPERING due to a sleeping baby. We are very sorry that a guest would think we were being rude by simply whispering. We have owned and successfully operated this B&B for 20 years. We have very good reviews We do aim to please so from now on we will not be allowing our guests to come through the living room. Guests will check in directly at the office entrance. Our 10 month old twins do play with toys in our home, so now the guests will not have to see our children's toys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Full Moon Inn with no B&B exp. we loved it got away from the city and had a blast hearing Matt's stories. We plan to come back and stay again not sure when but if you like a place near Fredericksburg but not near main st this is your place about 5 mins away from all that main st has to offer. Matt was very nice to recomend some places as well as some things to do. I loved their breakfast and would go just for that all and all it was a great first bed and breakfast experience and we would love to do it again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPhariss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We’ve visited Fredericksburg many times, but this was the first time we’ve stayed at the Full Moon Inn. We loved it and plan to stay here on our future visits to the area. It’s perfect – you experience the gorgeous Hill Country, while still being very close to town. The suites and cottages have all the amenities, but are filled with Hill Country character. The proprietor is a long-time resident (and foodie) who provides excellent advice on the best restaurants, attractions, and things to do in the area. Breakfasts are wonderful – the Luckenbach eggs and sweet potato pancakes alone are worth the trip. We’re already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Our entire family of 18 people stayed at the Full Moon Inn during the Christmas holidays. We chose this Inn because they let us bring our children and our dogs. Matt and Ginny showed us true Texas hospitality. During the stay, it seems that we were always in need of something we forgot....dog food, tylenol, etc. and the Inn happily was able to cater to all our needs. We stayed in the Log cabin with our kids and our other family members took up all the other rooms. Everyone was happy, even my hard to please mother in law. Breakfast was served to us in the dining room, and they even took special requests for a gluten free person that was with us and a diabetic. You can actually bathe in the tubs at the Full Moon Inn, everything is THAT clean.

The Full Moon Inn has a creek on the grounds that our kids were able to go fishing in, and they have an outdoor stage. Our large group brought a kareoke machine, and we hung out together and sang each night. We are planning a family reunion in the Summer and will come here again. It was only a few minutes away from Main Street in Fredericksburg too.

Room Tip: The Log Cabin is perfect if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownsvilleMom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

The area was very pretty and quiet. I have never done a negative review, but, had too with this one. The Coral Room was in such disrepair, I was shocked they charged so much for it. We arrived in the main house to check in and were greeted with Matt and Ginny's kids and toys everywhere! Not a very welcome sight for the weary traveler! We were asked to go into a small area to pay for our stay, which was a mess as well with paper, toys and kids. We got to our room, which was 70's decor at best, not the typical B & B. Our bathroom door was broken and we were told to use two hands to move it back and forth.......What?? I told Matt the price of this room $175.00 was high for having to move our door in this manner so he removed the door and brought up a shower curtain to give us privacy..... The door under the sink was broken, no toilet seat cover, the shades were difficult to move up and down to get a view to the outside, the fireplace stopped working the second night, there was not enough hot water our first night, the coffee cups for our use were dirty. There were picture hooks in the walls where pictures should have been, eye hooks still in the ceiling for?? The room below us took up the whole bottom floor, had a full kitchen, table and chairs, full refrigerator, large bathroom and good sized bedroom all for 25$ more than what we paid?? How is that balanced pricing? Matt gave us a bottle of wine for the inconvenience with the door, which was a nice gesture. The breakfast was good and the directions to restaurants with good food was spot on, the grounds were quiet and well kept, otherwise, we will not be back. I would not recommend this B & B unless they lower their prices significantly and fix the items mentioned to allow for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank t p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeper2205, Owner at Full Moon Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
The review posted is not accurate. First of all we had family here for the holidays and and all of our children were celebrating Christmas , so yes the toys were out. We have a office were this couple checked in and yes its a busy time and so it was not perfect.
The Bathroom Pocket door was destroyed by previous guests , However we could not get a carpenter to come and repair/replace the door during Christmas, so I was able to rehang the door , but you had to use two hands to close it, So that was unacceptable to this guest , So I removed the door for this guest and put up a curtain within 15 minutes of them checking in to their room. The door under the sink is not broken.The toilet seat is a commercial seat and does not have a cover. This unit has a 90 gallon water heater and in 16 years no one has ever run out of Hot water.The fire place works fine, they turned off the pilot light and could not restart it which is very simple to restart. However all they had to do was ask me to come and relight it But they did not. The pricing on that room is based on the fact that it has a Jacuzzi tub and fire place , The suite below does not have those amenities.
We regret this couple could not be satisfied , My wife and I work very hard to make sure everyone has a great experience. During the Holidays is especially hard there is alot of folks with no family or cannot be with family and emotions are tense.
The door has been fixed as of January 3rd , We have changed our check in area to just the office and will not allow anyone to come into Our front home door anymore. What ashame we always want to make folks feel like they are part of our extended family.
Regards,
Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
9.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fredericksburg
9.2 mi away
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
Fredericksburg Inn & Suites
#4 of 25 in Fredericksburg
834 reviews
9.3 mi away
Inn on Barons Creek
Inn on Barons Creek
#3 of 25 in Fredericksburg
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
A Barn at the Quarry B&B
#11 of 80 in Fredericksburg
57 reviews
9.2 mi away
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
Peach Tree Inn & Suites
#1 of 25 in Fredericksburg
432 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hoffman Haus
Hoffman Haus
#8 of 80 in Fredericksburg
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Inn

Property: Full Moon Inn
Address: 3234 Luckenbach Rd, Fredericksburg, TX 78624-7471
Region: United States > Texas > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Full Moon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For 24 years the Full Moon Inn is a Traditional Bed and Breakfast in Fredericksburg Texas.Our rooms are clean and super comfortable and when you check in, you are greeted by the owners and concierge to the best attractions and restaurants. Established in 1992 the Inn has served a full hot breakfast for all our guests. We are located just minutes away from the 290 wine corridor where the Texas Wine Trail offers 18 wineries and wine tastings. We are just 1/2 mile from Luckenbach Texas Dance Hall. Minutes away from Fredericksburg Trade Days,The Wildseed Farm and Main Street Fredericksburg Dining & Shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Full Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Hotel Fredericksburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing