We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newer Management, Better Place, Especially for Soccer”

Irish Rover - Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 420 Restaurants in Frisco
Price range: US$9 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Newer Management, Better Place, Especially for Soccer”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Irish Rover has some of the same staff, but a newer manager and a newer and better menu. The numerous TVs (over 15) are on soccer on most soccer game days, and there's enough to go around for other sports on their game days.
I've had the new menu Swiss mushroom burger, the Irish steak and frites, and the lemon-pepper salmon plates - both are great, and good portions of food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EWPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    15
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“This is a good addition to the glut of Frisco restaurants!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I really liked this place! It's pretty dark, but it reminds one of an old style pub. Tons of beer selections and my favorite meal is the fish and chips. I asked for them to fry the fish "very crispy" and it really was! Excellent fries and all of the desserts my friends and I tried were very yummy. Check out their website to get their daily drink specials, which I think there are. Good place to hang out with friends and watch some games.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FemaleTraveler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“It's Official!! I'm a Regular and can you say new Menu coming?! Shhh..”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

What can I say!? I love this place! I have yet to try something I didn't like here. I have yet to be served by someone who is anything less than awesome! I heard a rumor of new menu items coming that sound out of this world and I can't wait to try them! If you're new to the area, this is an awesome place to make new friends, especially on Tuesday and Sunday Poker nights with Community card Player, where you can learn to play poker for free in a fun atmoshphere and enjoy great food and awesome people! Come down, have fun and tell them Joe sent you!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“You should check it out”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Great burgers, good drinks, priced right, and the live music is pretty good.

Not the best family place but a good adult spot to have a drink and grab a bite.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
495 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Laid back, comfortable”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The Rover is one of those places that whether you go in every week or it's your first time, you feel comfortable. Everyone that works there is real friendly, and attentive. They have a lot of televisions, so whatever game you want to watch, it's on. If It's not, they'll put it on for you. There are a couple of pool tables and a small darts area, but for the most part it's just a great place to sit with friends and hang out. Look for live music on Saturdays. They also have limited outdoor seating. They have a decent beer selection. It's not expansive on tap, but they do have some gems in there. The bartenders are very good too, and can handle any mixed drink or shot you want. Their drink prices are in line with this area, but could be considered a little high depending on where you're from or what you're used to. A couple of beers and a couple of shots will run you around $20. They have a large menu, full of "bar food" staples, some Irish favorites, and some dishes that really stand out like the Chicken Curry. Their food exceeds in quality what you often expect for bar food. It's very good and priced in line with most casual restaurants. If you go, it's the kind of place you're sure to go back often.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TrueTexasTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Irish Rover - Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Irish Rover - Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing