We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms smell bad and paper thin walls. Dog in next room barked all night.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fulton
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rooms smell bad and paper thin walls. Dog in next room barked all night.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

Staff was good however owner was very rude. After agreeing on a rate at check in, I noticed the day rate was $10/day higher at checkout. Owner refused to go with original rate. I have contacted the main Best Western number to file a complaint. I also will never stay there again.
Complaint- paper thin walls. The dog in next room barked whenever I made a move in my room. Parking is not good. Musky smell in room.

Room Tip: Owner very rude-no social skills
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmsa1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    35
    15
    21
    28
See reviews for
50
35
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Emmaus
Level Contributor
600 reviews
237 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

A very nice place, with large clean rooms on nicely landscaped grounds. The room was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was very good - freshly cooked eggs & bacon, grits, and biscuits and gravy.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

The location was convenient but sat directly on a busy road. The check in staff were helpful and polite. The room was clean and surprisingly large. It had fairly fresh paint, exhibited no obvious signs of disrepair, and was in overall good condition. I usually don't notice bed quality but these beds really were tough to sleep on. The neighbor's shower emitted a jet-engine whine louder than none I had ever heard before. It drowned out the TV and once scared us from sleep when it began to howl at 5:00 A.M. We showed at breakfast at 08:55 AM the first morning and got in line to place our order with the cook (quite an annoying system). At 09:10, as we were next in line, we were told the we would not be fed since breakfast is over at 9:00. I have never been treated like that in 25 years of travel. At least throw us together a few hash browns. I bet the stray cat outside got fed. The promising landscaping job needed about an hours worth of attention to bring above abandoned-house level but the weeds were at least very green and healthy. Housekeeping came by so late in the afternoon that we refused service. As we checked out we were not asked how our stay was -- a question that I imagine the staff had quickly learned to avoid.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RodgerJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fulton hotels

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast very good hot and cooked for you courtyard attractive, only stayed onenight but would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dundas-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

I'd been there a few years before and returned for a weekend of fishing and "not being at work". The hotel is friendly, relaxing and in a great location. Maybe not the ideal place for teens and youngsters who need a lot to do, but great for those who want a slow paced comfortable place to call base for the weekend. The courtyard is beautiful and conversations are easy. One of the best things was the breakfast - real eggs, pancakes, hashbrowns cooked when you place the order. One negative - I booked on-line for $65 a night and the manager added $2.50 per night - when questioned he said, "that's the rate". $5 more isn't too much, but it isn't the advertised rate!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solar-sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2010

Unfortunately I would not recommend this hotel to my friends. I will start out by saying we stayed there over Christmas for 6 nights and the hotel seemed eye pleasing from the road. Once in the room - which came with a small kitchen, we noticed that it was quite dirty. There were crumbs on the counter tops and the fridge door was covered in spots of dirt. The beds were only made up twice by the cleaning staff. I did leave money for a tip on the pillow everyday but would come back after leaving the hotel at 10am and be back by 8pm and the tip was still on the pillow and the room was not made up. On Christmas morning I left a nice tip on the pillow with a note saying thank you and Merry Christmas. I did get a nice note back saying thanks and the room was made up very nice. I found it concerning that the room was only made up twice in the 6 nights.
I had to call room service to come clean up the room the 4 other times.
The front desk area closes up like Fort Knox at 9pm. They don't even let you in the building, they open a little drive thru window to talk to you and you cannot use the house computer either after 9pm. (Bad area?) I didn't think so but maybe it is.
So, if you got no where else to go... go to the hotel across the street... it is no doubt more expensive but a much nicer stay.
We should have.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilingmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

I travel a lot by myself for business, but with family we make sure we get the best and lots of thanks to our friends that they recommend us Best western Inn by the bay at fulton. We don't mind spending on leisure travelling as we just want the best..But this hotel turned out to be the best in its own category as it was very affordable and we got so much after spending very little. All the newly renovated room were spik & span. Hotel staff was very kind and couteous and hot breakfast was really awesome. In short, we got the deal before black friday. :)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fulton
0.9 mi away
Lighthouse Inn at Aransas Bay
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rockport - Fulton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn At Fulton Harbor
Inn At Fulton Harbor
#1 of 4 in Fulton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rockport
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rockport / Bay View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay

Property: Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay
Address: 3902 North Highway 35, Fulton, TX 78358
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Fulton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fulton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn By The Bay Hotel Rockport
Best Western Fulton
Fulton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing