We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT worth the money!”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I will give them credit the room was clean. We go to set the room unit and the dial to set the thermostat was broke. Ladies beware...The toilet was NOT bolted tightly to the floor and rocked around along with the toilet seat that slid out from under neath me. Next came the bath. Kicking back and relaxing sounded good till you turned the hot water on to find it spraying out all over the the handle. You had to cover your hand with a towel to keep from burning your self to shut it of. I took a picture of the hot water faucet, needless to say it was too blurry.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

We didn't want to spend a fortune for a night at Winstar. MISTAKE!!!! The highway construction to get into the hotel should have sent us away but we were determined! We had been looking forward to soaking in the hot tub for hours! Someone had run into and crumbled the support column for the entrance, but the lobby was clean and "efficient". Checked into the room and was pleasantly surprised at cleanliness and appearance. Went back to scope out the hot tub and pool. That is where the eek, comes in. It was disgusting! No water, only trash and what appeared to be seepage in the hot tub. Pool was green. Ok, fine. What do you expect from your 65 bucks. Tried to sleep and the smell of chlorine bleach from the bedding was so strong I was up all night. No rest. Disaster. Will NEVER GO BACK. KEEP DRIVING AND PAY FOR A MORE PLEASANT NIGHT. TRIP ADVISOR. MAKE HOTELS POST CURRENT PHOTOS OR DON'T POST ANY AT ALL. VERY MISLEADING ADVERTISING.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmom617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

This pet friendly motel was a good find. (They do charge a pet fee and upon checkout, they then asked how many dogs and attempted to charge a fee for each dog.) There is a nice laDrge grassy area for dogs to exercise as well as a picnic table. The room was clean and equipped with a refrigerator, microwave, and hair dryer. The sink/vanity has been recently updated and is nice and spacious. The bathroom has not been updated and the shower did not work well when trying to change the water from into the tub to the shower head.
There is only one restaurant nearby, Luigi's, which the lady at the front desk recommended and it was surprisingly good. They do not serve alcohol but you are welcome to bring your own.
This was a good find and I would not hesitate to stay here again. As for the value, I used points for the room, so if you are a Choice Privilege member, this is a Choice Privilege motel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idabob5426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I can't express how disappointed we were when we checked in to this motel. Check out the photo's uploaded by the tripadvisor members. Compare the photos on the official Rodeway web site with those uploaded.

I was planning on going up to Winstar to play poker while the wife went to the local outlet mall, and spent some time in the hot tub. Local outlet mall only has 2 stores still open, and you can see from the pictures, I wouldn't let my fish swim in the stagnant water in the bottom of this hot tub, and the water in the nearby Red River is cleaner than the water in the pool (see pic).

The most amazing thing to me, is I can't understand why we didn't check right back out after we got there.

Good luck.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redrhinorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The pictures that they provide for this hotel are not accurate. The property condition was dismal. When we stayed they had been remodeling. Rather then rent a commercial trash can or even attempt to dispose of the garbage, furniture, old mattresses in an area out of sight or off to the side, they through it all of the entire property & even into the roadways. The hot tub didn't even have water and to get to the swimming pool you had to walk through the trash stacked on both sides of the pool fencing. If you made it into the pool area alive, getting into the water would probably be the end of you. Breakfast was suppose to be served until 9am but was already put away by 8:45am. The room was suppose to be non-smoking but reeked of cigarette. The bed didn't have have a fitted sheet. It was covered with a flat sheet tucked into the sides of the bed. I tried to talk to customer service and give them a chance to make this right. No one ever contacted me.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisasblessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

If you want to stay next to a hole in wall night club stay here. Pool has water but it is green. Really run down.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bigalo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I made reservations at this motel based on Trip Advisor reviews. When we pulled in to the driveway, my husband gave me that looked that means "you screwed up on this one." Indeed, at first glance, I thought maybe he was right. It is a small place with the look of the 1960's. But since affordable hotels near the local casino are few and far between I went on into the office. I sort of thought I might have to try to get my money back. But when I stepped into the lobby the first thing that hit me was the clean smell. A beautiful black and white tile floor looked like it had just been the recipient of a good mopping! This tiny motel has been completely remodeled to look like a small, but upscale hotel complete with an old fashion looking wooden hotel desk, Victorian style furnishings and a small free breakfast area with tables. (We didn't try that... slept late.)
The room was really nice... cozy, pillow top mattress, four pillows, TV, desk w/internet, microwave, coffee pot, iron and board, telephone, etc. Everything new and CLEAN and all for just $66 incl. tax and senior discount!
On the down side... the bed needed a blanket between the top sheet and the bedspread, there was one drawer in the bureau which was somewhat broken, the ironing board cover needed replacing, and there was a small leak around the hot water knob in the tub. But really... those are pretty minor things. It's not the Hilton, but the comfort quality was comparable and for the price you can't beat it!
WE WOULD DEFINITELY STAY HERE AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adkhs3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gainesville
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Gainesville TX
Super 8 Gainesville TX
#3 of 12 in Gainesville
233 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Gainesville
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Gainesville
Comfort Suites Gainesville
#4 of 12 in Gainesville
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Best Western Red River Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gainesville
7 mi away
Red River Inn & Suites
Red River Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Thackerville
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 2103 N Interstate 35, Gainesville, TX 76240-2005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range: £42 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing