We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full of Character - we loved the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Full of Character - we loved the hotel”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed at the hotel on a recent vacation to Texas, prior to returning home. We now wish we had stayed longer.
The hotel's location is on the sea front - we had a seaview. The room was well furnished with a comfortable bed and very clean.
We did not use the restuarant or breakfast service as there we a number of local option available.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Thank you for your comments and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. The Gulf water views are great this time of year as you saw. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,938
    994
    456
    204
    142
See reviews for
1,172
1,545
106
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
THE WOODLANDS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We had one of the best stays we have had in many years at this hotel. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone planning a trip to Galveston in the future or now.
My Compliments to the Staff and the Hotel Management for a wonderful stay.
Kenny
Texas

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwsp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2011

When you pull up to the Galvez it is so majestic and the windows and grounds are so beautiful. The lobby to the rooms make you feel like you are at home. We had a great time at the pool - the staff was so friendly and attentive. We have been there before and will continue to go back!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elephantmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Yes, the room is small, but everything is easy to access and plenty of room for a couple. Fifth floor king, city view was quiet even though we were fairly close to the elevators. No street noise. The parking garage is across the street. Valet is available, but easy to self park unless you have a trouble crossing the street and walking a few hundred yards. There is not much of a lobby bar scene here if you are hoping for a night spot, but good for a quick drink. The pool bar is pretty standard food and drinks---I would not suggest asking for anything unusual; a request for a Rum Runner with an extra shot of spiced rum ran a whopping $20 for a small plastic cup filled with mostly ice. Otherwise, service was excellent and pleasant. The free bikes available for use were a great plus as we enjoy biking the seawall which is easily accessed from the hotel. There is a shuttle available, but we did not use the service. The Galvez is one of the few older hotels in town and unlike the Tremont located downtown on The Strand, the Galvez has nice beach access and a great pool area. They also have very good mid-week (and sometimes weekend) deals for 100-150.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hain007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Thanks for your comments. I am glad you liked your room and understand that historic hotel rooms tend to be smaller but The Galvez has been updated and furnished like the Four Diamond hotel we are. Glad you used the bikes - we replace them every year with new ones and just did so last week. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Booked a room for my elderly mom for a getaway for her and they put her next to the ice machine which made noise all night. Other ADA room options were next to the elevator!! Room had obviously been redone ( not particularly well) to comply with ADA mandates. Very disappointing!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerthaB42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
I am sorry you were disappointed with your mother's room location. Our recently renovated assessable rooms comply with the latest standards for ADA and we offer several room types of these rooms including some with roll in showers. Again, I am sorry we could not offer you a better room location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We stayed here before going on a cruise and they lost our reservation, had to wait but we did get a room. The service was terrible in the restaurant and the front desk agent was not friendly. The only good service we received was from the valet. The A/C in the room was so loud we could not sleep. All this for $200.00 per night. This place was recommended by our travel agent. Bad choice, and we won't stay here again.

Room Tip: There are plenty of places to stay in Galveston.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
I am sorry your stay was not more enjoyable but glad to see our valet and bell staff were helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

My cousin, friend & I stayed at the Hotel Galvez recently. It was a beautiful hotel! There were many "pros" we liked about it but there were a few "cons".

First of all, the hotel is very beautiful & very, very close to the beach. We were greated with wine when we arrived & the desk clerks were very friendly. We had booked a suite on the 8th floor. This was a beautiful 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite with many amenities. The only "cons" we found about our suite was as follows:

1. The noise level - we heard the washer & dryer very loudly which we assumed was somewhere near our suite.
2. There was only one couch to sit on - no additional chairs for being a 2 bed/2 bath suite.
3. The A/C did not work in one of the bedrooms - by the time we discovered this, we had gotten back late so we did not notify the front desk.
4. The hot water was very, very hot & hard to regulate. Considering this is an old hotel, this was not on our top complaint list.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
3.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing