We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$391
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$378
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Galveston Island Resort(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$286
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,267)
Filter reviews
4,267 results
Traveller rating
2,235
1,114
506
248
164
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,235
1,114
506
248
164
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsghost tourrooms are smallbeautiful historic hotelswim up barcity viewacross the streetpool areaself parkingpleasure piercorner roomvalet servicehotel restaurantking bedgulf of mexicosea wallbrunchmelissa
Filter
Updating list...
2,733 - 2,738 of 4,267 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Spent 5 nights here earlier this month during our road trip through Texas. Wonderful seaside location but a little bit of a walk to the Strand, which was difficult with incomplete pavements. The shuttle bus wasn't running as it was the Lone Star Bike Rally weekend. The door staff were very helpful and the free secure parking was very welcome. The pool area was lovely - you wouldn't know that you were right next to the road - and the piano player was a nice touch. Beds were a little small - maybe one bigger bed would be better than two smaller ones - but the coffee in the room was very good. Our main issue was that our room only seemed to be vacuumed once during our stay, which wasn't really great - but the chocolate motorbikes on our pillow after the rally was a lovely surprise!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legionnaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for the kind review on your stay during the Lone Star Rally. We are pleased that you enjoyed the chocolate motorbikes, the pool and ambiance of the hotel. Thanks for the feedback on the room, we'll share that with housekeeping. Please stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed here on a whim for a birthday celebration. Booked the room in advance for beach view. Upon check in we were given a room with a partial view of the beach and partial view of the end of the hotel. After calling the front desk, they sent a porter up and moved us to a different room. Oh what a view. The beach, the seawall, and Pleasure Pier all right there. This is a very historic and nicely renovated hotel with modern amenities.
The staff were always very friendly and accommodating, like they enjoyed their jobs. Always like staying somewhere with history and tis hotel does not disappoint. There are plenty of restaurants of varying types within walking distance or a very short drive. the bed was super comfy and the bathroom was very nice. We will try to stay here on occasion even though we have a cabana on Crystal Beach. It is a nice diversion and we love seeing Galveston at night without having to ride the ferry back over to Crystal Beach where our cabana is.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEFF S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We are so pleased that we were able to accommodate your request for a room change and we love that you enjoyed your view. We look forward to your return stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have just finished our 10 day stay at the hotel today.

We have had a wonderful and relaxing time, and the hotel is amazing. Old Victorian style in the "Grand style", with wonderful lawns out the front, a good sized room with a sea view and free parking next door.

We only have three minor complaints. The carpet was worn in our room, which I've never seen in all the hotels I've stayed in around the world. And as Europeans, we would appreciate an option of a bottomless cofee US style, and coffee shop lattes and cappuccinos, which is almost the standard now in most of Europe, especailly the UK.

Lastly, we understand there is a free to enroll loyalty program, which we were not told about, which is disapponting.

But all in all, an excellt hotel with gracious and helpful staff. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Absolutely stunning.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the historic ambiance and beach view of the hotel. Thank you for sharing your comments on the coffee, we'll make sure that the appropriate staff is informed of your suggestion. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews