We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly Ghostly!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Spicewood, Texas
2 reviews
“Mostly Ghostly!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

It Was A Beautiful Place, The Staff Was Very Nice And Always Had A Smile On Their Face. Me, My Aunt And Sister Went To The Ladies Restroom Downstairs And Its Been Said That 12:00 Is When The Most Paranormal Activity Is Reported. They Say The Stronger The Smell Of Gardinas In The Restroom The More Paranormal Activity. And The Toilets Are NOT Supposed To Flush By Their Selves. My Phone App Had A Ghost Hunter Detector And Said There Was A Ghost Right next To Us. We Were In The Last Stall And No Where Near The Toilet And It Flushed And We Ran Out, Also My Aunt Had Fainted And Fell On The Restroom Floor And My Sister Came And Got Me And My Aunt Didn't Remember Falling Or Anything. It Was Very Exciting. The Pic At The End Of The Hall Of Bernardo Galvez Is Said To Be Haunted By Him And Some people Can See A Skeleton In His Face And His Eyes Are Said To Follow You. The Place Was Very Nice And We Had A Beautiful View Of Outside. Their Pool Has A Bar Were You Can Swim Up To It And They Had An AMAZING Hot Tub. It Was Freezing Outside And That Hot Tub Made It Feel Like Summer. Although.... The Lights In Our Room Kept Going On And Off When We Turnt Them Off And The Light In The Closet Went Out And When My Uncle Looked At It They Were Back On. Some Parts Were Scary But Its A Haunted Hotel So..... And Even Though It Was Scary It Was One Of The Best Times Of My Life. A Great Place To Go On Vacation Or To Just Go Ghost Hunting. They Also Have Bikes That Are Free That You Can Ride On The Seawalk....... Amazing!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis_Torres001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your "ghostly" experience on your stay at Hotel Galvez. You may be interested in our free Ghost Tour App. Look for it in your App Store and you can download it for free. We hope that you will return for our guided ghost tours in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,844
    957
    450
    202
    134
See reviews for
1,139
1,471
102
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

What a gem! Great staff and service at this beautiful historic hotel. Ocean fromt king room was very comfortable with a great bed. This magnificant hotel has a great resturant with many menu choices. I was very pleased with the presentation, taste and service. The weather was too cool to use the pool, but it looked like a very nice place to lounge when the weather is appropriate. Two very big thumbs up to the very nice bar staff.

As a top contributor, I 100% recommend this hotel and will tell everyone who considers visiting Galveston.

Well Done!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachfinder66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for the glowing review on your stay at Hotel Galvez. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope that you will stay with us again very soon. By the way, the pool is heated so even if it's a little chilly you should give it a try. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlett, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Galvez for a romantic retreat. The hotel is gorgeous and the rooms didn't disappoint. My king room had a semi view of the gulf but the weather and fog didn't give me much of a chance to look out the window. Still enjoyed the room and the bed is really comfortable. Decent sized bathroom and the water pressure was wonderful. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet on Sunday morning as well. This is just a great hotel, beautiful inside and out. The staff is accommodating, helpful and courteous. Will being going back to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your romantic retreat with your husband at Hotel Galvez. By the way, you may be interested in our Wedding Vow Renewal in June. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The hotel and food was wonderful and relaxing. I really enjoyed access to the bikes to get around quickly on the seawall. We also spent time in the spa and found all the personnel extremely professional and skilled. My one complaint is the desk person at the spa. I had arrived on time but the rest of my party was delayed by the ice. When I called, she said I could just come with the rest of the group. However, my treatment was cut by more than half because of the delay. I could have been there. I was just upstairs in my hotel room. Very sad.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Galvez and that you were able to enjoy the complimentary bicycles and the spa. Thank you for sharing the issue in the spa. We appreciate your feedback. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
3.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
0.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing