We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay, small room for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed over valentines weekend and was pretty busy. Nice lobby area with a bar and piano music. Rooms are nice but pretty small for the price we paid. We had an issue with valet stealing cheap unimportant things from us, but I will credit the manager for comping a day of valet for us. I really wanted to report the guy responsible but the staff acted clueless and unconcerned when I asked his name. Other than that incident, staff was very courteous. Was a nice stay for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shauna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for sharing both the good and bad aspects of your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We appreciate the feedback. We are also pleased to read that you had a romantic stay during Valentine's Day Weekend. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,965)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,302 - 2,308 of 3,965 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Beautiful Hotel, all staff was pleasant and courteous. We had multiple problems. Very loud high pitched squealing noise all through the night (water pipes), in-house movies wouldn't work, key wouldn't work parking garage gate. Because we pre-paid the bill, through American Express travel, we were only offered a free-upgrade on return. So, spend more money and we will give you and upgrade. Complained to corporate and got the same apology and offer. They need to study Ritz-Carlton's customer satisfaction handling. Done with Wyndham!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank 763Reginald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

We are so sorry to hear about the issues that you experienced at the hotel. We hope that you will consider making a return visit and taking advantage of the offered upgrade. Again, please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Galveston isn't the most glamorous place, so the Hotel Galvez doesn't have too much competition nearby. The location is great for getting to the beach, the hotel itself is very pretty, and the service is great. We stayed here almost entirely because they had a pool bar (IN the pool!) and that was certainly nice, although the pool was almost always filled with just about everyone at the hotel. Our room was fairly small, which is to be expected of an older hotel, although it would have been nice to have something a little larger for the money spent. Overall, a nice stay, although nothing spectacular. Gym was alright, not the best.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will stay with us again soon. Next time, we hope that you take advantage of our complimentary bikes and our beautiful spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

If you are looking for sleek and modern, this isn't your place. If you are looking for a historic hotel with character, Hotel Galvez is it! Yes, the rooms are on the smaller side...but they were probably considered large when the hotel was built over a hundred years ago!

I recently stayed for a week-long business conference, and that length of time can make an unpleasant hotel get old really fast. However, I have only good things to say after my time at Hotel Galvez. Be sure to take a trip through "History Hall" in the basement with Mr. Bobby Lee, a true delight!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

We are so pleased that you had a "great stay" at Hotel Galvez during your week-long conference. And, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your tour with our Guest Ambassador Bobby Hilton. By the way, we have a free audio tour app which is available for both Android and IPhones. Search your app store for the free download.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The Hotel Galvez is showing her age with dirty and stained room carpet, water damaged floor mouldings, chipped and stained bath tubs, etc. The restaurant served me the saltiest food I have ever encountered anywhere, forcing me to take all other meals elsewhere. All of that said, the staff is extremely friendly and work hard to please each and every guest. The hotel fronts the Gulf of Mexico beach, and it features covered structured parking across the street for self-parking. And the hotel remains a grande dame, worth a stay for the flavor and the memories, but not worth the money.

Room Tip: Go for a gulf-view room if you can afford it.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wyomite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for sharing feedback on your stay at the hotel. Comments, such as yours, are helpful in making us aware of certain issues so they can be addressed. We hope that you will give us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

It Was A Beautiful Place, The Staff Was Very Nice And Always Had A Smile On Their Face. Me, My Aunt And Sister Went To The Ladies Restroom Downstairs And Its Been Said That 12:00 Is When The Most Paranormal Activity Is Reported. They Say The Stronger The Smell Of Gardinas In The Restroom The More Paranormal Activity. And The Toilets Are NOT Supposed To Flush By Their Selves. My Phone App Had A Ghost Hunter Detector And Said There Was A Ghost Right next To Us. We Were In The Last Stall And No Where Near The Toilet And It Flushed And We Ran Out, Also My Aunt Had Fainted And Fell On The Restroom Floor And My Sister Came And Got Me And My Aunt Didn't Remember Falling Or Anything. It Was Very Exciting. The Pic At The End Of The Hall Of Bernardo Galvez Is Said To Be Haunted By Him And Some people Can See A Skeleton In His Face And His Eyes Are Said To Follow You. The Place Was Very Nice And We Had A Beautiful View Of Outside. Their Pool Has A Bar Were You Can Swim Up To It And They Had An AMAZING Hot Tub. It Was Freezing Outside And That Hot Tub Made It Feel Like Summer. Although.... The Lights In Our Room Kept Going On And Off When We Turnt Them Off And The Light In The Closet Went Out And When My Uncle Looked At It They Were Back On. Some Parts Were Scary But Its A Haunted Hotel So..... And Even Though It Was Scary It Was One Of The Best Times Of My Life. A Great Place To Go On Vacation Or To Just Go Ghost Hunting. They Also Have Bikes That Are Free That You Can Ride On The Seawalk....... Amazing!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis_Torres001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for sharing your "ghostly" experience on your stay at Hotel Galvez. You may be interested in our free Ghost Tour App. Look for it in your App Store and you can download it for free. We hope that you will return for our guided ghost tours in October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Abraham V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
764 reviews
3.0 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £104 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing