We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel shuts down for Debutante Ball”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We checked in on Friday night for Mardi Gras weekend. We have stayed at the Hotel Galvez in the past and always had a great experience. Saturday night after we returned to the hotel after all the Mardi Gras parades we wanted to order a drink and room service. We approached the bar and one of the hotel staff told us that everything was closed (I mean everything, bathrooms and all) because of the debutante ball. Nothing was ever mentioned to us about this event Friday night when we checked in so Saturday when we left the hotel to enjoy the Mardi Gras festivities. We spoke to the night manager and he told us they had left a letter in our room explaining what was going on but a lot of good that does when you're gone for the entire day. This was completely unexceptable to us. We had never experienced this type of service anywhere, not even the Motel 6, much less a Wyndham Grand Hotel. We expected better from a Wyndam Grand Hotel.

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Billy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

We are sorry to read that you were not aware of the hotel operations in regard to first weekend of Mardi Gras. The hotel's entire lobby and meeting space was booked for a private event by one of Galveston's Mardi Gras krewes. Our front desk staff called all non-krewe guests three days in advance. According to staff, we were only unable to reach one guest who had booked through a third party. However, at check-in, all non-krewe guests were given beads, tickets to the Mardi Gras entertainment district and a letter from our general manager outlining the event and outlet operation hours. The hotel also offered to send drinks to the guests' rooms who were not attending the ball. We feel that our staff made every effort to make guests aware of the private event so please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,461 - 2,467 of 4,129 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

Good experience overall. The mattress was firm for my liking, and the water temperature was inconsistent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

We are pleased to read that overall you had a great experience at Hotel Galvez during the Knights of Momus Ball. We look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Always, we find the facilities, staff and cuisine first class at the Galvez. Grand, historic rooms, a very nice modernization of Bernardo's Restaurant and excellent food. Always a great weekend get-away, with an excellent Spa as well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Dr Scott E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We appreciate your glowing review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We are excited that you appreciate the renovation of the restaurant which is now the Galvez Bar and Grill. We love the new look and ambiance as well as the new menu. Please stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Galvez...despite the fact that I arrived in cold, rainy winter weather. The staff was pleasant and the room was nice (on the small size as one would expect from an older hotel.) Great fitness center and good restaurant service.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank ADM_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for the positive review on your recent stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. Sorry the weather wasn't better but we are glad that you enjoyed the hotel. We hope that you stay with us again when the weather warms up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank JenCat
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Older hotel with alot of ambiance. The rooms are small but adequate, and the decor fits the aged building. Located accross from the beach, and the waterfront rooms have great views. Near restaurants (walking distance) and some shopping.
The staff was pleasant but not over accomodating. Time share is part of this hotel as well.
The lounge and piano bar are nice and relaxing for an evening cocktail. After dark walking very from this hotel isnt recommended.

Room Tip: A view from the waterfront rooms is a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1943Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for the kind review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. As you mentioned, the hotel is on the beachfront and within walking distance of several restaurants as well as the Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier. For your information, the hotel also offers a courtesy shuttle to the historic Strand District and Pier 21. We hope that you will take advantage of our shuttle or courtesy bicycles on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed over valentines weekend and was pretty busy. Nice lobby area with a bar and piano music. Rooms are nice but pretty small for the price we paid. We had an issue with valet stealing cheap unimportant things from us, but I will credit the manager for comping a day of valet for us. I really wanted to report the guy responsible but the staff acted clueless and unconcerned when I asked his name. Other than that incident, staff was very courteous. Was a nice stay for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shauna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for sharing both the good and bad aspects of your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We appreciate the feedback. We are also pleased to read that you had a romantic stay during Valentine's Day Weekend. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.2 mi away
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
8 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £97 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing