We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Pool Bar!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Pool Bar!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After checking out of the San Luis Resort after only 1 night for rude staff, the Hotel Galvez was heaven. The front desk guy was kind and funny and the bartender girl (I'm so sorry I can't remember her name - May 31st 2014) was fantastic! We had a terrific time in town from Atlanta and highly recommend this hotel! It's the only place to stay!

Room Tip: KIng room was cozy and plush with a huge shower! Much better than any other resort in Galveston!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are so pleased that we made your visit to Galveston enjoyable. Despite the rough start at another hotel, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the service and experience at Hotel Galvez & Spa. Please come back to Galveston soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,935
    994
    456
    203
    142
See reviews for
1,170
1,545
105
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
174 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Being in Galveston one generally experiences hot weather. This time temperatures were in the 80s and staying at Hotel Galvez was a good experience with a couple of caveats.

We spent 3 nights in room 500. At first glance we were ecstatic since that room faced the sea and was on a wing that overlooked the the Gulf of Mexico from both room windows. Then we pulled back the curtains and found water deposits made the otherwise great views appear clouded. These are double pane Pella windows designed to withstand hurricane force winds but the constant exposure to sea mist means that any external cleaning lasts just a few days.

Though the windows appear to open they do not so there is no recourse but to savor the view wishing it would clear up. There are some other negative features to what should be a nice Wyndham Resort type room. The room is tiny, being the smallest of any major hotel that I have stayed in. Also in this hot climate there is no frig in the room!! There is a coffee maker of sorts and ice bucket.

The closet is decent sized, but the drawer space is weirdly designed with a few narrow drawers and some really deep open sections, not really drawers. If you want to plug in multiple devices, good luck. The wall plugs are located close to the room door and the desk.

On the plus size, the phone, message system works great; the flat screen TV also is very functional. We had a king bed which was comfortable. The whole room looked quite new. For men, the toilet lid would not stay up by itself. You have to hold it up and that is annoying. Lighting is mainly on a rheostat system which seems like a good idea.

Hotel staff are really helpful and there are two PCs in the lobby that also work very well. We liked the free wifi too because it worked without incident. Hotel Galvez is well located and within walking distance of the 25th street pier and restaurants. Free parking that is enclosed and secured for guests.

I would recommend this hotel but pay attention to the caveats noted.

Room Tip: Pick one that is sea facing, on the end
See more room tips
Green Features: Like some hotels they offer to change sheets every 3 days. No, I do not like that!!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDM77059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We appreciate your thorough review on your recent stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. As you can imagine, historic hotels have some challenges as needs in 1911 are quite different than 2014. Despite the issues you mentioned with the room, we do hope that you enjoyed the experience in our loggia, bar, pool and spa and we hope that you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
276 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Recently stayed here for a banking information convention. I'd rate the lobby with a 6 out of 10, however, my room was a 4 out of 10...and the ferris wheel/entertainment arena was closed! Something the Hotel Galvez representatives should have told us. Quite disappointing and outdated. Glad my wife decided against accompanying me on this business trip... she, too, would have been sorely disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afreebing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Please note that the Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier is now open daily as Galveston is now in full swing in the summer season. We hope that you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Galvez only one night for a brief getaway in Galveston, but we will certainly return. As soon as you approach the hotel you can feel its history. Absolutely gorgeous - friendly staff, updated amenities and an interesting history to go along with it. If you are a history buff you would certainly enjoy the hotel! Be sure to ask for the Galvez booklet at the concierge for more information on the hotel.

Pros: onsite parking; updated and spacious room (we had a second floor "partial view" of the ocean, but it was more than partial view (see pics); decent breakfast buffet (or you can select a la carte, but once you add up price for meal and coffee it makes sense to just go w/ the buffet for $15; beautiful grounds; across from beach and nice souvenir shop.

Cons: none really, our room seemed a little humid when we first arrived, but no big deal.

My husband and I look forward to returning to Galveston and staying at the hotel. We did stay during the week, just before Memorial Day weekend, so the price was great, but I believe it does get quite expensive in peak times.

Room Tip: We had a second floor partial view at the front of the hotel (#332), but were able to see the whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynnace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for describing Hotel Galvez & Spa as a "historic beauty." We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the historic ambiance of the hotel. By the way, the hotel offers a free audio tour app for Smartphones. Just search "Hotel Galvez" in your app store and you'll find a 25-minute history and 20-minute ghost tour. Enjoy! And, we hope that you will stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A step back in time. Flawless visit to this hotel. Traveled from Calgary, Alberta, Canada on a girls trip. Enjoyed a day at the pool had a fabulous massage from Pauline. Enjoyed the museum tour with Bobby. Southern charm and hospitailty top notch! Highly recommend. Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for describing Hotel Galvez & Spa as "simply the best." We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Spa, your tour and our service. We hope that you make this an annual girls trip. Happy summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Hotel had a special 2 months ago that we took advantage of at discounted rate for holiday weekend. The hotel is extremely nice; however, interior room lighting needs work. Reading is difficult, especially after sun sets. I did not like pool area policy of no outside drinks. We had to purchase high priced drinks thru hotel. Location was great and everyone very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesA268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are glad that you were able to take advantage of a special discount and enjoy Hotel Galvez & Spa. As is standard with other hotels, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) code prohibits any customer or guest from bringing outside alcoholic beverages into the hotel. Only alcoholic beverages purchased from the hotel can be consumed at the hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
3.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing