We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Historic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel exterior and grounds is beautiful and it is located right across the street from the Gulf. It also has a really nice pool area with swim up bar. It has a history and a little "museum" on the lower level is worth perusing. The room---at least the one we stayed in---was not large, but it was cozy with extra seating and a very comfortable bed and bathroom. Our room offered a nice view of the Gulf. We did not eat there but did grab a drink at the bar. The disappointing thing, to us, was the fact that the hotel does not offer ANYTHING free---nothing is complimentary---not even your morning cup of coffee, unless you make it in your room; and those muffins at the bar we thought were complimentary, will cost you $4.00---coffee $2.50. A pleasant place to stay but a little overpriced for the lack of amenities it offers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbrogers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. And, thank you for touring our Hall of History. By the way, the hotel offers courtesy bicycles for guests along with a shuttle to The Tremont House, which is located in the heart of The Strand Historic District, so no issue with parking. Thanks and please stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,137 - 2,143 of 4,000 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

The family and I had a business vacation in Texas and we spent the 1st weekend in Galveston. The Galvez is everything you expect in a seaside elegant high class hotel. We are treated like royalty! We had Sunday Brunch for Fathers day that was over the TOP!! There are lots of activities nearby, we walked to Pleasure Pier and took the shuttle buss to the Wyndham Hotel on the Strand. The hotels concierges will give you a tour of the hotels museum in the basement. This is rich in Galveston History. Bobby gave us our tour and he was wonderful!!

Room Tip: Gulf View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firefozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We are thrilled that you had an "awesome stay" at Hotel Galvez & Spa. And, we are glad to see that you took advantage of our courtesy shuttle and tour with our Guest Ambassador Bobby. Please know that the hotel offers a free history and ghost tour app for smartphones. Look for it in your app store and please stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Before I start I must say the bartender in the pool, Le nay, was wonderful as were all the ladies in the spa.
My husband booked a two night stay at The Galvez for our anniversary. I was so excited because the hotel is beautiful. He decided to stay at The Galvez because the room rate was less than $100 more than the Hilton. Boy were we disappointed. The room was extremely small!!!! I mean pathetically small. it had a bed and one chair. There was no were to put your bags except on a small fold out table (1ft X1ft) and the chair. It was not well maintained. You could see daylight around the door so it was also extremely noisy, we could hear the elevator even though we were a room away, and the AC was horrible. There was complementary "NOTHING". At least at the Hampton or Hilton Inns you get a huge beautiful room with two beds, a table and chairs, a place to put your bags, and complimentary full breakfast. I was also embarrassed that we had to walk thru a wedding party on our way to the pool in flip flops. I will be back for the spa; but, never for the hotel!!

Room Tip: I guess the more you spend the better room you get. We spent $700+ and got the small room facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Please know that you can always request a room change and our staff will do their best to accommodate. Historic hotels typically do have smaller guest rooms and we feel that our public areas, service, location and historic ambiance make a stay worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights on the 5th floor. It was very quiet & we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. They have an app that you can download & learn more about the history of the 100 year old hotel. Staff was very friendly & helpful. The pool was very nice too. When we come back, we'll stay again!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ilovebestdeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We love that you had an "enjoyable" stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. And, thank you for mentioning our app for smartphones. The free app offers a 25-minute history tour and 20-minute ghost tour. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night after finishing a cruise to extend our vacation one more day. We were pleasantly surprised that it lived up to expectations. Our three kids absolutely loved the pool! Swim up bar a nice touch for adults. The staff was wonderful. The view of the beach was awesome! Since it rained part of the day, it was even more of a bonus to have so much room and eating space inside. Well worth the extra money!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_myx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa following your cruise. We hope that you had a great trip and we are pleased that you and your kids enjoyed the pool and restaurant. Please stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
777 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
3.0 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £106 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing