We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosenberg Motel(Galveston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pearl Inn(Galveston)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Surfside Motel(Galveston)
View Hotel
Beachtree Motel(Galveston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,234)
Filter reviews
4,234 results
Traveller rating
2,217
1,109
500
245
163
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,217
1,109
500
245
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsghost tourrooms are smallbeautiful historic hotelswim up barcity viewacross the streetpool areaself parkingpleasure piercorner roomvalet servicehotel restaurantking bedgulf of mexicosea wallbrunchmelissa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,370 - 2,375 of 4,234 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel exterior and grounds is beautiful and it is located right across the street from the Gulf. It also has a really nice pool area with swim up bar. It has a history and a little "museum" on the lower level is worth perusing. The room---at least the one we stayed in---was not large, but it was cozy with extra seating and a very comfortable bed and bathroom. Our room offered a nice view of the Gulf. We did not eat there but did grab a drink at the bar. The disappointing thing, to us, was the fact that the hotel does not offer ANYTHING free---nothing is complimentary---not even your morning cup of coffee, unless you make it in your room; and those muffins at the bar we thought were complimentary, will cost you $4.00---coffee $2.50. A pleasant place to stay but a little overpriced for the lack of amenities it offers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbrogers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. And, thank you for touring our Hall of History. By the way, the hotel offers courtesy bicycles for guests along with a shuttle to The Tremont House, which is located in the heart of The Strand Historic District, so no issue with parking. Thanks and please stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The family and I had a business vacation in Texas and we spent the 1st weekend in Galveston. The Galvez is everything you expect in a seaside elegant high class hotel. We are treated like royalty! We had Sunday Brunch for Fathers day that was over the TOP!! There are lots of activities nearby, we walked to Pleasure Pier and took the shuttle buss to the Wyndham Hotel on the Strand. The hotels concierges will give you a tour of the hotels museum in the basement. This is rich in Galveston History. Bobby gave us our tour and he was wonderful!!

Room Tip: Gulf View!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Firefozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We are thrilled that you had an "awesome stay" at Hotel Galvez & Spa. And, we are glad to see that you took advantage of our courtesy shuttle and tour with our Guest Ambassador Bobby. Please know that the hotel offers a free history and ghost tour app for smartphones. Look for it in your app store and please stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Before I start I must say the bartender in the pool, Le nay, was wonderful as were all the ladies in the spa.
My husband booked a two night stay at The Galvez for our anniversary. I was so excited because the hotel is beautiful. He decided to stay at The Galvez because the room rate was less than $100 more than the Hilton. Boy were we disappointed. The room was extremely small!!!! I mean pathetically small. it had a bed and one chair. There was no were to put your bags except on a small fold out table (1ft X1ft) and the chair. It was not well maintained. You could see daylight around the door so it was also extremely noisy, we could hear the elevator even though we were a room away, and the AC was horrible. There was complementary "NOTHING". At least at the Hampton or Hilton Inns you get a huge beautiful room with two beds, a table and chairs, a place to put your bags, and complimentary full breakfast. I was also embarrassed that we had to walk thru a wedding party on our way to the pool in flip flops. I will be back for the spa; but, never for the hotel!!

Room Tip: I guess the more you spend the better room you get. We spent $700+ and got the small room facing the Island not the Gulf. Don't get a room any where near the elevator or you will be hearing it and loud guests all night.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Please know that you can always request a room change and our staff will do their best to accommodate. Historic hotels typically do have smaller guest rooms and we feel that our public areas, service, location and historic ambiance make a stay worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights on the 5th floor. It was very quiet & we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. They have an app that you can download & learn more about the history of the 100 year old hotel. Staff was very friendly & helpful. The pool was very nice too. When we come back, we'll stay again!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ilovebestdeals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We love that you had an "enjoyable" stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. And, thank you for mentioning our app for smartphones. The free app offers a 25-minute history tour and 20-minute ghost tour. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews