We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our first time staying here and it was a great choice for a little get away from Houston! From the minute you drive up, you know that you are going to be taken care of. This hotel has a nice bar and lobby area. It still has that old time feel to it, which I love!
We had an ocean view room which was nice. The only complaint about the room is that it is small. It could have just been the area that it was in, but compared to other hotels, this is the smallest room that I have ever stayed in. And the same goes with the restroom. The beds were nice and comfortable and slept great!
Very friendly staff. Ana, our waitress in the bar area was very nice and always checked on us. Paige in the pool area was also very nice and had an outgoing personlaity. She also waited on us on Sunday for the buffet.
The pool area is very nice! We had a nice, roomy cabana. I really liked this pool area better than the competor down the street. Here it was a place to enjoy your time and spend with family and friends, while the other known resort pool area seems to be a bit rowdy and loud.
The Sunday Brunch is a must! This is the best brunch buffet i have ever been to! They have the biggest and best selections for even the pickiest eaters. There is something for everyone!
We really enjoyed our visit here and will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We are so pleased that you had a nice weekend getaway at Hotel Galvez & Spa. It appears that you took advantage of every amenity and experienced our bar, restaurant, pool and brunch. Next time, we hope that you add our spa and courtesy bikes to your itinerary. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,791
    942
    446
    198
    129
See reviews for
1,114
1,432
97
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Located on seawall in Galveston walk across street to beach, pleasure pier a block away, near good restaurants and beach activities. Favorite part of hotel was swimming pool, resort like , music playing, swim up bar, lots of seating and cabanas. Great service from all staff, 4 girls in this hotel was a tight fit, rooms small probably because of hotel age (103y/o) but we had a fabulous time regardless. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank paigewolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We are pleased that you had a great girlfriend getaway at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We hope that you will stay with us again very soon. If you didn't have the chance, we encourage you to experience our popular spa on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

An unforgettable spot filled with ambiance and romance! This gem is simply one of those places you can't just find someplace else. It is historical, opulent, and has top notch in service. Unless they removed all original walls, they couldn't add size etc to rooms, but they are ample and quality. So rooms are not a five.

Location is interesting. This isn't a review of Galveston, but the hotel is billed as a beachfront package so I'll speak to that. Don't look for white sand and clear water. Water is usually clean, but has a grainy soot-like (forgot name for it) feel off and on and usually there is a brown appearance to water. This happens because of sand kicking up and mixing, I think from Mississippi River flow or some crud like that. Depending on season and conditions, the water can feel chunky and not be very fun to dip toes into. So if you have a choice of when to go, ask hotel when water is expected to me more calm and clear.

Back to hotel itself, you need a car if you're staying here. Even though island is small, there are some areas to avoid that are near the hotel. You want to know where they are.

If you are going to Galveston anyway and can afford something special, I highly recommend it. Must see downtown and the Great Storm museum/presentations. Incredible American history!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the kind review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We wanted to make sure that you are aware that the hotel offers a courtesy shuttle for guests to transport them downtown. Ask the front desk for details on your next visit. We also encourage you to try our courtesy bikes. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Have stayed at the Galvez several times over the years. Most recently over New Years. The rooms are small, but very nice. And you really need to be hanging out in the lobby anyway. Just a gorgeous piece of Texas history to stay in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ODennehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We appreciate your kind review on your stay at Hotel Galvez & Spa. We love that you enjoy the historic ambiance of the hotel. Please note that we have a free audio tour app for smartphones. You can download a 25-minute history and 20-minute ghost tour for the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dauin, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel, located on the beach side it on of the oldest monument of the area... i can see!
Room is ok, bathtub is not big enough to fit in though and shower temperature is hard to regulate... either burning hot, either ice cold...
The music in the lobby is ok, but after few days, it is annoying and too loud.
The laundry bag is not picked up in the rooms, you have to bring it to the desk counter in the lobby.
Personnel is either obsequious, either a bit rude.
Depending on your room it can be a bit noisy, due to the old AC system.
There is nothing around... you have to take you car to go anywhere nice...

In general, i would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francois T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGalveston, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Please know that we offer a courtesy shuttle to The Strand District and Pier 21. Also, we are just four blocks from the Pleasure Pier and several restaurants. We hope that you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
3.1 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 2024 Seawall Blvd., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Galveston
#3 Spa Hotel in Galveston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#6 Business Hotel in Galveston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Galvez & Spa, A Wyndham Grand® Hotel and National Trust Historic Hotel of America, is the only historic beachfront hotel on the Texas Gulf Coast. This 224-room, century-old hotel offers 13,000 square feet of meeting space, a 9,763-square-foot spa, fitness center, full-service restaurant, lobby bar and pool with a swim-up bar. The hotel is rated four diamonds by AAA and is owned by Galveston preservationist George Mitchell as part of Mitchell Historic Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Galvez And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Hotel Galvez Wyndham Historic
Wyndham Galveston
Galveston Wyndham
Galvez Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing